Boks on Tour

Boks delay naming team

2009-11-23 16:54
Email | Print
Schalk Burger (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Springboks have delayed until Thursday the naming of the squad of 22 that will face Ireland at Croke Park in Dublin on Saturday.

The delay is necessitated by a long list of injuries that will keep the Springbok medical team very busy during the early part of this week.

Team Doctor, Craig Roberts, told a news conference in the Irish capital on Monday that eight players were being treated for a variety of injuries and that a clearer picture on their availability would only be possible later in the week.

Those on the injury list are fullback Zane Kirchner (knee), centre Adi Jacobs (ankle), scrumhalf Fourie du Preez (hand), lock Bakkies Botha (back), hooker Bismarck du Plessis (ribs), flank Schalk Burger (ribs), hooker Adriaan Strauss (back) and prop CJ van der Linde (hamstring).

Roberts said that at this stage he was reluctant to speculate on which of the injured players were most likely to sit out, adding that the medical team would be working around the clock to ensure as many of the players as possible were available for selection.

Meanwhile, the injuries forced the cancellation of the team's field session on Monday with coach Peter de Villiers indicating that the preparations would go on indoors with video sessions and a gym session in the afternoon.

The match against the Six Nations champions is the Boks' final Test of what has been a successful year with success achieved in the Castle South Africa 2009 Lions Series and the Vodacom Tri-Nations.

De Villiers told the media conference that he was preparing the team as he would for any other Test this year.

"The Irish have a great team and they have shown in the Six Nations this year how good they are. They have also had a good run of results recently. This Test is no different to any we have played so far this year and we are preparing for it in that way,” he said.

Your Comments

@irisher from South Afrikiner11/25/2009 4:37 PM
How about you start crying, becuase thats all your going too do coming Saturday!! Go Bokke. Have not forget 2004, with that O'Gara try scored behind the boks back! Irish like too score like thiefs. Why don't you go and look for some PATATOOOS.
irisher11/24/2009 11:54 PM
@Jaaco: "Ok guys so were playing the Irish the best of Britain at this stage" Ireland aren't part of Britain, mein freund. Know your history and geography. The island of Ireland is next to the island of Great Britain. Irish rugby uses players from Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. They play under the Irish flag, they use the Irish national anthem and an all-island anthem to celebrate both parts of the country. It's not part of the UK either as some people seem to think - Northern Ireland is only - but for the purposes of rugby, they are all players from Ireland. Ireland won the 6 Nations this year - they're the best of Northern Hemisphere at the moment. We respect South Africa - hopefully you have the same respect for us.
Fran Long11/24/2009 11:13 PM
I am a big rugby fan can't wait for the match on saturday Ireland V South Africa. Come on Ireland. Does any body know what hotel the South African Rugby Team are staying i would love to get their autographs.
Jaaco11/24/2009 8:08 PM
Ok guys so were playing the Irish the best of Britain at this stage so here is who id pick. 1.Beast 2.Bismark 3.Smit 4.Bakkies 5.Victor 6.Brussouw 7.Burger 8.Alberts(Lions) 9.Du Preez 10.Steyn(Morne) 11.Habana 12.De Villiers 13.Fourie 14.Pieterson 15.Steyn Lets face it we need Jean and Frans! And Spies is injured give Willem Alberts a go Kankowski is K*K
StuartW11/24/2009 12:22 PM
@Megabull....not a bad team that....would go with you on that one...will maybe just leave Nonkwe out, and maybe leave Petersen there....
Chuck11/24/2009 11:59 AM
John Smit and Adi Jacobs are the Boks weakest links... ..Goodbye Boks... ...Hallo Brian O'Driscol...!!!!
Jacques11/24/2009 11:29 AM
Go Bokke!
Megabull11/24/2009 11:28 AM
1. Du Preez 2. Smith 3. BJ. 4. Danie 5. Vic 6. Heinrich 7. Deysel 8. Potgieter 9. Hougaard 10. Morne 11. Brain, 12 Wynand 13. Jacques 14. Nokwe 15. Pienaar Bench 16. Beast 17. Kanow 18. Bekker 19. Adams 20. Bosman 21. Odwa 22. Peterson A team with players on hand, what do you guys think?
Bokfan4eva11/24/2009 10:22 AM
For sures..Jdv and FSteyn need to make a miraculous appearance..;-) that would be awesome. ADI...has got to go...too small, too slow and despite being too small his muscle to fat ration isnt great(Small and podgy) I think Pdv is playing mind games and the Boks are going to come out with all guns blazing!! The only bad thing about Saturdays game is that I will be sitting in a hot tent in Cape town...for a wedding! GO BOKKE!!!!
Best Team11/24/2009 9:52 AM
These injuries may well have come at the right time. Adi can sit this one out- i agree with all those who have said this already. I would like to see Wynand O get a full run next in this game. While I recognise Bismarck's talent this game is not about individual brilliance its a TEAM effort and by far the best front row is Beast, Smit, BJ. We will miss Baakies big time- the Victor/Bekker combo does not blend well in a physical match up like we are expecting from the Irish come Saturday. We have enough talent in the squad to win this game.....FOCUS Boys!!
GeeMac11/24/2009 7:51 AM
All the anger at 3 test match losses just shows what a good space SA rugby is in at the moment. We all expect the Boks to win every test by 30 points. Unfortunately that will never happen. This is test match rugby, not the Currie Cup 1st Division. Why is everyone so mad that we lost the dirt-tracker games? Those games were chances to evaluate young talent, to see if they were good enough to be Boks after 2011. Now we all know who can perform in the Green and Gold and who can't, job done I’d say. The loss against France was a shock and was very disappointing, but the French were amazing that night. We all know what a dangerous side they can be! Stop being so judgmental and hard on the Boks, they have had a stellar year. Throw the Bulls Super 14 win into the mix and it is a sporting fairytale. I for one am still 100% behind PdV and the Boks!
???11/24/2009 7:00 AM
I cannot believe you guys. South African rugby supporters are fickle at best and don't forget highly forgetful. It is amazing how everyone is calling for the return of Jean De Villiers and Frans Steyn, when not too long ago, people were calling them KAK to! Look, I don't dispute how KAK some of the guys are and how much I would love for JDV & Frans to be in the squad ... but let's working on the memory guys. Be more patient and less forgetful.
Come on Div be BRAVEHEART!11/23/2009 10:51 PM
I would like to them resting Fourie du Preez and start with Ruan at 9. Du Preez surely deserves break. The only problem is that Tortoise Morne Steyn will most properly not make it at 10 without Fourie du Preez at 9. Boys, mark my words, Morne Steyn is k@k and will cost us big-time in future. He is a good kicker but you need a brilliant brain at 10 who can kick, tackle and distribute. A general that can make split second decisions under pressure. Morne had a good run but he is not the answer at 10. Carter, Gits and Wilko is in a different league. Kirchner is a copycat of Johan Roets. When he catches the ball you know exactly (99% of the time) what he will do. WE NEED FRANS STEYN AND JEAN URGENTLY SNORRE! Kanko is useless. The loosies should be Brussow (6), Potgieter or Deysel at 7 and Schalk (8). Donkie Rossouw should go on holiday. Put the idiot on the bench at the most although I wouldn’t even do that. John at 2 with BJ and Beast. JP Pietersen is super shit at the moment but he knows very well they “cannot” drop him. Funny that the ANC didn’t complained about the few black players in the team including “illegal Beast”. What is going on with regards to Beast?
@colin11/23/2009 9:55 PM
we have lost three test matches two dirt tracker games that the internationl press see a 5 losses against the World Champions.And Italy does not count we have better players playig overseas fact rugby and cricket. I Was at the tigers game national anthem and all and the stick we had to take. the ALL Blacks NEVER play weakened teams
@Collin11/23/2009 8:50 PM
SA has lost THREE tests (so far): Lions, Australia and France, dropping them to 2nd (again) on the IRB world rankings.
Collin11/23/2009 8:19 PM
What's wrong with you guys? We lost two tests in the year - making this the best year in international rugby since Mallet's run twelve years ago. Let me repeat that - TWELVE YEARS. Now the selectors are idiots? Braai pap et al: it's not that you disagree with the coaches - that's to be expected. But what's with the anger? The viciousness? Ah, well, to be anonymous on the internet - I guess it's to be expected that you show the worst in your nature, and not your best.
b11/23/2009 7:00 PM
armchair selector ... spot on, can't you send your cv to sa rugby??? I think we may struggle on saturday, part of the problem is that the no 12 (jdv best inside in the world at the moment) and 15 have changed since the tri-nations etc and this has really weakened our team. jacobs and kirchner just are no where near good enough - look at the difference the late change in 12 made against italy. people have the same expextations but the backline are not as good with those departures ... and our captain has to play number 2 with bj next to him!!!
Capey11/23/2009 6:47 PM
Delay naming the team to sell out the tickets, and then put in a K*K side im sick of it. Im not buying any tickets next year until the sides been announced. Bring back F Styen and J De Villiers FOR F**K SAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
GlobetrotterSA11/23/2009 6:12 PM
The Boks seem tired. If Fourie Du Preez is not fit for the weekend, it would be a huge blow. I agree, bring in JdV and Frans Steyn although that's unlikely to happen. We HAVE to beat the Irish!
Braaipap11/23/2009 6:10 PM
@ Armchair Selector- that's exactly how I had it before I read your comment. The problem here is that we are dealing with the dumbest selectors I have ever encountered in the history of this game ! Roll on , Thursday !
Bok fan11/23/2009 5:59 PM
We all wud l0ve Frans Steyn in da squad, bt he is unavailable for selecti0n. G0 BOKKE
tom11/23/2009 5:32 PM
Long and hard year .. Few more games,, Bokke we 100% behind you..
Armchair Selector11/23/2009 5:26 PM
Adi needs to stay on that injured list and out of the game on Saturday. Perfect excuse to bring in JdV or a beefier centre who can run and tackle hard. Maybe Zane should stay out too. Good excuse to bring in Frans Steyn, who should be in the side anyway because he can land long-range penalties from inside the Boks' own half. How many players in international rugby can do that, yet we leave him out the squad! Fourie could be replaced at scrum-half by Pienaar if necessary but would of course be sorely missed. Either should outplay Irish scrummie Reddan. Schalk can sit this one out too as the Irish crowd will be frothing at the mouth whingeing about him, and we have Brussow Licensed to Steal. Only guy we really need from that list is Bakkies, he and Victor are an awesome partnership. Bakkies, get well soon Meneer.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Super 14 - Waratahs v Lions

Super 14 - Chiefs v Crusaders

Peter Crouch's Robot Dance

Featured Blog

After many highly successful years as the Tri-Nations, Argentina will throw their name into the hat in 2012 and square off against South Africa, New Zealand and Australia and take on the world's 3 superpowers. Or will they? Asks Hilton H

Latest blogs

What went wong? 3/12/2010 4:01:19 PM

One game at a time guys!!! 3/12/2010 3:51:57 PM

Dis die naweek baba...Corner Flags Friday Post of the Day 3/12/2010 3:29:32 PM

Vote

The main reason for the Boks' woeful end of year tour was:

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide