Boks on Tour

Boks end losing streak

2009-11-21 17:46
Email | Print
Try scorer Fourie du Preez (AFP)

Udine - World champions South Africa ended their three-match losing run with a 32-10 victory against error-strewn Italy on Saturday.

The Springboks came into the match on the back of an unusual losing run but quickly found their form to deal Italy their 13th straight defeat.

The first half was a mini disaster for the Italians, although they did well to turn around at the break only 12-7 behind.

When playing the world champions as heavy underdogs the last thing you want to do is pay for some early indiscipline but on his first start for his country, flanker Simone Favaro charged upfield and hit Fourie du Preez with a stupid late tackle that earned him a yellow card and resulted in a simple 30-yard penalty in front of the posts.

Morne Steyn hit the post with his kick but Italy's reprieve was short as on 5 minutes Ryan Kankowski handed off with embarrassing ease a pathetic attempted tackle from Craig Gower and then cut inside Fabio Ongaro before shifting the ball inside to Bryan Habana, who wasn't going to be stopped from 15 yards out.

Steyn missed the conversion but just after Favaro was allowed back on, Habana beat Matteo Pratichetti on the outside and slipped the ball inside for Jacques Fourie to score under the posts.

Steyn finally landed a kick and with 14 minutes gone the hosts were already 12-0 down.

Italy did start to improve, though, and should have have scored as Alessandro Zanni broke to within a yard of the line but his support was slow in reaching him and the Springboks half cleared.

However, they gave away a penalty and Gower, who was having a nightmare, missed before later undoing some good Italian work through the phases by sending a drop kick wide.

But the former Australian rugby league international finally came good on 31 minutes as he gave a subtle pass inside to Gonzalo Garcia with Alberto Sgarbi acting as a foil, completely flummoxing the Springbok backline and allowing Garcia to run through and score a try that Gower conveted.

There was still time, though, for both Luke McLean for Italy and Steyn to miss penalties before the break.

Six minutes into the second period Steyn landed a penalty before McLean missed his second of the afternoon after Italy's scrum caused the kind of problems that had the All Blacks struggling a week ago.

But on 53 minutes the Springboks scored after more calamitous Italian defending as Danie Rossouw broke a tackle on the left flank and slipped the ball inside to Habana, who cut inside McLean and popped the ball to Du Preez who held off Zanni and Mirco Bergamasco to score.

Gower, though, soon pulled back three points from a penalty after his own midfield break but Steyn replied on 64 minutes to make it 10-25.

But as Italian legs started to tire, gaps appeared and Du Preez scythed through one following a line-out and fed substitute Wyand Olivier to score by the posts with Ruan Pienaar converting.

Your Comments

TRICOLO11/23/2009 2:12 PM
What makes my day on these posts is that there is as many analysts as fans. I am working on the combinations and permutations to end up with the unbeatable bok team. (plus reserves)
Jay11/23/2009 1:51 PM
The scrum was more powerful when John was moved back to hooker and Deysel came on. The backline sharpened up when Jacobs was off. That is when we put on all the points!!
Dave11/23/2009 1:22 PM
When the best team in the world playes against Italy I am expecting a 60 - 3 type of score. Last week The All Black send a weak team and still wins. No get back and wait for Ireland. Ireland is currently 5th on the IRB with SA 2nd. Who wins who. Who is the leading IRB team now. ALLLL Bllaaaccckkks. They are nr 1, WC 2007 is over,
No2Racism11/23/2009 12:53 PM
Its sickening that each time I read comments on this platform its all about race etc I mean until when shall we all realise that we are all humans who should just embrace the gift of life and be grateful that south africa is 1 of the best country's to be in right now. So many have spoken about leaving for europe the truth is they will never or they will come back as there is no place like south africa out there. No race is better than the other so for those who might think being white is special Im sorry to say wake up & smell the coffee being black, coloured is just as good. Instead of bringing up race issues lets be positive and focus on more critical issues facing this country.
pasta11/23/2009 10:44 AM
All it proved was that we can still beat a team that we used to beat by 100 points. My money is on Ireland by at least 10 points (and we won't score a single try against the Irish).
mippie11/22/2009 1:39 PM
dear mr pop idol- you must have a big babelaas this morning . reading all this absolute trash you wrote & your insensitive "cancer" remarks was obviously the result of emptying a few papsakke in Lavender hill. PS. am a little surprised that the webmaster allowed pop idols posts.
Ian11/22/2009 10:36 AM
BREAKING NEWS Boks lose to Ireland, the ref is to blame. Only a joke but it is amazing that when the Boks win (against Italy) the ref is great LOL Not so long ago a Bok win against Italy was not in question the only question was by how many points
Balmy11/22/2009 10:26 AM
@Adrian. Thank you. Finally someone who sees the bigger picture and very succinctly put too.
William Shakespeare11/22/2009 10:11 AM
@ why do we have wings 11/22/2009 8:40 AM: Er, with the greatest of due respect to your comment, surely it's for England & Co. to copy us, and not vice versa? We are the World Champs and Super 14 Champs, right? Winning is not counts, not "how you play". The scoreboard does not have a "remarks" column. @Adrian 11/22/2009 7:25 AM: Great observations; and yes, where is the site moderator? We are all chefs in a kitchen and then have to contend with idiots who come in - naughty kids - who try to knock the pots off the stove.
why do we have wings11/22/2009 8:40 AM
Much better game, but still think we kick way to much. JP got the ball twice and thought that he looked okay when he did. Watched NZ vs ENG and they run far more than we do.
QUESTION11/22/2009 8:39 AM
Noticed all the SNORRE in the pavilion? Div has a big fan club ! What does BJ stand for? Hope it is not what I think !!
chris11/22/2009 7:57 AM
@ pop idol you have cancer go and see your dr, rasism cancer
Adrian11/22/2009 7:25 AM
It's really interesting to note that there are no complaints about the ref ! Why ? We won.......had we lost, however,...... How are coaches supposed to unearth new talent, and their ability to play in the 'big league', without giving them game time in the 'big league ?' We all forget, or are unaware, that the 'step ups' from club to province lower leagues, lower league provincial to Currie Cup, Currie Cup to Super 14, Super 14 to International are all massive. Each step up requires a huge adjustment for the player, not only physically but mentally as well. The fact is that a player that excels at Currie cup level may NEVER be a good Super 14 player because he has reached the top of his performance level already. He may be a Currie Cup star, but he is not necessarily going to be able to take the next leap up. The players that shine at Currie Cup and Super 14 do - most of the time, anyway - get a chance to don the green and gold. Some emerge as superstars ( Heinrich Brussow for instance ), but MOST will prove that they are not capable of the giant leap upwards. To find those that ARE capable requires them to be exposed to the cauldron of International Rugby. That means GAME TIME - simple as that. How else will anyone ever know if that player has the capability to play International Rugby ? Admittedly selections are often mind-boggling, but Adriaan Strauss and co. learned many lessons in the game against Italy - lessons that will make them better players in the future. Are they ready for International Rugby ? Not yet - but they will be, I have no doubt about that. As for Pop Idol - surely there is a moderator on this site that can keep slime like him off the web pages that we read so avidly ?
Chopper 111/22/2009 7:24 AM
I just hope Div plays Beast, Smit and Botha as the front row against Ireland.
William Shakespeare11/22/2009 6:52 AM
@ ANDRE 11/21/2009 9:14 PM: Yes, I kinda agree with you. Although it's heartbreaking to watch the "Boks" lose, how else can the Coach test the provincials stars than to play them internationally? By the end of the tour he will have a good clue as to who's who in the zoo, and the midweek results don't amount to a row of beans. All that counts, at the end of the day, is silverware, none of which is at stake on this particular tour. The loss to France does rankle, though.
TP11/22/2009 6:40 AM
Some good comments and all realising the mistakes can be rectified before Ireland. As for pop idiot, ignore him as he is trying to wind people up, becuase he lacks the knowledge of a rugby critic and supporter
Hein - Centurion11/22/2009 6:16 AM
Well done Bokke and the coaching staff - you nade us proud again. @ Bokkejol - What about EARL ROSE as substitute flyhalf? I am serious- given time he can develop into a good 7 solid solution at 10. Pop Idol - You are a blatant racist - go and play with Julius. @ Mike - You are an idiotic racist moron. Take off your racist spectacles and you will enjoy the rugby more. (and that goes to all your other racist as well.) @Paddies@Caymanbul = We are looking forward to the contest.
TRICOLOR11/22/2009 5:53 AM
By a long shot the outcome cannot have been otherwise. Totally predictable
Lewis11/22/2009 5:44 AM
You must know how bad the boks are when winning against Italy is such an absolute celebration. Its Italy FFS, we should have walked over them in the first half.
Rick11/22/2009 1:59 AM
At Paddies: as if your angelic Lions team didn't make head-high tackles on a regular basis during that tour? They just got away with it, that's all. Do not use the forums as a place to discuss thuggery in rugby--there's as much of that going on the northern hemisphere, so don't act all holy about it. I respect Ireland and have always cheered for them as a great team, but they have yet to make World Cup semi-finals, and yet to beat the All Blacks (in fact, don't they regularly go down to NZ by big margins?). At least SA have done these things.There's a general hatred of the Springboks in the northern hemisphere, I see, which is unfortunate--as if they didn't earn all their achievements. Apart from England, the Northern Hemisphere needs to winning World Cups...
Doubting Thomas11/21/2009 10:33 PM
Does anyone out there seriously think the Boks can beat the Irish in Dublin, with that shaky scrum and Adi Jacobs facing O'Driscoll?
Francois11/21/2009 10:28 PM
I live in elsewhere and desperately tried to hook up on the game since satellite TV here only aired all the matches except the bokke. I was amazed to find that no local radio station in SA bothered to broadcast the match. RSG broadcast some local soccer match. Would be interesting to know what the listenership figures were like. In blind faith I tried all the other stations..I had to make peace with the fact that the day Spiekeries was buried, rugby broadcasting on national radio would no more be priority... Sad to say, I had to follow the Match stats on Supersportzone. Suppose it was better than not being able to follow at all!!!
isak11/21/2009 10:16 PM
dis pdv om die jong manne n kans te gee.almal praat van wie op die veld moes gewees het maar dan jaag hulle k@k aan, wat gaan aan in die land
alice11/21/2009 10:14 PM
i agree with anton.. totally.......and i agree with fan..however, the racist comments will only stop when the selectors chose players on their merit and not on their colour..sadly........this is the truth. for eg.. what is adi jacobs doing in the team??? he is absolutely not even worthy of provincial placement, let alone a springbok squad.. so that is where the race comments come in... chosen for his colour not his skill........so.it will only stop when we get players based on performance and not on colour. and btw....we played an average game today and only won due to some brilliance on du preez's ingenuity and the fact that italy is not the best team...........dont rest on the results of this game
Molefe11/21/2009 10:09 PM
Yeah, we won. But like my neighbour sai, "dit was ook maar soos f@##$% tande trek". We can ALL see what happens when you play with a REAL tighthead Prop! We also saw that Ruaan Pienaar is NOT our test no. 10. And that Adi Jacobs is really not an international class player. Morne is the Best flyhalf in the country, and JP Pietersen is only a world class wing in the very narrow view of certain Sharks supporters. At least our coach seems to listen to reason. Even if he has to be dragged into playing the right players kicking and screaming as it where. Oh, and @ Pop Idol, people like you give people of colour a bad name. Think before you speak man!
@popidol11/21/2009 10:03 PM
Listen you little zub, get over yourself and your complex you piece of s@#t!! Careful your wishes dont come back to haunt you...shame on you you brainless twerp...I certainly hope you never have a family member or friend who may suffer from cancer. Please stick to voting on idols...and you know what you can do with your microphone!!? Its people like you, exactly like you, who keep us, South Africans, in the "grey"...I pray for little men like you to cross my path with a big beak.. Trust me - one day.that gob of yours will be smacked closed - tight!!
sc1pio11/21/2009 9:56 PM
There's a few things we learned from the tour so far. let me make it clear to everyone and MR PDV. 1stly John Smith aint a prop. Secondly Kankowski is useless at International level. 3rdly, We dearly missed Pierre Spies (now undoubtedly the best nr 8 in the country). 4th point: We missed Jean and Francois. 5th point : Adi Jacobz is a quota and he sucks. 6th point: Danie Russow is awesome.. 7th point : Bj is our tighthead. 8th point: Wynand olivier is our inside centre.. 9th point Ruan Pienaar should be banned from springbok rugby. 10th point: The players are tired.
fan11/21/2009 9:43 PM
This game showed us that there are good apects still present but it was really not convincing. I agree that the scrum was better in the latter part of the game; have never thought the captain was good as prop but he adds value in the loose and has a good centre of gravity in going forward. BJ did a good job too. p.s. When will you guys start focusing on rugby and grow up! Leave all the racist comments back and forth. They are an embarrassment in these times.
Paddies@Caymanbul11/21/2009 9:33 PM
Hey Cayman full of bulldust. I'm a bona fide Paddy and we just crushed Fiji 41-6 in Dublin. A new star was born in Johnny Sexton. He's better than Carter and your Morne. O'Driscoll's brilliant intercept try turned the game decisively, and next week he is going to do that and more to little Adi Jacobs to make up for you screwing us out of the Lions series with your eye-gouging and thuggery. Your arrogant and dirty Boks show no respect for N Hemisphere teams with your "anyone can play in Europe attitude", but you are in for a big shock next week. You are a second-rate team and after you've lost to the Six Nations champs we'll all know who the real IRB Team of the Year is. Prepare to be crushed into the pitch.
Bernard11/21/2009 9:31 PM
Always about race! Why can't we just say the no. 12 or whatever nr. played bad. The Boks won and that is all that counts.
anton11/21/2009 9:20 PM
the testing ground is over.......experiments and faith in sub average players is over.........get rid of adi jacobs!!!!!!!!oh my word.......finally we have a scrum.....finally we get olivier in - and finally john smit is moved to his original position.............what coaching!!!!!!! fourie du preez carries the entire team with his brilliance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! get rid of our selectors and our coaches
ANDRE11/21/2009 9:14 PM
Jip. we are back! Come on, why critisize Pieter Snorre? He will become a legend! We must not fall in the doldrums as Aus and NZ by playing their stallwarts until they fall down. It is excellent work by Div to test the young guns. Remember, this is a year end tour!(a holiday).The 2011 RWC lies ahead. Get your tried and tested troops ready as well as young merit replacements for the future ready. Stop critising Ruan Pienaar. Morne also had a if if game taking into account his missed goal attempts. Yes, JHohn Smit is a hooker, but when Beast came on the difference was amazing ! Come on rugga supporters, give Div a chance to experiment with future players! And as for Pop Idol, You stick to singing broe, I will not further comment on your crap!
@ Pop Idol11/21/2009 9:00 PM
are feeling inferior because you are not white??? get over your race!!!
@Pop Idol11/21/2009 8:49 PM
A writer of decent prose you aint; a rugyby authority you aint; a Pop Idol you surely aint. So what is you? Can you figure it out T***?
From Planet Rugby11/21/2009 8:34 PM
"With Jacobs struggling so much with his defensive game, and Ireland's Brian O'Driscoll licking his lips about his rematch with the Bok team that beat the British and Irish Lions in mid-year, the smart money should be on Olivier wearing the number twelve jersey at Croke Park."
CAPEY11/21/2009 8:32 PM
I dont know why the Beast must be an SA Citizen in the good old days our friends the Rhodesians played for the Boks
Nic11/21/2009 8:27 PM
Jeez guys..every single time whenever there is news on mweb wich is every day there are sum stupid whites, blacks and whaterver else you can find who takes the chance to diss the other race. Don't understand why? By the way John Smith chose to train to become the prop. It is not the coach who tried to be funny. And Div is not the best coach Sa's ever seen...And if any of you oakes can play better rugby, why are you sitting on your asses watching and not playing?
Dries van Heerden11/21/2009 8:21 PM
Luckely at LAST !!!!!!!!!!!!!...........Pop Idol......youre a mufffffff !!!!!!!!!
James Small fan11/21/2009 8:19 PM
Well don to PdV and most of the Boks 1st XV for a solid win. Can our scrum please get a bit stronger for next week. I know Victor will be back but there's some oomph missing in there. Ag and Adi man, jissis it's shocking. You need some Cat to grow some stealth and claws.
wimbo11/21/2009 7:46 PM
Much better in the scrums after BJ Botha came on, with Smit at hooker. BUT, Gary Gold must do some scrum coaching!!!! And my, how times have changed. Once upon a time quota players were given an opportunity to prove themselves and become merit players, and many did so admirably. Now we see some merit players becoming quota players ... Ricky Januarie was one [thankfully axed from the tour], and I am afraid AD Jacobs is now another. He is out of his depth.
Nakkie11/21/2009 7:45 PM
pop idol..please..you coloured black wateva racist pig.. please stay at home and tell that crap to ur wife. we don't need people like you on news24..
@pop idol11/21/2009 7:42 PM
your a typical point 5 aren't you ?Lay off the tik you idiot.
TP11/21/2009 7:34 PM
Main eye opeber at last...Select proper tightheads and then we will be able to scrum as well,,.and all 8 must scrum. I sidder what we can do if we scrum well and Spies get the ball going forward, especially from an attacking scrum. Please, please get Os to help Gold with our scrumming next year: "live" oppenent scrumming practice is what we need..ask Os why Cheetahs are doing well. As for inside centre, the picture is clear. Good to see who can make it in future and who not, but we only realise the value of good and athletic hardmen as Spies and Juan, when they are not there. Good luck Bokke and PDV
Gsmith11/21/2009 7:29 PM
Pop Idol - I can only assume, from your idiotic comments your are just a dumb "Fir". If PdV was such a marvellous coach as you seem to allude to, them why did we lose to Leicester, France and Saracens and only beat Italy by the smallest margin ever? Dumb idiot.
Jean11/21/2009 7:23 PM
We were so much more solid with J Smit at hooker.. Scrum prob abolished! And he still threw awesom in the lineouts. :)
Tony11/21/2009 7:21 PM
admitted the boys were pushed back again but this came to an abrupt halt when John moved to hooker & BJ came on with the Beast. There is a very strong point for not playing guys out of their position unless they are genuine utility players - lets now look for some back props that have talent.
@Mike11/21/2009 7:07 PM
Mike, I hope you get injured and can never talk again. T*@*. how can you wish that on someone!
Nice One @popIdol11/21/2009 7:07 PM
W****, with a name like that im not suprised by you comment -
Peter11/21/2009 7:05 PM
Coloured trainer? So? What the f*** is your point???? It is one South African training other South Africans .... Seems like you are just looking for s***!!!!!
HIER KOM DIE BOKKE11/21/2009 6:50 PM
BOKKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!! WELL DONE BOYS, CONGRATS TO THE COACH AND HIS PLAYERS
Whitey@Pop Idol11/21/2009 6:47 PM
Pop Idol, hugs and kisses bru. I am a blerrie nice whitey if I say so myself & I jus love PdV and all coloured peeps of SA. May he enjoy the greatest success. My tannie has cancer and I sure don't wish it on any coloured peeps either, or anyone. Eish my bru, let's spread love & end the racial hate that is the true cancer of SA. Well done to the Boks & especially the coloured and black ones who's there on merit, they are true heroes to whiteys too man. Sorry but don't think Adi should be there though. Well done to the whitey Boks too, who's there on merit. God knows some of those whiteys in there are suspect. Pienaar jeez, you're one for the midweek team and must rather stay there, or be a back-up for Fourie Dup.
Stephen11/21/2009 6:46 PM
"Pop Idol" - it's idiots like you who will ensure that racism can never be defeated. If Div is the most successful Bok coach ever, then that's fantastic, but personally I care a whole lot more about the team being successful than the coach (be he black or white). If the coach's blood is green, then who cares what colour his skin is.
CaymanBul11/21/2009 6:45 PM
@ Pop Idol: It is because people like you that there are people out there hating their fellow countrymen! And racist just isn't on skin color you fool! Go find another site to make your RACIST comments! Well done to the Bokke, we were unfortunate not to watch the game due to broadcasting rights and all, but our hearts were there! Jacobs is a problem due to injuries I believe and I think he thinks if he goes for the shoulder op, he will loose his position. Lets no focus on crushing those Paddy's next weekend!
Ian11/21/2009 6:45 PM
@popidol. Brilliant post! All cancer sufferers must love your comment. Does this site have a webmaster who is not fast asleep?
Gerhard11/21/2009 6:44 PM
Pop Idol, your comment is tasteless... Best follow your boys in football, because that is where racists like you belong....
CAPEY11/21/2009 6:41 PM
Jacobs f up again once he was off the team jelled.we will get stuffed next week if devlilliers and styen ARE NOT RECALLED. THIS TOUR HAS BEEN A WAKE UP CALL.
@pop idol11/21/2009 6:35 PM
You are such a racist d*** that just wants to get a response from people...well done..here's the first response...you are the epotime of a d*** (look it up since you probably don't know what that means)...actually, you are half a d*** because a d*** has some use at least...
BJ 4ever11/21/2009 6:31 PM
The Bok scrum reshuffle shows just how good a solid BJ can be.
nice one11/21/2009 6:31 PM
Well Done Bokke .... !!! One more left !!!
Mike11/21/2009 6:18 PM
That idiot Pietersen must be the biggest D..s to have ever worn the the Bok Shirt! I hope he can get injured and never play rugby again! And if the boks think they won anything today they are dreaming big time! Our scrums was hopeless again until the last 20 minutes and Adi was ONCE AGAIN a massive flop! We will get smashed next week, mark my words!
Michael11/21/2009 6:13 PM
Well done. It is about time. Lets carry on this winning from here on
Boerseun11/21/2009 6:10 PM
Wian scrummed his "powerful" opponent off the pitch. Well done son.
Pop Idol11/21/2009 6:07 PM
WHeres all the racist whites? They have been shut up for ever and ever..And it aches that a coloured coach will be the best there was,the best there is and the best there ever will be,,,,Hope u lot die from cancer
SHARKIE11/21/2009 6:04 PM
MOOI BOKKE...Keep Smit on hooker fly in Vickus Blauw...and Ireland will go down 65 - 0...
Bokkejol11/21/2009 5:59 PM
Well done Bokke! Much better scrum when Smit was moved back to hooker. Don't like all of this moving of players about by PdV but in this case the move back to Smit's original position was a good one. Bad move bringing on Pienaar in place of Morne, couldn't even find touch yet again. Move him back to his original position at scrum-half, warming the bench. Surely we have better second-string fly-halves/kickers than Pienaar, he has had more than his fair share of chances and keeps failing to impress? Congrats to PdV anyway for breaking the embarrassing losing streak. If the Boks beat Ireland now I will forgive the coaches for those two cringeworthy midweek losses.
chris11/21/2009 5:56 PM
beassssssssssssssssssssssssssst
Dgs11/21/2009 5:52 PM
Now please Dumb Div, admit you were wrong and move John Smit back to hooker and bring BJ Botha back into the fold as our tighthead.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Introducing Bokkie

Dale Steyn's jaw-dropping spell

Varsity Cup - Ikeys v Pukke

Featured Blog

Nary a ball had been kicked in anger in the Super 14, but years of woe haven't dampened Huge Dude's spirit. 'This is their year', he says, the year when the Lions will go forth and conquer, and crush all foes beneath them to a bloody pulp! Take note, fair-weather fans, we have a true supporter in our midst!

Vote

The main reason for the Boks' woeful end of year tour was:

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide