Boks on Tour

'SA Embassy chose singer'

2009-11-14 21:17
Email | Print
Happy with his singing (File)

Toulouse - French team manager Jo Maso said the choice of singer at each Test in France is made by the visiting team's diplomatic staff.

Video: Botched South African anthem

"Every time we welcome a foreign side, we ask the embassy to propose people for the national anthems," said Maso.

"It's the South African Embassy that put forward this man and we respected their choice."

Ras Dumisani, a Durban native who sported dreadlocks tucked into a huge red, green and white Rastafarian cap, sang Nkosi Sikelel' iAfrika ahead of the Boks defeat against France in Toulouse.

Dumisani was aghast when told that Springbok coach Peter de Villiers and several players were unhappy with his rendition, saying "everyone at the stadium told me I sang well, even after the match."

Your Comments

simone11/18/2009 11:51 AM
Stef, are you Dumisani's brother maybe?
Dewald11/17/2009 12:24 AM
hey stef... you do you have a tiny ego that you need to go around reading comments and checking spelling? stick to the topic at hand... k?
Swannie11/16/2009 5:05 PM
What I cannot for the life of me understand is why the plug wasn't pulled immediately after the first few words. Everyone could see the disaster on the way. Next time, PULL THE PLUG and blame the sound system. Rather nothing that a repeat of that embarrasing 3 minutes.
Bloomski11/16/2009 2:03 PM
Ras Dumisani was a bad joke and somewhat of a disgrace.. just like our boys on the night.
It was funny11/16/2009 12:41 PM
My word.... shocking the way South Africans behave lol get over it... In what way did this mans singing have any impact on you life???? mmm Drama queens!!!
Herold11/16/2009 11:35 AM
Perhaps it is time to return to an instrumental version of the anthem to prevent a reoccurrence of this debacle. Most of the players are not very good vocalists and if a band played and they all stood still (without singing)it would add dignity to the event.
Mthenjane11/16/2009 11:05 AM
cum on Mzansi, the problem with us is that we take ourselves too serious. it doesnt hurt to laugh at ourselves now and then, like Habbana, i was suprised but also amused. give the guy a break. could it be that this issue is so thorny coz this was a rugby game and Ras D is black? one advise to jah man is learn the lyrics saih.
Joe11/16/2009 10:56 AM
Hey Kiwibok----don't dump this guy on Zimbabwe---show some respect.
Morne11/16/2009 10:45 AM
I don’t know what the fuss is about. Are we not as South Africans by now used to a TOTAL F$%#^ UP whenever politicians and administrators get involved in decision making.
Thandile11/16/2009 10:41 AM
Did he invite himself to go and sing there ????? Don't blame the "result" - rather investigate the "cause" and leave this poor guy alone, or are we "creating" another Caster Semenya ???? Rather nail the racist Embassy Staff.
GE11/16/2009 8:45 AM
Why am I not surprised. Typical South Africa. Why cant Clare Johnson or PJ Powers sing the anthem. Oh I know......because they white hey?
chill in SA11/16/2009 8:19 AM
The French were awesome: they just took us totally by surprise with their intensity and took the wind right out of our sails. All credit to them, they were a team possessed on the night. Pity it had to happen on the back of the absolutely horrrible ear-shattering, embarrassing rendition of our national anthem....
chill in SA11/16/2009 8:14 AM
The French were awesome: they just took us totally by surprise with their intensity and took the wind right out of our sails. All credit to them, they were a team possessed on the night. Pity it had to happen on the back of the absolutely horrrible ear-shattering, embarrassing rendition of our national anthem....
Heather11/16/2009 6:48 AM
I can handle the fact that he sang so badly, but i cannot handle the fact that he botched the words badly. That was no one's fault but his own.
Disappointed11/16/2009 2:15 AM
@ Vive Le Blest je n'ai pas commenté à tous, mais je tiens cependant à présenter des excuses au peuple français et à vous au nom de tous ceux qui ont été prompts à l'insulte et ce que vous avez eu à endurer. Je suis sûr que que tout le monde est devenu très chaud et avait à blâmer quelqu'un et pensant que c'était vos organisateurs qu'il est sorti de la main. Nous avons subi bien des embarras de la fin donc je pense que ce fut le comble. Excuser de nouveau . J'ai utiliser le traducteur et j'espère donc que cette sortit tout droit.
Alan ingram SA11/16/2009 12:43 AM
one can understand why the national anthem was such a 'balls up' if the diplomatic staff of SA were involved ? They most likely smoked weed with the guy before the match !
New SA11/15/2009 10:04 PM
Jeez Clive .... what do you recommend: 'Liefling' ... "Ek bly a' Bul' ....'De La Rey' .... or something form Leon Schuster .... You crack me up dude. By the way in many countries around the world you would be tracked down and arrested for calling the anthem garbage ..... nice to live in a country where there is freedom of speech ..... If it wasn't for our present anthem you would not be watching the springbpks play international rugby ...... think about it .....
Velaphi11/15/2009 6:58 PM
You have insulted us...We feel angry. How can a team be motivated after that?
clive11/15/2009 6:03 PM
We should just have a pasionate RUGBY song like the Irish do,,,,screw the national anthem the gov dont give a tos about us why have any pride in that garbage,,,,could be worse could have been a cabinet minister but who would dare wake them up.
Bob11/15/2009 5:26 PM
Maybe somebody with a knowledge of live performance, sound engineering etc may add some input here and explain why it seems the guy appears to have been set up to fail. Are his points about the lack of monitor speakers valid? While he may be used to permorming in clubs etc, he may not have been prepared for performing in a stadium where he will not instantanously hear his own voice through the speakers as he opens his mouth and sings. He will be hearing his own voice a fraction of a second later and this could be why his timing was off at times. He may have a point. I think the guy is genuinely disappointed about the performance. He does appear to have botched the lyrics which is a whole other issue, but also his performance anxiet from the inadequate setup may have contributed to that. Let's hope the SA Embassy consults a sound engineer to ensure their next singer is not being set up to fail.
Debbie11/15/2009 4:50 PM
I first thought I was dreaming.......I thought one wasn't allowed to change the anthem.... after laughing I was embarrassed and really bemused as the singer and the drummers really looked as if they were quite oblivious of the fact that they mucked up the anthem....Heartwarming to see so many poeple proud of the anthem after the furore when it was change. Go SA.
Mark Beard11/15/2009 4:33 PM
I emailed him and commented that his rendition of the National Anthem was similar to the sounds a pig would make when being castrated and he replied as follows.......""My brother thanks indeed for you too write me There it was war really war didn't no about it Because how it happened is from the sound check Did told them about the low microphone There was no monitors or returns on the sound too hear yourself what you doing You cant sing when you don't hear yourself The French Anthem have volume from the sound check I spoke about it was ignored many time It was a stress from the start til the end Just too make us low Even the band was not ready to play the song well nobody say anything about the band little kids that learn too play music Blessed love"
Themba11/15/2009 4:32 PM
Masithandazeni, Sibize amadlozi! Nanku umhlola. If U they also can't get it rite, I think we need to evacuate the country, We all go into space. Maybe we will be more functional when we come back as Aliens. They seem to have more going for them than us.
Bob11/15/2009 4:22 PM
Come on people. He was approached by representatives of SA and while it was probably poor judgement on his part, he probably felt honored and obliged to agree and do his best. Yes, the guy should admit his poor performance - that is important for him and the fans and SA as a whole but there's probably nobody who regrets this more right now than the singer himself, even if he doesn't care to admit it right now.
JayBee11/15/2009 2:47 PM
The "Anthem" - a joke - once again a pathetic Bee appointment - mediocre to poor is what we South Africans now aspire to. Give the job to the best qualified. On the rugby field we were beaten by the better, more passionate team. Wake up South Africa - this is not adress rehearsal.
lawler11/15/2009 2:46 PM
What a debacle, the best we have to offer singing our national anthem! He is even a bigger embarrassment to the Rastafarians following. I think our friend Ras Dumisani is a glue sniffer in the guise of a Rastafarian. We should burry our heads in shame now already for the 2010 Soccer World Cup! At least now we have found a fiend for Julius Malema……..
Politician11/15/2009 2:27 PM
The Ambassador & diplomatic staff at the SA Embassy are all Rastifarians ma'an.....no worries there at all.....they're smokin'.
CHRIS LONDON11/15/2009 2:15 PM
EISH!!!!!!!!! HOW?????? I CANT BELIEVE!!!!
Ed Rosa11/15/2009 2:11 PM
Bloody Hell !! If he was told by others that he sang well, they too must have their hearing checked. We all sat astounded looking at the T.V and then at each other, in complete shock. As a judge on IDOLS would say.... That SUCKED!!!!! I wanted to have my ears ripped off.
ANC Minister11/15/2009 2:07 PM
Make Dumisani Minister of Arts and Culture, he will fit right into the ANC Government....
Vive les bleus11/15/2009 1:35 PM
I was shocked and saddened by so much verbal abuse and insults toward France in many comments from our “SA friends”. What did we ever do to you recently to create such hatred toward us? Now that we all know that France is not responsible for choosing the “singer” of your beautiful national anthem, I’m disappointed of not reading more apologies. What a crazy world we’re living in, truly scary!!!
Terry11/15/2009 1:29 PM
This is a wonderful country with people who are so talented and gifted. Someone at the SA Embassy however isn't. What a shame, the whole country gets blamed for it. Anyway it gave the Boks something to laugh about because after the game it was no laughing matter. Wake up the Boks!!!!!
Anita van Heerden11/15/2009 1:05 PM
What an insult to our country!! We are a proud nation and proud of our anthem...what was that!?
Jack Daniels11/15/2009 1:04 PM
Where's Blondie aka Claire Johnston (Mango Groove) still the best singer of our anthem.............
Hentie11/15/2009 12:59 PM
As usual, first reaction:Blame somebody else for it. And then the truth comes out. Our officialdom and politicians seem to specialise in making our name GAT. It is about time that we establish a People's Court where we sort these guys out and inflict as much embarrassment and damage on them as they are on us. And we will do it for free. Not get paid huge salaries and spend other peoples money in the process.
groofis11/15/2009 12:04 PM
WHAT A SHMUCK, YOU ARE A EMBARRASSMENT TO ALL SOUTH AFRICANS. AND NOW YOU HAVE THE GALL TO DEVEND YOURSELF BY SAYING YOU SANG WEL!!!!! HAHAHAHAHA
Tannie Wesrtrand11/15/2009 12:02 PM
Ag no man! Now you guys are raping the athem as well..if you know somebody in parliament does not meant you can score a free trip overseas and F..up the anthem...go home and smoke you self into a stupor...
Tannie Wesrtrand11/15/2009 11:54 AM
That is the South Africa of now...I see lots of trouble on the horizon...oi, because he is from South Africa does not mean he can sing...he raped our anthem....please people,it is time we stand up and let this goverment know we as ordinary citizens are fed up with this shit!
Julian11/15/2009 11:52 AM
It was an insult to our National Anthem. Sounded like he was drugged until I realised he was a Rastafarian.......Please never do that again...I was embarrassed to be a South African to hear our Nat. Anthem being torn apart like that. The person who approved of his singing the Anthem in the SA Embassy should be fired.....
Johnno11/15/2009 11:50 AM
Wow, you guys know how to make fools of yourselves! Over here in Aus the people can't stop laughing - almost all my friends have emailed me the youtube clip just to make sure I see it. As and SA expat living in Aus for over 10 years now, I must say that I can't come up with explanations anymore. I've been here too long now to be able to understand the African way of thinking. How come the government only realises the Beast is Zimbabwian after years of playing for SA? How come the government makes such a blunder with our anthem? You can only answer these questions if you actually live in SA, and they would only be acceptable in a country like SA. Nowhere else in the world will such uselessness be tolerated. I bet you none of these officials would even have to explain their decisions, never mind being accountable for them. In SA its ok to be useless, everything is ok. Ai shame
just askin11/15/2009 11:46 AM
as he has done our country proud can we expect him to sing our anthem at the opening ceremony of the FIFA world cup?
just askin11/15/2009 11:46 AM
as he has done our country proud can we expect him to sing our anthem at the opening ceremony of the FIFA world cup?
Potkop!11/15/2009 11:40 AM
Ras Dumisani, should become the poster-boy for anti-drug campaigns - as he most undoubtedly was gooof'd out of his mind and any reminensces of a brain cell have long expired in that dreadlocked dome. What an absolute plonker! I just hope that friend Julius has something to say..or not!
Werner11/15/2009 11:39 AM
This Rasta moron got the job like every other ANC official.. "He knows some one in the right place" the fact that he is completely incompetent to do the job does not factor into the equation at all.
Werner11/15/2009 11:39 AM
This Rasta moron got the job like every other ANC official.. "He knows some one in the right place" the fact that he is completely incompetent to do the job does not factor into the equation at all.
Thabo11/15/2009 11:31 AM
As a black South African living in the UK, I must say that I'm totally lost for words. I find it increasingly difficult to defend all sorts of embarrassing news from my home country, but this one takes the cake. I have no idea what I'm going to have to come up with on Monday morning when my English colleagues at work ask me for an explanation. I think its time to start laughing with them. If you can't beat them, join them - I have no alternative. I wish more black South Africans come spend some time overseas to see what the world thinks of events like these. Everyone is laughing at us! We chose Dumisani ourselves - it wasn't the French! Oh my word people, just get it right please. For heavens sake, stop accepting incompetence. Don't we have any standards at all?
thabang11/15/2009 11:19 AM
hayi wena dont get to personal desmond
gaston crepelle11/15/2009 11:11 AM
quite agree with you desmond. I hope this information will stop people blaming it on the french. The South African embassy are to blame
mondz@mweb.co.za11/15/2009 11:06 AM
Well he had the qualifications - he was black - that does not mean that he can do the job - right! Dont complain when your own people botch up the job again and again and again and again - the story of our lives in South Africa
French11/15/2009 11:04 AM
To all those who mistakenly pointed a finger at our administrators, maybe you need to speak to your own embassy officials rather. It would seem that the singer is respected in your country even though many rugby fans did not appreciate his singing.
Ashamed11/15/2009 10:59 AM
Fire the ambassedor!!!!!!!!!!! Send the rastafarian back to Africa!!!!!!!!!!! What a shameful day in our history.
NGS11/15/2009 10:42 AM
Sometimes the africanisation of everything gets taken too far. how do they choose someone to represent our country who openly advocates the use of marijuana. After all he is a rasta who's use of marijuana is a part of their spiritual beliefs. However if he were as talented as Bob marley he may have got away with concocting his own rendition of our national anthem. Sadly I think he was so stoned he couldn't even hear himself singing out of tune and how does he think he has the right to change the national anthem. What a buffoon!
rudi11/15/2009 10:38 AM
This song is criminal, the Rastafarian should be locked-up in a noise free room next to the hardened criminals in jail, speakers should be placed in their cells and he should sing the anthem to them for punishment.
karl waugh11/15/2009 10:26 AM
I could'nt agree with you more Desmond Visser. I have heard better renditions of the anthem at a alcohol fuelled pub where half the clientele have laryngitis.
Steve, Auckland11/15/2009 10:14 AM
Must be part of your Governments BEE or AA programmes. Not a S A supporter, but I must admit it was a crappy rendition. I see 4% of your viewers say that this messed up the Boks' focus--stop kidding yourself. The best team on the pitch won, fair & square. The same applied when the Boks thumped all the other teams this year. To quote Naas--cowboys don't cry
Green and Gold11/15/2009 10:02 AM
I couldn't believe it. What a shocking display - this guy can't sing. Lucky Dube would have done our anthem Justice and we would have had goose bumps listening to him. This Ras Dumisani is a raving Idiot! He is clearly tone deaf, and his basic reading and writing skills are lacking since he couldn't even sing Zulu, English or Afrikaans and instead chose to "WAIL" as the reggae singers love to do but damn, this guy sounded as if he was taking part in a voluntary ampuatation of his limbs. Please SA why did you not screen this guy before he butchered our anthem - our pride ???
Sharon11/15/2009 9:59 AM
Sport brings the country together, the 1995 Rugby World Cup was probably the first time all South Africans stood together. We as a nation want an explanation why "that" was the best we could do to represent our country. Please do not let us down again for the Soccer World Cup - the world is watching us.
Sharon11/15/2009 9:58 AM
Sport brings the country together, the 1995 Rugby World Cup was probably the first time all South Africans stood together. We as a nation want an explanation why "that" was the best we could do to represent our country. Please do not let us down again for the Soccer World Cup - the world is watching us.
Michelle11/15/2009 9:57 AM
What a disgrace!!!!!!!!!!! How did this happen???? I am ashamed...On national tv for the whole world to see.....
Sharon11/15/2009 9:56 AM
Gordo11/15/2009 9:50 AM
Ras Dumisani - AKA "I got NO talent, I got NO tune" Please could someone start a petition on Facebook to condemn this cock! The Idiot who thinks he can sing. The idiot who can't sing Nkosi Sikelel' iAfrika and when he did he absolutely butchered it to death! This guy smoked up half a tree before singing at the French game. Just look at the faces of the World Champs..... This Reggae moron should be banned from singing period. How the #@$% does he sell any records???!!! If you shoved a pole up my arse I would still sound in tune and pronounce the words. Shocking! Disturbing! How can this guy call himself a South African, and from Durban nogal. 
Bryan 11/15/2009 9:47 AM
I THINK HIS RENDITION WAS ABSOLUTELY DISGRACEFUL!!!! AND ABSOLUTE MOCKERY TO COUNTRY THAT ACTUALLY HAS PROFOUND TALENT!!! PATHETIC - A TRUE REFLECTION OF HOW LITTLE THE THAT MAKE THESE DECISIONS GIVE A DAMN! SAD.
G Morris11/15/2009 9:42 AM
His singing was embarasing. He was so off key. Where did they find him?
Capetonian11/15/2009 9:32 AM
My word...this clown is a South African?! You have GOT to be kidding! Who EVER told this git that he can sing?! Just imagine what the Idols pnel would tell this mamparra.
Reinhardt11/15/2009 9:29 AM
It was an embarrisment to watch this guy sing our national anthem.
Ken11/15/2009 9:25 AM
Seriously what was this guy smoking before he sang?
henry11/15/2009 9:24 AM
I agree wholeheartedly with Des Visser. The team should choose and not some idiot from the embassy. Did she or she get a bachander for choosing such an atrocious singer. Therss thousands of good singers from home but why choose this Ras Duminani character. The worst thing is that he thought he did a good job........
Mandi van Eeden11/15/2009 9:22 AM
what a joke, i was watching the game in New Zealand with some kiwi friends and it took us a while to stop laughing, what an idiot!! My ass makes a better sound when I fart. Man what a joke!! You sing the anthem as it is intended to sound like, not make it up as you go long.......I wonder who paid for his first class plane ticket.
Volen11/15/2009 8:58 AM
Fire that ambasodor and shoot that dreadlock Rastafarian to avoid anyone from suffering that tone deaf rubbish he calls singing again.
Karoo Boer11/15/2009 8:58 AM
This bliksem is a disgrace. It just shows again. Put an idiot in charge and you will get this type of"kak". Welcome to South Africa 2011 Soccer World Cup.
PeterG11/15/2009 8:51 AM
The only thing worse than our tired Bokke was his disaster of a performance. But I suppose it shows how much value the SA gov puts on rugby - I would like to invite Mr Dumisani to the opening of the soccer world cup and see if he meets the standards required.
Jakes11/15/2009 8:46 AM
Who smoked the most joints, the singer or the Embassy selection panel? This is shocking.
Johann Hollander11/15/2009 8:41 AM
I'm a proud Namibian who actually finished my schooling career in South-Africa, point being, I sang the SA national anthem with the same pride & passion as I would have sung my own anthem. Lately SA sport has been under a lot of critics whereas the liable parties involved still remain to have a secure job (refer to the Caster Semenya saga) and now, I would say, having to select an idiot as Mr. Dumisani to sing (well in this case fcuk up) a national anthem as such, the idiot who selected him, should also be sacked...If Joost must walk, all these incompetent fools must get the sacking as well. Another question still remains: Are one allowed to make any changes i.e. lyrics and wording to a national anthem of your country??
Peet11/15/2009 8:32 AM
Please tell me this was not a deliberate action from a political motivated SA diplomatic office to embarass a sport perceived by many politicians to be too "white".
hugo11/15/2009 8:21 AM
Only SA can make a mess like this!Poor idiots,blame it on apartheid.
Peter 11/15/2009 8:07 AM
Mr. Visser's incredible spelling makes him equally deserving of the fate he wishes upon Dumisani. I am sure the embassy staff will practically wilt if they don't see a Rugby game again while serving out Mr. Visser's prescribed sentence: what ever will they find to do in Paris?
iggie11/15/2009 8:02 AM
If the SA Embassy chose this poor example of a singer ....... need I say more? Did they NOT THINK to audition this man?
Niel11/15/2009 8:00 AM
It was hillarious. He should sing at every event (please!!!!)
Jan Bantjies11/15/2009 7:58 AM
His performance was symbolic of the "state of the nation" a complete shambles from start to finish. Our poor Government can`t run anything. The few white people who can, are being victimised, harrased and driven out of the country by rascist black politicians etc.to say nothing of the white maggots who aid them. They would be happy if South Africa ended up like Zimbabwe so long as there are no whites left here, it is a price they are happy to pay, indeed, Zimbabwe to them is something to strive for.
gawie11/15/2009 7:49 AM
Why the hell would he even consider doing his own Regae rendition of any national anthem???? What a loser! i mean Bob marley "WAS" cool when we were 16. what's even more facinating is the fact that this creep reckons his so called "own rendition" was "beauitiful" WTF?
Black11/15/2009 7:48 AM
HAHAHA Hehehe is their something this stupid guvermunt hasnt touch that didnt turned in to shit??
Jack Postma11/15/2009 7:43 AM
I can only agree with you Desmond. The anthem should be sung with pride and passion. One needs only to compare how the French sang their anthem and the passion they put into it , especially the singer, to realise that the Springboks were going to have an uphill battle. It was a total embarrasement. No wonder the people in the stadium thought he sung well as they were probably French and knew he contributed to the Springboks defeat.
Nonatjie11/15/2009 7:42 AM
This is not the first time that the anthem has been badly sung, but it is probably the worst rendition. Why is a live singer needed? A recording made by a truly representative choir, e.g. Drakensberg Boys' Choir, should be played, ensuring that the words, tempo and notes remain the same with every rendition. It is, after all, not a pop song, but a declaration of national pride and solidarity.
Duncan11/15/2009 7:42 AM
This excuse for somebody with a voice was so bad he could not even be labelled as a wanker! I am not sure where he was found, but agree with the writer above that he should have his vocal chords permanently removed. He did the Rastafarians a complete disservice with poor Bob Marley more than moving in his grave! The worst part of it all this "Long haired lover from the tone deaf society" actually believes his rendition was a good one. Reality check dude ... don't ever open your mouth again!
Duncan11/15/2009 7:41 AM
This excuse for somebody with a voice was so bad he could not even be labelled as a wanker! I am not sure where he was found, but agree with the writer above that he should have his vocal chords permanently removed. He did the Rastafarians a complete disservice with poor Bob Marley more than moving in his grave! The worst part of it all this "Long haired lover from the tone deaf society" actually believes his rendition was a good one. Reality check dude ... don't ever open your mouth again!
Mortymoose11/15/2009 7:39 AM
Off course everyone at the stadium told him he sang well, they were friggin french.......
Merton11/15/2009 7:25 AM
Huh? This guy doesn't have a good voice let alone knowing the words and the tune. Must have been a chommie of some nit in the embassy. Never heard such gross version of the anthem. Don't they ask the dude to give a quick audition? And see his boeties on the drums. The embassy hired a troupe of stoned rastas on the cheap.
Gibbaan11/15/2009 7:24 AM
OMG.His singing was absolutely pathetic.Beside the fact that he was out of tune,he also forgot the words.He must be related to someone at the embassy who obviously thought his shower version was good enough.
Double J11/15/2009 7:22 AM
I think the "SA Embassy in France" should go back to JAMAKA were they come from AssHolls.Why don't SARU send a singer with the SA Rugby team when they travel abroad to sing the anthem ? I personaly think this was the plan of the frence to put us off our game. We must invite them to come and play in SA and return the fafour by asking a German to sing the Frence Anthem.... What do you guys think?
avril11/15/2009 7:16 AM
It was a disgrace. No wonder we lost the game.
MILLY11/15/2009 7:08 AM
What a DISCRASE!!!!!!! The hole world was laughing at this clown,they should fire the idiot how selected him and this idiot should never be allowed to try an sing anything ever in hes life !!!!!!!!
Madiba11/15/2009 7:05 AM
Just curious ... how many of you can sing the SA anthem word for word?
Charles11/15/2009 6:55 AM
Thanks man I havent laughed so much in a long time! Bet the team lost because they couldn't stop laughing !
Don11/15/2009 6:51 AM
SA embassy picked the singer.....Oh ok, that explains it all, sorry France. Man you just don't get it do you, Listen closely and listen good.....AA DOES NOT WORK!!!! no matter where.
Sandra11/15/2009 6:17 AM
What more can we say what an IDIOT!!!!
ShepTess11/15/2009 6:11 AM
This was hilarious no wonder the Springboks lost. What an idiot!
Mr Whaks11/15/2009 5:58 AM
What an imbarrasment. @ Desmond, I stand in agreementbru. Those two fools should not even watch rugby or for that matter, any other sport SA plays in France.
Boerseun11/15/2009 5:57 AM
Jaa Maan! Check out the vibe and sock it to me one more time with Sweet Mary Jane. Right On !!
Georg Coetzee11/15/2009 5:38 AM
Maybe he was loaded with "lag twak" shame how can we blame him. In die land van die blindes is die een oog koning en ons is die volstruise met ons kop onder die sand. That was pathetic, sickening and a shame for our so called rainbow nation "black is the only color in the rainbow"
Danny11/15/2009 5:36 AM
Very typical of the majority of South Africans. Our biggest problem. No pride and no shame. "everyone at the stadium told me I sang well, even after the match." In my opinion after the match you still had not recovered."Fool"
Ditto11/15/2009 5:05 AM
Who ever came last in SA Idols, would have been a better choice. This was not only a disgrace to our country but more than a total embarrisment
Kiwibok11/15/2009 2:57 AM
Ras, the only people who congratulated you were thos imaginary people (after you have smoked pot)!! Hope you brain does not last long.
Kiwibok11/15/2009 2:54 AM
Desmond I can give you a guarantee that it is going to happen, the SWC I mean. What a disgrace!!! Everything the government touches is an embarresment. Fire the whole and export the them to the banana republic (Zimbabwe). I suggest in the future the touring team should take their own singer along. Good luck boys with the rest of the tour
gary young11/15/2009 2:45 AM
what can you expect from a sub culture that approves of cannabis use.
Thandi11/15/2009 2:26 AM
This "singer" was from Durban????? Sorry Mr. Dumisani, whoever told you it was good, was lying or deaf. Any one of the rugby players could have done a better job. Better get some practice and learn the words to our anthem.
Frank11/15/2009 1:49 AM
You sang like a cat being raped by a gorilla you moron ! I hate my government they are so bloody useless.
Krugie11/15/2009 1:39 AM
At the VERY least someone should loose their job for causing such an embarresment to SA!!!!!!
still laughing11/15/2009 1:36 AM
Rastafarian hey! Probably spend his fee on ganja or some other weed to celebrate his new found fame. Recording studios are lining up to book him. God help us.........and him.
Thoko Senzani- Indonesia11/15/2009 1:08 AM
Awu Visser Sir, do u really have to be this rude anyway U are forgiven. I think next time the SA Embassy should elect a musian to help prepare the singer and rehearse before going to public ie. Involve MUSICIANS we have a lot of talent in SA.
Stratford Canning11/15/2009 12:57 AM
The man must have been smoking ganja weed if he believes he sang the anthem well. I have never heard anything so disrespectful of an anthem. It was absolutely diabolical. If it is true that the diplomatic staff chose Ras to sing, then they deserve some form of severe censure. All in all very embarrasing for South Africa.
Pissed Off11/15/2009 12:30 AM
If the govenment think this chap is that good then he should sing the South African anthem before evert Bafana Bafana game at the Soccor World Cup next year!! I'd love that...
Afrikaan, Amsterdam11/15/2009 12:16 AM
Desmond, Desmond, Desmond..... What does this incident have to do with 2010? Come on, relax, one person messed up a song, and now it becomes a national crisis and 2010 is brought into the scenario. Please, no drama queens needed for 2010, we have enough of them! As long as you are not responsible for spelling on 2010 brochures, I promise to not be a DQ myself! Talking of "IDOITS" (sic)....
Tommygun11/15/2009 12:12 AM
Singer chosen by SA Embassy. Well what do you expect.Chosen on colour, incompetent and maybe he looks like he will pass as an African.
Henk11/14/2009 11:53 PM
I actually feel sorry for this idiot. He made his name "tottie" in front of the whole world. This jaffel should never be allowed to sing again...ever!
Craigmac11/14/2009 11:47 PM
I agree with Desmond but I would advise him to use spell check.......
clemmy11/14/2009 11:34 PM
this is disgusting. l am a Zimbabwean but will never like to hear the national anthem l sang as a schoolboy degraded to this level. the whole embassy staff must be fired. lnternational sports event like this one are not the stage for intoxicated performances. the foreign affairs ministry must act hard on these fools to stop this circus happening again in future events..
Swys11/14/2009 11:28 PM
what a bloody disgrace...i felt embarrased for his sake.
John11/14/2009 11:22 PM
Oh please people, who on earth approved this clown? I mean no disrespect, maybe I do, but he cannot sing to save his own life. Did you see how the people laughed? This was really so embarrassing! A big plea to the new government, stop making us the utter fool.
SAEED11/14/2009 11:16 PM
Now you F@ck up National anthem !!!! What's next ? Hang the guy by has dreadlocks - die ma se P**S
James 11/14/2009 11:08 PM
Rather play a tape recording !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Annoyed11/14/2009 11:06 PM
and here I was blaming the French...how sad that I have to look at my own countrymen... But I think the evidence is starting to show what is really going on...The powers that be want the Springboks to fail because it is still labelled a white sport... The reason I think so...I posted on Dumisani's Facebook profile (yes he has one...go let him know what you think) how bad he is and that he should not sing ever in his life again...his reaction "you races boer" I explained to him that it was racist and not races...further more I explained to him that If I was a racist I sure as heck would not be worried about him massacring Nkosi Sikelela.... Regardless of his illiteracy, his retort may point to the darker intentions of letting him sing at the game...he was so fast to call me a racist boer, this when all I had done was tell him how badly he sang (under the pseudonym Dumisani sucks). So perhaps it is all a plan by a select few in the government to unsettle the Boks so that they may fail....Thereby getting the so called white sport to fail...time for these politicians to sod off out of sport and realise that we are supposed to be way beyond colour in this day and age... Again I plead with all of you that are incensed about this act to 1) complain about it 2) stand up and show the world how to sing the anthem...
Manyatella11/14/2009 10:57 PM
Well.....Where do I start? National Anthem, Eskom, Armscor, Education, Health, Law and Order, SAA, Transnet, SABC, Telkom, Landbank...... Do you folk living over there not have some, faint, shrill of alarm sounding in your ears? Not even the odd bout of realism? Why the f..ck are you rounding on the French when your own Embassy appointed old Sipho Spliffpipe to be your vocal ambassador for YOUR COUNTRY? It's time for a bit of realism in the good land. Open your eyes, read some of the international comment on SA. It's a bit comical really. Must dash, got to deliver the old diplomatic bag, and there's a big spliff if I get there late, and stoned.........
Milder11/14/2009 10:57 PM
Well why does this not suprise me! lol I bet we will now get somone from the South African Embassy saying that the French are racists! lol
Dianne11/14/2009 10:53 PM
whoaaaa? and these people govern us. Things are worse than I thought! Even if you were deaf you would know this oke can't sing AT ALL not even a leeeeeetle bit.
Piet11/14/2009 10:52 PM
It is so easy to understand why white people dispair at the South African government. And only the most extreme political correctness prevents most people from giving expression to what they think, and that is that what we have for a government would be much better employed digging in someone's back garden.
Burgiesburnin11/14/2009 10:49 PM
If anyone had said anything as to why this guy should not sing then they would have been branded racist. As usual, his competance would have been secondery.
Mbongeni Tyesi11/14/2009 10:45 PM
I fully agree with you Des!! The singing of our national anthem was a real disgrace!!!!!!! This oke owes our country a huge apology!!!!!!! You say your singing was good? I think you need to reconsider broer,our anthem is not a platform for you to test singing abilities!
cal11/14/2009 10:45 PM
aesthetic = Concerning or characterized by an appreciation of beauty or good taste. This word is lacking in most of the sa embassies as well as back home. just look at the guy - how could any person looking like that respects any country's national anthem? Shame on you, leaders of south africa .....
robbie11/14/2009 10:44 PM
This guy should be charged for disrespecting a National Symbol
Wire11/14/2009 10:44 PM
That happens if you smoke to much pot
Elizabeth11/14/2009 10:35 PM
What a shame! This is scandalous. This is not only an embarrassment, but had an adverse effect on the players. We must frame Schalk Burger's utter disgust and disbelieve. I always turn the volume to the fullest when our anthem is sang - thank goodness I was late and only learned about the disaster afterwards. I honestly think that the person(s) responsible for this must be brought to book - please respect our anthem!!! I agree with Desmond - that man must never be allowed to sing - he no showed absolutely no respect towards our anthem - his appearance alone is horrific - spare us in future from something like this!!!!
Frans11/14/2009 10:32 PM
SHOCKING...not so long ago a man disgracing a nation laike that would have been excecuted. he should not be allowed to ever sing the national anthem again, not even in the shower. looking at the way he looked, he probably has never had a shower. the people who chose him from the embassy should be fired. probably a family member, because that seems to be the way the country is being run nowadays.
gaston crepelle11/14/2009 10:27 PM
I hope this will stop people blaming the French
Nicholas11/14/2009 10:27 PM
TIA. We take our rugby and national "hymn" far too seriously. Listen to it again, its funny. The reason we lost was not the anthem, its the fact we did not slaughter a cockerel on the field before or during the game.
Thumelo11/14/2009 10:25 PM
sad day to be black. disgraced us and i blamed the French. yes i hope they don't embarass us in 2010.
kallie11/14/2009 10:24 PM
Dear Desmond, I don’t even think our death fellow South Africans will stomach the singing of this guy ... but please I cringed almost as much for your spelling as for that guys singing ... please check your spelling on a word processor before pasting on blogs ... and swearing lower us to a level lower than the dung of the lice on that Rasta’s dreadlocks
jason11/14/2009 10:21 PM
HAahahahahahaaaa. At least the version added comedy to the whole fiasco!!! Please don't tell me the bokkies lost becuase of this though.
pap & wors11/14/2009 10:17 PM
This idiot insulted our national anthem. It is always a special moment when the national anthems are sung. His singing was disgusting and an utter embarrassment.
Stef11/14/2009 10:10 PM
Dear Desmond Visser, What is "embarris". You embarrass us all.
Stef11/14/2009 10:07 PM
Dear Desomnd Visser, What are IDOITS? You idiot.
leon11/14/2009 10:05 PM
If he really thinks that he even remotely sang well, he should be declared mentally unfit. All the dagga F@ct upd his head.
Hertzog Coetsee11/14/2009 10:02 PM
What an absolute disgrace. This is probably what one can expect of the idiots in control of this country.
Jimmy11/14/2009 10:02 PM
He sings like Desmond spells.
William Shakespeare11/14/2009 10:00 PM
Ah, now it all makes sense. I wondered how a first world country like France could screw up so badly. My apologies for thinking badly of the French.
Anthony Yiollaris11/14/2009 9:49 PM
What a disgrace, how high was this rasta when he raped our national anthem.Our players should have walked of the field. Not even Jurie Els could have stuffed it up like this idiot did.
Awa11/14/2009 9:42 PM
Did he have a few dagga zolle before singing?-it sounded like it. Is he a affirmative action appointment? Just shows what incompetence is in SA embassy officials.
Desmond Visser11/14/2009 9:29 PM
This man should not be allowed to sing anything in his life again. He is PATHETIC, his tongue should be ripped out so that he can never embarris us again. The anthem should be song by someone with meaning, someone who feels proud of himself and his nation. Bryan Habana even started to laugh. Dumisani and the fool from the SA Embassy must never be allowed to watch Rugby again. And please do not F@ck up the Soccer World Cup..........IDOITS
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Super 14 - Waratahs v Lions

Super 14 - Chiefs v Crusaders

Peter Crouch's Robot Dance

Featured Blog

Too many mistakes, poor defence and no finishing of moves, What has happened to the Lions, asks Darth Maul. Time to think outside the box!

Latest blogs

Lions Extinction 3/13/2010 2:06:27 PM

It could be a windy Cape Argus Cycle Tour 3/13/2010 11:07:09 AM

Perspective After Round 5 (First two games) 3/12/2010 6:56:03 PM

Vote

The main reason for the Boks' woeful end of year tour was:

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide