Boks on Tour

Anthem fiasco also flag fiasco

2009-11-16 16:10
Email | Print
The South African flag was reported to have been flown upside-down during the Test. (File)

Johannesburg - The South African embassy in Paris did not impose Ras Dumisani on the organisers of Friday's rugby match between South Africa and France, it said in a statement.

The embassy said it had also noticed that the South African flag was flown the wrong way around at the event, but that it had been too late to correct the error.

"In all cases, the embassy merely provides information, but is often not in a position to vouch for the bona fides, credentials or competency of any of the parties," it said.

"In this case, the embassy had only one name of a South African singer in France and the embassy provided the name of his agent in France to the French Rugby Union."

"...This was not a recommendation from the embassy since the embassy had no previous exposure to his performances nor is he a renowned performer."

Video: Botched South African anthem

Gallery: France vs South Africa

It said that during a meeting on September 8 with officials from the Midi-Pyrenees Rugby Union in Toulouse, the embassy was asked to suggest a South African singer residing in France to sing the national anthem before the match.

"Since this was not an embassy event, the embassy maintained that it was not in a position to provide, source or recommend any artists and that they discuss this matter with the South African Rugby Union.

"The embassy further undertook to inform them of any South African singers who might be touring France during this period. There was unfortunately no South African artist touring France during this period."

It continued: "The embassy had no subsequent dealings with any of the parties and rejects all claims that the embassy chose or imposed the singer. This was entirely the responsibility of the hosts."

Dumisani has had to weather a storm of criticism over his rendition of the anthem.

While the Congress of the People called his performance a "vocal misfire", the Young Communist League of South Africa (YCLSA) recommended that he stick to singing in the shower.

The YCLSA demanded an apology from French rugby authorities and said the department of arts and culture and international relations should compile a list of people who could sing the anthem to avoid future embarrassment, especially ahead of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

It also called on the education department to make sure children learnt the anthem and for mandatory singing at morning assemblies

Beeld reported that Dumisani blamed his performance on the sound equipment. He had complained about it during the sound check but nothing was done.

"It was war, it was definitely war. If you can't hear yourself, then it is not possible to sing," he wrote in response to a question posted on Facebook.

Dumisani is also on the receiving end of a Facebook site drumming up support for him not sing again.

Your Comments

Enrico11/18/2009 1:51 PM
BREAKING NEWS! Strepsils and Halls have sponsored none other than Julius Malema to perform the anthem at the Springbok game against Italy this weekend!
Jay11/17/2009 1:51 PM
Breaking news!!! Ras has been offered a job to perform in the Cats musical. He did not even have to have a vocal test.
Fidelito11/17/2009 1:24 PM
I think that we should all take a step back and see what has transpired...firstly, who chose the singer? Own up!!! then, did the singer have time to rehearse? Doesn't sound like it at all! What have we learned from this experience? Would it really have broken anyone's budget(SA Rugby) to ensure that at least our national anthem is sung with the necessary dignity? I would put that ball under their arm.
Marc11/17/2009 1:24 PM
I think that the concept of blaming someone/somebody/something when we are dissatisfied with an event or result, is something which is not unique to South Africans. It appears to have become a global trend and a large percentage of the comments thus far merely illustrate this. We are not the only country to have experienced this "mishap" and our lives will continue. Our rugby team has hit a bump in the road and should be encouraged to get up and carry on at our best, just as we would encourage our children if they should fall. Rise, South Africa, RISE!
Nico Pretorius11/17/2009 1:20 PM
To Vic: When the flag is hung vertically, the red should be on the left....not the right, as most of those complaining here would probably have it done. To Bill: There are no longer Arts & Culture representatives at Embassies.....because of people like you thinking Embassies are a waste of money. All these events have so-called "professional" events organisers, who are ultimately responsible for these arrangements. They should double-check their info like anybody else (they are being paid to do it, as is the SA team's manager). By the way, the African Desk of the French Foreign Ministry also has info regarding possible artists who could have performed and were probably also approached, and probably also did not have names of people who could perform it....why aren't they being blamed. Probably because, unlike ourselves, the French stick together. We just love blasting our own. Hansie Cronjé vs Shane Warne is a prime example of one nation helping it's own whilst the other shoots it's own down. If any of you were in Korea during the Financial crisis of '97 and had seen Koreans hand in their gold jewelery and foreign currencies at banks and boxes on street corners just to help the country, you may have understood what it means to suffer and grow together as a nation. We, as South Africans, love to announce to the world we are one nation standing together, but we are probably the worst example of a nation standing together......and I am not even referring to attitudes by one race towards another, but also amongst people of the same background, race, religion, etc. We just seem unable to work together towards a common cause or goal.
Nico Pretorius11/17/2009 1:19 PM
To Vic: When the flag is hung vertically, the red should be on the left....not the right, as most of those complaining here would probably have it done. To Bill: There are no longer Arts & Culture representatives at Embassies.....because of people like you thinking Embassies are a waste of money. All these events have so-called "professional" events organisers, who are ultimately responsible for these arrangements. They should double-check their info like anybody else (they are being paid to do it, as is the SA team's manager). By the way, the African Desk of the French Foreign Ministry also has info regarding possible artists who could have performed and were probably also approached, and probably also did not have names of people who could perform it....why aren't they being blamed. Probably because, unlike ourselves, the French stick together. We just love blasting our own. Hansie Cronjé vs Shane Warne is a prime example of one nation helping it's own whilst the other shoots it's own down. If any of you were in Korea during the Financial crisis of '97 and had seen Koreans hand in their gold jewelery and foreign currencies at banks and boxes on street corners just to help the country, you may have understood what it means to suffer and grow together as a nation. We, as South Africans, love to announce to the world we are one nation standing together, but we are probably the worst example of a nation standing together......and I am not even referring to attitudes by one race towards another, but also amongst people of the same background, race, religion, etc. We just seem unable to work together towards a common cause or goal.
Robert11/17/2009 1:15 PM
Well, the Boks should really thank this guy for taking all of the flack. Lets face it, does anyone remember the result? Perhaps Bafana should do the same thing, it might have saved Santana his job! hehehehe...
@EDWARD11/17/2009 1:08 PM
Edward - 1) your caps lock is stuck on 2) Watch a round ball sport - soccer world cup next year
Jay11/17/2009 1:02 PM
I can't beleive it has come to this, but from now on they must drug test the performers as well as the players before the match.
Edward11/17/2009 12:50 PM
MY QUESTION IS THIS: "IS THE RUGBY WORLD CUP REALLY A TRUE REFLECTION OF THE BEST TEAM IN THE WORLD?" I JUST THINK SOUTH AFRICA WAS JUST DAM LUCKY THE FRENCH BEAT THE ALL BLACKS AND ENGLAND TOOK OUT FRANCE, THE BOUNCE OF THE BALL DETERMINES THE OUTCOME OF THE WORLD CUP, ITS ACTUALLY PATHETIC.
theola11/17/2009 12:47 PM
It is such a disgrace to hear a man sing our national anthem like that, never mind his singing capabilities, the man did not know the words of his countries national anthem. It is about time we South African learn to respect our flag and anthem, yesterday I was watching a kids programme on TV, they were discusssing this issue but at the same time they were allowed to rap our anthem, i found it disgusting to hear them rapping a national anthem.
jay11/17/2009 12:43 PM
Well, I know the world has gone through a global financial crisis, but the rugby unions don't have to be so tight a^^ and supply s^*t like this. What next? Ras will be Herchelles medical practitioner in the cricket.
Oh hell!11/17/2009 12:05 PM
Yip! I agree with "am" - embarrasy not embassy! Geez people, its far too easy to shift blame nowadays. Take responsibility, own up. You stuffed up big time! Makes me worry about what else is out there representing SA! Clearly no brains thats for sure.
khami11/17/2009 11:44 AM
after damage [anthem] was done our team should have sung shosholoza at least to boost their morale.We can not link our loss with bad perfomance of our anthem..In sport game start during preparations,in africa they use to field bafana in a very bumpy field,other put too much water,others change tone of anthem ..this are all strategies to demoralize the opponent.We need to develop coping mechanism than blaming anthem for loss.
Ag nee man!11/17/2009 11:33 AM
If old Ras is so proudly South African and he was "singing for his country" as he puts it - how come he is still living in Paris? Does he know the french anthem? I don't have time for these ex-pats living abroad and crying for their country!! Any way, its only the south africans that are embarrased as the french only understand french anyway - they wouldn't have a clue if he sang ipi tombi for that matter.
Vic11/17/2009 10:07 AM
No wonder the flag was upside down... I see so many state logos in the vertical position with the red on the left side, while some with the red on the righthand side. I'm not sure whether one should look from the front or from the back of the flag when hanging. Anyone with knowledge on this?
Ras Fyah11/17/2009 9:57 AM
Rasta is not proudly South African, if he was he would atleast sing the African versions if he could not sing the Afrikaans and English verses. He should look at the mirror long and hard and ask himself if he wants his Youths to grow up in that school too. Fyah upon that thing, Rastafari people of Mzansi are disappointed because that is the song thet defines who we are. Fyah burn Les Dumisani's anthem.
SB11/17/2009 9:47 AM
So howcome is Malema so quiet? Did this not upset him? Oh sorry no! The Boks are too white, why would he be upset if they were embarrased!!! If it was Bafana-differnt ball game.
Howard11/17/2009 9:37 AM
Our anthem is so kak that this brought tears to my eyes, tears of laughter! We would have lost to the french even if they had played De La Rey or Sarie Marais! Get over it!
Patrick11/17/2009 9:28 AM
All I can say is that when Picasso first displayed his paintings, the reaction was not dissimilar to what we are going thru with Dumisani's rendition. however, today there are very few people that can afford to buy a Picasso
Johann11/17/2009 9:19 AM
Surely the singer had too much Savannah's or doobies...IF YOU CAN HUMM IT, I CAN PLAY IT.....
pathetic11/17/2009 8:43 AM
not surprised by the SA embassy revert...why should they take the blame, they are so perfect, like the rest of our fools....surely one would double check before sending recommendations! as for the singer, well sound or no sound problem, if you can sing then you can sing no matter what!
ZION PAY11/17/2009 8:26 AM
Some years ago I was living on a farm outside Bloemies. We had this old "windpomp" working though but looked terrible. we decided to give it a make over and painted the tail beautifully into a South African flag, It looked great, and the volk, neighbours and all and sundry commented on it. Almost 18 months later A friendly farmer reminded us the flag was upside down. The windpomp was a springbok. The moral of the story is that all who saw it saw the flag of their country not an upside down rendition thereof.
Bill11/17/2009 8:21 AM
SA Embassy in Paris is pathetic (I've been there). They are RESPONSIBLE as in every embassy, you have a representative of the department of culture who's supposed to deal with any events when it comes to SA representation abroad, French did right thing by contacting them. To have someone at hand able to sing our National Anthem is the bare minimum they should care of. Again, they are useless in this embassy...
Vrye Denker11/17/2009 8:14 AM
I don't think it was a mistake to fly the flag upside down: it is an international trend to fly a flag upside down in times of peril. I regard it more as a "Freudian Slip" ;)
POST MY COMMENTS PLEASE @Estelle11/17/2009 8:12 AM
@Estelle 11/16/2009 7:26 PM Good question :) I am English speaking grew up in an English speaking suburb, went to an English speaking school, but had to learn and sing the anthem in Afrikaans at school assembly, when we had sports etc, and believe you me we used to sing it with such pride, even though we did not understand a word we were singing, but we SANG it. Like you said "how many people actually know the words" whether it is sang in English, Afrikaans or Zulu I wonder if the anthem is still sung at school assemblies in the morning. @Nico Pretorius 11/16/2009 9:54 PM I have a friend married to an American and he resided in SA for almost 2 years, and someone said to him that he needs to register with the American Embassy in SA in case anything should happen to him, like you said I wonder how SA's have actually done this.
am11/17/2009 8:03 AM
Perhaps we should rename the 'embassy' to 'embarassy'
StuartW11/17/2009 7:52 AM
Guys, so what if everybody in South Africa don't know the words to the full anthem.....this guy cannot sing, full stop.... Why don't we rather ask why the Springbok team management did not check if he knew the words or if he could even sing? Don't they have a PR person who should check on all these things?
Joe11/17/2009 7:46 AM
You've all got it wrong. There is a third force behind this. Or P Divvy didn't want to be the only one who sounded funny when he opened his mounth. It could have been Amor: she still blames Rugby for giving Joost the oportunity of fame and the resulting promiscuity. This was her revenge. It was Andre Markgraaff in disguise; he took a cue from a Leon Schuster movie. Ras was posessed by the ghost of PW Botha.
Hein - Centurion11/17/2009 7:21 AM
I am one of the people that never sing the anthem (or for that matter any other song), and not because I don't know the words, but purely because I sound worse than Mr. Rasta.
AJ11/17/2009 6:54 AM
Aside for the dire performance, why would someone be selected who looks more Jamaican, sounds Jamaican and sings Jamaican than someone who is at least represenative of South Africa. There might be an Austrian singer in the States but they are not going to dress up in lederhosen etc to do the anthem.
Boutit03111/17/2009 1:53 AM
Damn stoners [ laughing ] !!!
Bongi11/17/2009 12:26 AM
That was a shameful performance and an embarassment for anyone calling themselves a South African. simply horrible, and what was up with the drumming rastas on the side, shame. They were a joke.
grimboy11/16/2009 11:24 PM
Can't wait for Julius Malema's comments :)
Justme11/16/2009 10:44 PM
The majority of citizens do not know the words and the GOV know that. They also know that it is unlikely that most ever will. We have 11 languages and they do not all understand each other. So why not have the anthem in a language that most understand. Like majority rule. Or else, allow us to have 11 anthems. Maybe 12 - must not forget the Rasta.
Nico Pretorius11/16/2009 9:54 PM
Sorry, but I can't help but laugh at some of these comments, especially the ones commenting on how News24 also used an upside down flag in this article by mistake.....the joke is on you...that is what the article is about....and if you bothered reading below the pic, you would of known that. Secondly, people are too quick to criticise our Embassy. It is not their responsibility to make sure all of these things are in place before a match and neither do they have the manpower to do so, mainly because of taxpayers continuously complaining about the expenses of keeping Embassies open abroad (which inevitably led to cuts in resources (both human and financial). It is always amazing to hear all these crititics, but never once, do you hear a thank you for all the assistance Embassies have given to people in need. Another prime example was when the Embassy in Bankok was blamed when they couldn't find our natonals in Phuket.....if people bothered to register at the Embassy (as most British, French, Dutch and others do), the Embassy would know who to look for....we (South Africans) are too quick to complain and shift the blame, even though we are, ourselves, to blame for the holes we have dug for ourselves. Another thing....it is amazing how our businessman expect Embassies to do their market research for them, provide them with a list of contacts etc, etc.....AT NO COST and still have the audacity to complain. If you were a Brit, America, Australian, Canadian, any info received from your Embassy would have come at a cost. Wake up people!! It was a mistake.......and it wasn't unique either....it has happened countless of times to every nation on this planet.
Nic @ Melanie11/16/2009 9:50 PM
I cannot agree more! I am soooo tired of this sanctimonious crap going around this issue...People who complain about this should be the people who know the words and stand up and sing it...no matter where they are...sure most South Africans sing it when they are at the stadiums...but in pubs and bars they sit drinking and talking while the anthem is on...serves us right...
Niki11/16/2009 9:10 PM
My first attempt to listen to the video had the dogs howling along so loudly - honestly, I'm not making this up - that I couldn't hear a thing. The second time the neighbours' dogs also joined in!
Melanie11/16/2009 8:58 PM
I agree 100% with YOU IDIOTS DON'T GET IT... How many of the people criticising here (either the singer, the embassy, the government or all three!) know all the words to our national anthem???? It's embarassing when the camera pans through the crowd at sporting events and one in 20 people are singing. I think the phrase: people who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones is apt here! Having said all this: this rastaman is a joke - he can no more sing than I can play rugby! His voice is terrible and he didn't know the words - shame on him!
NdP11/16/2009 8:46 PM
Ras should only be grateful that he couldn’t hear himself!!
Mr Whaks11/16/2009 8:36 PM
This guy is being ridicules. First he said, and I quote "it was beautifu" now he blames the sound equipment. How can you bame the equipment when you do not even know all the words!!!!
@GREG11/16/2009 8:30 PM
DUH GREG!!! That's the idea... it's meant to be upside-down in the photo! Like it say in the caption... I reckon News 24 have covered this brilliantly! ;-)
ash11/16/2009 8:16 PM
you cant really expect any better from one of our government institutions
Mr Whaks11/16/2009 8:08 PM
I cannot beleive that Dumisani who calls himself a proffesional singer is now blaming the equipment. Apon his interveiw after the match he said, and I quote "it was beautiful" How do you blame the equipment when you even get the words wrong???????
Tedanica11/16/2009 8:04 PM
Don't wory about the anthemgate so much . You are not alone . In Poland we had similar case. Before a football game during Mundial 2002 in Korea a well-known Polish singer gave also an awful and strange performance of our anthem although not so funny and off the melody.. - she was chosen by Polish authorities. as well. Of course our team lost and everybody blamed the singer.
Michael Bowery11/16/2009 8:04 PM
We have a totally useless government at home and a similarly useless inept set of Embassy officials abroad and they embarrass everyone at every turn with their downright stupidity. `There's none so blind as those who cannot see!' Mike
Lunga11/16/2009 7:47 PM
Guys I agree with some of you but the rastaman to sing national anthem what a joke. I was a scout and told to respect the national anthem and flag. How on earth did they agree that a rasta sing a national anthem haikona no. maan Disgusted.
MoZa11/16/2009 7:46 PM
Hahhaa What a Ripper! LoL hahahahahha Call it what u may this mans singing takes the cake! Was he a Rasta man from Jamaica or South African??
Jamie11/16/2009 7:43 PM
Just another typical case of the uninformed coming up with a hairbrained idea, probably based on racial bias, and then when it inevitably fails, putting all their effort into finding someone to blame. If half the effort used to find excuses had been used beforehand, in planning the event in the first place, the world would be a better place.
expat in france...11/16/2009 7:38 PM
The singing was certainly a hell of a lot better than the actual match... Please people, to think that a lousy singer will sabotage a match... the sa rugby team is more pathetic than i thought.......
Touch Judge11/16/2009 7:36 PM
K@k man - the Bokke organised this whole fiasco - Doped Rasta Singer and flying the flag upside down (DITRESS SIGNAL) was a message to the IRB that they are gatvol of these meanigless end of year tours after a hectic season - We ARE The World Champs - We ARE TheTri Nations Champs - We ARE The super 14 champs and we ARE the Conquerers of the B & I Lions - We HAVE beaten France, Italy and Ireland MORE TIMES than they have beaten us - So who gives a f#@^% what any one thinks - WE HAVE GOT THE TROPHIES AND THE RECORDS TO PROVE IT - in the bigger picture - who really gives a sh#t about a dodgy anthem - a loss to France or an upside down flag - after ALL the success the Bokke/Bulls achieved this year - We should be rejoicing as a country - no other rugby nation has managed to achieve these success in a calender year - SO RISE AND ENJOY - Our cricket team is number one in the world - and about to pummle the Pomms - We just need to get Bafana Bafana back to winning ways - and then we can give the rest of the world the proverbial middle finger - Not bad for a tiny country at the bottom of Africa !!!
Ludwig11/16/2009 7:35 PM
I hope we take away his South African citizenship and refuse him entry into the country, for life. He can go to Zim and stare across the border. And if he gets too close we pelt him with something. The CIA should not get hold of this recording; they might deploy it at Quantanamo Bay. He got lost on his way to the Idols auditions.
Lou11/16/2009 7:30 PM
I don't think the anthem caused the loss but this rendition is terrible. It sounds like a drunk at a karaoke bar. Whose cousin is this dude to have been given this opportunity? I can think of dozens of other options; hell I would have fund raised a plane ticket to get someone else there. We might have a sense of humour about the fact that he cocked up the anthem but for a professional he has acted like a complete plonker. Ras Dumisani should consider a career change. Maybe exorcisms because he seems to speak the other side.
Estelle11/16/2009 7:26 PM
At last people are waking up to a sense of national pride!! Question 1: How many S Africans can in fact sing the whole anthem? Question 2: How many "loyal" fans happily fly the flag upside down, thereby conceding surrender? (The one fan in the video footage even has the flag upside down on his face.) I don't blame the French for being confused ... In footage of every sport (boxing, cricket, you name it) at least one fan flies the flag upside down
Stefan11/16/2009 7:14 PM
I have just seen the clip. WTF??? I dread to see whats going to happen at the Football world cup. Hier kom groot K@K manne!
@WTF11/16/2009 7:11 PM
Sure you stupid p****k but we don’t get paid to sing the anthem at a stadium before a test. Wakeup you little s***ty brains and try to realize some of us do actually care about the anthem but you most properly still hangs on to the old flag and anthem. I know the new anthem.
Greg11/16/2009 7:06 PM
The stock pic of the flag attached to this very article is picturing it upside down. Well done News 24 - you are as good as the French!
FiascoFries11/16/2009 7:06 PM
The only singer provided to the French sang poorly, it's a French plot! The same sound system used by the guy who sang the French anthem, was poorly set up for Dumisani, it's a French plot! The flag flew the other way, it's a French plot! The French are masterminds, not too long ago Bush and Cheney were so convinced of it that all of America took it up against the French, even renaming French Fries to Freedom Fries. It's always the French who are behind everything. They're just so brilliant at masterminding and scheming and plotting, man are they good at that!
Rasdaman11/16/2009 6:51 PM
Twee vrae. 1)Kan jy pale toe skop ? 2) Wat doen jy die naweek ? 1 of meer JA's ? Kontak (divsnore@sarfu.ha.ha)
WTF11/16/2009 6:27 PM
how many people in SA can say with absolute conviction they know and can pronounce every single word of the anthem. Get the hell over it and lets move on damn....
ashamed11/16/2009 6:20 PM
What an embarrassment!!! Just when you think the world cant respect us any less, this moron comes out from under some rock and sets a new standard. What a shame, RSA is a joke, and nobody seems to care at all. Unproudly South African.
salim11/16/2009 6:18 PM
as usual government departments always passing the blame to sumone else they can never take the blame it just shows how interested they are in the country for me the embassy is lying they knew more singers but the guy that advised it was making bucks with the singer and thats where the problems lay another aa apointee and the blunder they create
Ipie11/16/2009 6:01 PM
Shorts, there is not a large contingent of South Africans at the Paris Embassy. That is part of the problem. To save costs, most of the people at the Embassy are in fact French. As a result, the Embassy has lost touch with the expat community and doesn't know that they have one of the finest South African musicians right under their noses.
Doug11/16/2009 6:00 PM
To be fair, anyone who has tried to sing with amplification and incorrectly set up monitor speakers would have to agree that it is nearly impossible to do. I wouldn't say he is a bad singer from his performance to be quite honest, but inexperienced in working in that sort of environment certainly. The performance was horrible, but I doubt if one could read to much into his singing ability from that, the pitch was clearly way too high, a fifth down and he might have sounded at least passable.
Georgie11/16/2009 5:59 PM
To be honest I know parts of the Anthem and flag and stuff I find just as reverse racism. I have been discrementad upon ever since this came in place. The embassy surely was suppose to play a role but are probably manned by unfit people for the sake of afirmative action. Then somehow this fiasco made me anyway feel united as a South African. Still dont what was the worst the ref, the anthem or the boks. Next France plays here we play Waterloo
Simon Says11/16/2009 5:49 PM
Simon says flying the flag upside down is a distress signal. Surely with the way South Africa is being run at the present time the flag was flown correctly!!!
beebee11/16/2009 5:46 PM
Even my white friends thought that this was really funny and left it there.
Lilian11/16/2009 5:45 PM
The French know that South Africans always use this race card so they decided to use the Ras card!!!!!!!
YOU IDIOTS DON'T GET IT...11/16/2009 5:43 PM
Eish! It is far more shameful to have 50 000 South Africans stuffing up the anthem (or rather only knowing certain sections of it) than having one ex-pat stuff it up on foreign soil. How PATHETIC does this nation not look when on HOME SOIL huge sections of OUR partisan crowd don't have a clue.....And why is no FUSS made of that???????
Bennnn11/16/2009 5:41 PM
How can anyone blame the French Rugby Union not to be South African Idol's jury?
Cazzie11/16/2009 5:29 PM
I reckon the French are chipped off with us for cancelling that airbus order.
Capetonian11/16/2009 5:23 PM
We finally have a bigger plonker than Joost now. Now Joost can hopefully get on with his life.
ndlovu11/16/2009 5:23 PM
IAN, you Dumbo!!! Not only are you unpatriotic but uninformed. There is a correct way to fly a flag. In fact our flag should be flown differently when in the vertical position. Check you facts before commenting!! Stop the racial comments people!!!!!!!
Shorts11/16/2009 5:19 PM
One wonders as to how many of the large contingent of South Africans working for the SA Embassy in Paris ( or being paid by the SA Government just to be physically in France ) actually paid the normal spectator price to watch the rugby game itself ??? My guess is that it was so few, if any, that this entire fiasco actually means nothing at all to them. I guess we will never know - State secret ?????
chuck11/16/2009 5:18 PM
...maybe Ras Dumisani had a few puffs of that green stuff before he tried to sing/shout the national anthem... ..he wasn't very successful... ..he he he he..!!!.
Jimmy11/16/2009 5:16 PM
The Embassy could have located someone from London or even one of the Paris Embassy staff to do a better job than the rasta man. The band without the singer was also a good option. I didn't find it funny. It was sad and the guy who sang the French anthem was superb which made us look even more third rate. Our players were more embarassed than amused.
Thandile11/16/2009 5:15 PM
Maybe an indication of the direction the country is going .......... down the drain ?
Simon11/16/2009 5:11 PM
I fail to see how this is the embassy's fault. Surely the singer must have performed with the band beforehand to make sure he knew they key etc in which he was going to sing? This problem was caused by the French no matter how you look at it.
deirdre11/16/2009 5:10 PM
Yes also wondering when Malema will say something.... but knowing him he probably liked the dude's singing...How can the embassy recomend someone that they have not heard of to represent us as a nation? Bad ..bad
Marius11/16/2009 5:09 PM
Blaming the sound system? The guy singing the French anthem used the same system. Why didn't he sound k@k ?
kevin81811/16/2009 5:03 PM
Surely the embassy had access to other musicians names. If I am not mistaken Johnny Clegg now lives in France or was there an affirmative acion requirement.
Francois11/16/2009 4:57 PM
People who don't support rugby or at leats have a bit of patriotism towards SA won't understand the gravity of the situation (and of this pathetic "singer's" mess up of the national anthem)! The people who organised him to sing at the test should be fired (from whatever institution they represent) as this is unacceptable. A rugby test can easily be compared to "war with another nation" which means that it carries a lot of pride and should be rendered in as very powerful manner as possible. Pathetic is all that can be said about the comments about this incident being funny! You're obviously not very patriotic...
Ipie11/16/2009 4:55 PM
Sam Tshabalala lives in Paris. In fact, for the Embassy to say that they only had one name of a South African singer in France is surprising given that Sam has performed Nkosi Sikeleli at Embassy functions in the past.
SandMan11/16/2009 4:52 PM
With all the parties going at it again and claiming this and wanting that.....Where is our "National Spokesman" Mr Malema now...Just wondering as he will always have something to say. Man it was HORRIBLE in one word... and to qoute a TRUELY AFRIKAANS word...Dit was.... K*K!!!
ProudlySA11/16/2009 4:51 PM
The principle stays the same, if I ask you to recommend a good restuarant, then you will surely recommend one of the top and best ones in town, so why didnt the embassy check their facts? Secondly the French Rugby Union allowed this to happened, surely when they auditioned or practice someone would have noticed this fiasko. I also blame the union to sabotage this against the Boks.
PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN - ALWAYS.11/16/2009 4:51 PM
Half of the people whinging about the shoddy singing of our anthem don't know the words themselves....most start singing it only from "uit die blou van onse hemel"......So this sudden wave of protest for how Nkosi was butchered is quite amusing...They butcher it at every international played here in SA by only singing certain segments of it....ironic....
ian11/16/2009 4:49 PM
Is there really a right or wrong way to fly what essentially looks like a piece of teacloth?
erich Viedge11/16/2009 4:45 PM
For the record: it's actually impossible to sing if you can't hear yourself. I've been on stage with bad sound, and it's pretty close to hell. That's why you see singers sometimes blocking their ears -- it's the only way they can hear their own voices. Full disclosure: I didn't see the performance in question, so have no comment about that.
wayne11/16/2009 4:45 PM
HA HA HA. He looked like Peter DV 's brother.
Jakes11/16/2009 4:43 PM
Well said Interested, well said. Now that we can't blame it on apartheid or racism, it is the French that needs to take the blame.Come on SA Ambassador, yes you with the big house, fat cheque, lots of hoolah and sitting around there in Paris, this is your responsibility, you are our representative in that country, start doing your job, that is why you are there. Eish, leave the Eiffel tower and the sightseeing for the tourists.
Pleb11/16/2009 4:43 PM
A good example of what south africans are really like
Judge Dread11/16/2009 4:42 PM
Shift the blame. Imagine you had a job where it didnt really matter how you performed but you still receive a salary.Im talking about the SA embaasy and government in general. They dont think ONE step further. Imagine the only SA singer they could track in Paris was some rightwing despot and he loses it in front of the whole world cause " oh we didnt know he was a AWB idiot that couldnt sing" When the French okes asked for a recommendation, they expected the SA embassy to recommend someone talented enough to know and be able to sing the anthem properly. Can you imagine just how many talented SA singers were in Paris this week? Our government is continously embarressing us in front of the world. Pride ? phaaa !
Jabulani11/16/2009 4:42 PM
Is this caracter related to Malema ? They have so much in commen. I bet Malema also don't know the words of the anthem.
Batman11/16/2009 4:41 PM
Now this guy is blaming the sound system for his bad performance... As far as I know, it was the same sound system for everybody... Looking at his performance, I don't think he is such a VIP as to get his own independant sound system installed just for him... :) The embassy is just like any other gov department... not doing its job or at least just giving the strict minimum. I read in another article that the embassy also said it is the organizer's responsibility to ensure that the lyrics are the good one and properly sung. Now I am asking you.... how on earth would a french organizer acertain that the lyrics in Zulu, Suthu and Afrikaans are the good one when he can barelly spit a few words in English ??? Clever...
AA11/16/2009 4:40 PM
I think the embassy officials were too lazy to find more names or go out and actually hear what the guy sounded like. They most probably drive fancy cars all day and do nothing else, our ANC diplomats. If you ever touched an AK at some stage in your life you are eligible to become a well paid minesta/diplomat/BEE loafer that has to do zip all day.
Sing?11/16/2009 4:39 PM
What is the fuss about? Dumisani didn't sing at all? You can't call what he did singing!!!. His vocal performance just complimented the BOK's professional performance on the night.
Lilian11/16/2009 4:38 PM
Has nobody in the country any sense of humour. That anthem was hilarious and the faces of the players was priceless!!!!! Can't we just see the funny side of this whole saga and laugh? I haven't laughed so much in a long time.
Dumisani Magwaza11/16/2009 4:38 PM
very funny .... this dude is funny ....
Shark Bone11/16/2009 4:32 PM
Surely this guy should have rehearsed the Anthem.I'm not sure how important it is to hear yourself.Only if this happened in the rest of Africa,this guy would have been hanged.I remember one pilot from either Congo or any other African country earlier this year almost ran out of fuel flying Deputy Pres Motlante.
AA11/16/2009 4:32 PM
I don't like the YCLSA, but their comments are really funny and actually spot on. The guy should check for cracked tiles in his shower, maybe even they break when they hear him sing.
da da dalema11/16/2009 4:28 PM
YCSLA has taken over the mouth piece from malema probably because the little racist does not like rugby.
Interested11/16/2009 4:28 PM
Perhaps South Africa should get its own house in order before criticising others! During the Confederations Cup the Australian flag was displayed on the M1 near the Buccleuch interchange instead of the New Zealand one! Why didn't the embassy check out the singer before giving the name to the French? If they didn't know if he could sing well or not they should not have provided the name. The embassy is to blame for this. Typical SA government, blame the rest of the world for their own shortcomings.
Mordaunt11/16/2009 4:27 PM
The SA embassy should take full responsibility for the anthem fiasco! The French Rugby Union simply had no choice given the fact that ONE name was suggested/provided by the embassy.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Introducing Bokkie

Dale Steyn's jaw-dropping spell

Varsity Cup - Ikeys v Pukke

Featured Blog

Nary a ball had been kicked in anger in the Super 14, but years of woe haven't dampened Huge Dude's spirit. 'This is their year', he says, the year when the Lions will go forth and conquer, and crush all foes beneath them to a bloody pulp! Take note, fair-weather fans, we have a true supporter in our midst!

Latest blogs

Bulls looking a tad pale? 2/9/2010 3:32:15 PM

Buy World cup tickets!!! The world is laughing... 2/9/2010 3:26:16 PM

Brilliant win! 2/9/2010 2:51:16 PM

Vote

The main reason for the Boks' woeful end of year tour was:

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide