Boks on Tour

Boks crash at Croke Park

2009-11-28 18:27
Email | Print
Another defeat (File)

Dublin - Six Nations Grand Slam champions Ireland ended their year on a suitably high note on Saturday with a commendable 15-10 victory over world and Tri-Nations champions South Africa for their third successive home win over the visitors.

Ireland's young flyhalf Jonathan Sexton - preferred to 93-times capped Ronan O'Gara - kicked all their points while Schalk Burger got the only try of the match for the Springboks, who ended their long season on a low note with just one win in five matches on their northern hemisphere tour.

The opening few minutes saw more action than both England and Argentina managed in a whole match a fortnight ago as a knocked on ball from a promising move by Ireland's back division ended up with Morne Steyn missing a drop goal.

A few minutes later and some of the bitterness left over from the Lions tour of South Africa spilled over with fullback and man of the match Robert Kearney getting involved with Heinrich Brussow.

South Africa had all the early pressure but a mistake in midfield led to Ireland being given a penalty in the 10th minute and Sexton converted it to give the hosts the lead.

The Springboks bounced back and Burger burst through to possibly become the least welcome try scorer at Croke Park - as it was his gouging of Irish wing Luke Fitzgerald in the first Lions Test that earned him an eight week ban - and he exacerbated his unpopularity by kicking the ball into the stand earning himself a round booing by the normally genteel crowd.

Steyn converted to make it 7-3.

The Irish were not helped by the fact centre Paddy Wallace was forced to play on for five minutes when he was patently injured and his replacement Gordon D'Arcy was waiting on the sidelines but referee Nigel Owens allowed play to carry on which resulted in Steyn landing a drop goal.

Sexton reduced the deficit to four points in the 30th minute with a penalty that crept in at the far post but it was no more than the hosts deserved after a sustained bit of pressure.

Irish wing Tommy Bowe was fortunate to get away without conceding a penalty try when the Boks launched a fluent back move and he brought down Jaque Fourie, who was running onto the ball.

Steyn then missed two penalties shortly before half-time and one just after the break when South Africa had to replace Zimbabwean-born prop Tendai Mtawarira, who was playing despite the Sports Ministry saying he wasn't eligible as he is not nationalised yet.

Sexton showed admirable coolness when he landed a penalty from just inside the Springbok half in the 48th minute after Steyn was penalised for a high tackle on Brian O'Driscoll.

Sexton then put Ireland into the lead with 30 minutes remaining with a beautifully converted penalty from wide out on the right after lock Andries Bekker had been penalised for putting his knee into the back of flanker Wallace.

The Irish had their tails up but some sustained pressure didn't yield a try and Sexton then missed a kickable penalty on the hour mark leaving the Springboks only two points behind, though, Steyn's mediocre afternoon came to an end as he was replaced by Ruan Pienaar.

The South Africans were clearly rattled nevertheless and a scintillating move by the Irish saw Keith Earls almost regather his kick ahead into the try zone and the normally placid scrumhalf Fourie du Preez reacted by shoving him petulantly away.

Sexton returned to form by putting Ireland 15-10 up with 14 minutes remaining as Victor Matfield was penalised and to cries of 'hurry up' the Leinster man landed the three points.

Pienaar had the chance to bring it back to two points difference but his penalty came back off the right post and Ireland cleared the ball into touch.

Sexton had a glorious chance to give the Irish an eight point cushion five minutes from time but he failed to connect properly and sent it wide of the posts.

Scorers:

Ireland:
Penalties: Jonathan Sexton (5)

South Africa:
Try: Schalk Burger
Drop goal: Morne Steyn
Conversion: Steyn

Your Comments

tim horgan12/1/2009 1:30 PM
Please, Could someone explain what one of the Irish players meant after the game when he referred to " South African Ladyboys"- does it mean they all come from Ladysmith?
leon11/30/2009 3:29 PM
Am I the only one that thinks the bokke lost because they looked demotivated. Again the only players worth mentioning is again brussow and John smith. Zane kurstner is useless.
Rob11/30/2009 1:22 PM
@Shawn, yea...you`re darn right buddy, the spectators, fans, call us what you will, are just an irritation to the powers that be, after all, we are refered to as "Bums on seats" that says it all.
Bokkie11/30/2009 12:18 PM
I sincerely hope the bokke and pdv read the comments posted here and that some good will come of it ...well done Ireland, you played well and deserve this win!
REALIST11/30/2009 8:42 AM
JimB 11/28/2009 6:38 PM HOW CAN PIETERSON DO ANYTHING IF THE ABSOLUTE SHIT FLYHALF AND CENTRE OF THE BULLS DO NOT KNOW HOW TO PASS A BALL AND PIETERSON AND HABANA NEVER SAW THE BALL ON THE WING. WE HAVE THE WORST FLYHAF AND CENTRE PAIRING IN THE WORLD AT THE MOMENT KNOW THAT JEAN DE VILLIERS IS GONE. MORNE STEYN HAS EVEN PROVED THAT IF IS PACK IS GOING FORWARD THAT HE IS CRAP.
francoisct11/29/2009 2:48 PM
The signs were there all year.Let's be brutally honest we only beat the lions by some miracle and their injuries.They totally outplayed us in each game and yesterday we only managed 30% possesion.We are now the 5th best nation in the world.The players should have shown the irish guys some respect after the game instead of storming down the tunnel which only made it more sweet for them
DontThinkJustWonder11/29/2009 1:49 PM
In Brazil they fire the World Cup-winning soccer coach if the team doesn't win playing beautiful football. We SHOULD have the same view for rugby. We have the same "unfair" abundance of playing numbers, talent, good weather etc. Hypothetical question. Say you mixed up all the jerseys and you didn't know which country you were watching. Would ANYONE support the Boks based on the way they play? And not just in the game against Ireland (compare that game to the AB vs France, or even Oz vs Wales). We've played terrible - though sometimes winning - rugby since Mallet was fired. Let's get some BRAINS to our rugger. Ashamed Saffer.
Sean11/29/2009 12:49 PM
I was at the game and it has to be said that the Boks have been up against it since they arrived in Dublin. They have hardly been given a friendly welcome and the conditions at Croke Park were awful. I have lived in Dublin for over 2 years and have never seen fog like that.. we couldn't even make out what was happening at the end of the game without looking the big screen!! All in all, it has been a great year for the Boks.. the gloss has been well and truely taken off the year, but when we look back at 2009 we should be proud of what the team achieved!!!
Clive11/29/2009 11:17 AM
I don't know if anyone else has made this point, but surely Smit and Steyn should have realised between them that there was no way Morne was going to get kicks over from nearly 50m out on a cold, damp day at sea level. But then again the lineouts weren't exactly kosher were they? I thought the ref had a relatively good game, but the TJs were again of little help, sticking their flags out for silly things, and missing other incidents they should have reacted to. The bottom line is Ireland outplayed us, especially in the second half; you can't win a game if you can't get out of your own half. As a long-time John Smit fan, it grieves me to say: you've had a great innings, John, but it's time to hand over the reigns to the next generation.
Cliff Bradley11/29/2009 10:32 AM
SA In Ireland- Better You Stay In Ireland - You D/Head- What Was Wrong With Burgers Attitude- They Booed Him First After A Brilliant Piece Of Play - He Should Have Kicked Some Irish Heads Rather
lindz11/29/2009 10:19 AM
Isnt it strange that we won all the trophies and when we are winning nobody says anything bad now all of a sudden the coach captain and team are no good enough,as a bok supporter we should support our team no matter what, just whatch we will come back next year and i hope all of you who are so negative will eat your words.John Smit is the best captain we have ever had so i will always say my blood is green no matter what GO BOKKE I STILL LOVE YOU GUYS
RugbyPolitician11/29/2009 10:14 AM
OK. yesterday I was to emotional and angry to comment online. I slept on it. So now in a calmer tone of anger I would just like to say ... &*%&(%&*(%($&^!!!!!!! Ugh, how frustrating to watch the most arrogant team/coach in the world... Hearts and minds people. The world hates us once again, not for our politics, but for our arrogance. We don't show respect and therefore cannot expect respect of our opponents. Kicking away possession then watching the opponent backline run at us time and again was like watching the world swingball beach bat-n-ball on a string tournament over and over again. Pointless. What a disappointing end to an awesome year of rugby. We want somebody's head (I don't care who's, but if there is a snor attached to it i'll be happy) and we want it before 2010. Full stop.
Al11/29/2009 10:09 AM
The Kiwis won 39 -12 we lost to the same team....see the problem.Its a job, rugby is a job.So if I get tired at work and dont preform what happens to me..Tired,fatigue ...more like slow and old...We were lucky we only had two strong teams what happend if we played Wales and England aswell...even the Pumas...
Shawn11/29/2009 10:01 AM
The players that were out of form before this tour remain out of form, a tour will not change that, Ruan should not have been there, along with a couple of other Sharks like AD Jacobs. Never thought I would say this, but we missed Jaan De Villiers and "Solo" Steyn, badly. IRB has to do something with the reff's they are poor at this point, Northern hemisphere clowns are the worst, with Barnes being the head of Goon squad. Either I have lost my ability to be in partial or we are being targeted. I am not referring to last nights game only I am referring to the year as a whole, we simply could not do much right. We dont always want to blame the reff's but they have the greatest impact on the game, more than any team, player or coach. As we saw with the game between the all blacks and France, France were completely outplayed simply because the reff let the all blacks play the off side line and Richie was left to run riot. If Barnes was left to reff, the blackies would have lost, only God and Barnes himself knows what goes on in his head, cause he seems to make the rules as he goes, and see very selectively, France should never have won in New Zealand, the only game we lost in the tri nations, he was the reff, we get him again against France and we loose, Somewhere Paddy O Brian needs to wipe the Crap out of his eyes, and say wait a minute, and not only when it involves the All Blacks. The all blacks looked very impressive, but alot of that was to do with what the reff allowed. Having said all that the Boks played very badly, PDV’s lack of vision showed very badly, this expansive rugby his dreaming of in most commonly seen in the Northern Cape, and it does not work well, against top teams. This is a professional game in a professional era, Fatigue is crock of crap as far as I am concerned, the coaching staff should plan for that, cause it can be planned for, the problem we have is players are not there on merit, so when you rest players, you are not fielding the best second stringers or emerging players, You are fielding the players the politicians want to see and in their narrow minds the players they think the rest of the world want to see, while in reality the majority of the rest of the world, dont give a flying frog!, Having said that why are the views of the spectators not taken into consideration, after all we are the guys paying the prices at the gate, we are guys the sponsors are targeting, yet our views are un important? If I were running Rugby I would try to find some mechanism to be listening to my customers? Every other business in the world has to? What do you guys think?
Marius11/29/2009 9:30 AM
@Milder... Dankie tog daar is nog mense wat vir hul-self kan dink... EK STEM 100% SAAM JOU... Maak nie saak wat daar sal altyd verskoning wees... Kyk net wat hy die All Blacks met die French gedoen het, hul sou die Bokke 80punte gegee het, ja, ja ek weet die bokke is die span van die jaar maar dis die eerste keer in die geskiedenis dat dat die span van die jaar se afrigter nie afrigter van die jaar geword het nie so of jul wil erken 2008 en 2009 was maar nog steeds onder Jake White gespeel of nie...met die All Blacks en Aussies wat net kan beter en al reeds hul 37 spelers saam getrek het (klomp jong ouens) vir 2010 en 2011 gaan dit nag wees vir die res van die wereld!!! Ps: Kyk hoe baie swart spelers is daar by die Aussies en almal op meriete... Die ANC kan gaan leer hoe doen 'n mens dit, blikslater dis darem nou al 15 jaar later... Dit sal ook beter gaan as jul met jul koppe dink en nie met jul harte nie en erken hier's moeilikheid. Baie snaaks genoeg baie van jul het gese dis 'n baie goeie span wat PdV op die veld gestuur het en gedink jul gaan ver wen.. JUL WEET NET SO MIN SOOS JUL AFRIGTER WAT JUL NOU SO "GASS" GEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
dhumisani11/29/2009 9:25 AM
The only positve aspect of the game was the scumming of the Boks. BJ Botha is a must at thight head. John Smit and Bismark must compete for the hooker position, since J Smit is not a tight head. We also need Juan Smit, Piere Spies, J De Villiers and Francois Steyn. The policy regarding the selection of overseas players must seriously be reviewed....since we need our best players on the park if we want to dominate world rugby. My biggest concern is the depth of SA rugby....this is for sure a problem area since we lost all our mid week games. Why? Not enough preparation? Bad planning? Lack of quality players? Bad team selection? The list is endless and someone needs to investigate and come up with answers! Otherwise rugby in SA will not progress. We are in the professional area. Thanks people and enjoy the Sunday
Rob11/29/2009 9:20 AM
@Theo, the Irish can never feel better, they are one nation for whom psychoanalysis is of no use whatsoever.
Nic11/29/2009 9:19 AM
Yesterday...Matfield, the bearded passenger could not catch syphilis in a Vietnamese brothel! John Smit also has to shoulder some of the blame though. But what else does Matfield actually do on the field? Everyone is so blinded by his catching prowess that they forget to watch what he does the rest of the game...watch the game again and pay attention to all the loose mauls...he might as we be sitting on his arse moisturising his toes. He is one of those lazy old players that knows how to play the supporters (the dumb ones at least), he knows how to look busy without actually doing anything...someone needs to give him a snot klap to wake up or he should go.
Mark11/29/2009 9:18 AM
Does anybody know what the last penalty was for?
Daniel11/29/2009 9:04 AM
Ek kon nie glo wat gister gebeur het nie..Dis asof ons span en afrigters nie geworry het oor die toer nie.Div moet dit dalk begin oorweeg dat oorsese spelers weer vir Suid Afrika kan speel..............Ons mis Frans Steyn en Jean de Villiers ontsetend baie..Dalk moet hul begin ons bok span op merite begin kies dan sal ons wen.............................................................
Anti-bloubok11/29/2009 7:42 AM
Now if a springbok side was chosen it would have been a different ball game, time to get rid of the bloubokke, the captain and snor.
nigelowenshater11/29/2009 7:31 AM
I don't know how the touch judges saw the high tackle from Steyn and the knee from Bekker. They cannot even see that the lineout throws are not straight.
Blue Jake11/29/2009 7:15 AM
@@Tension 21h35. Sorry my mistake, you're right, I did miss quite a bit after haltime, It's because your mother didn't want to leave when I asked her to.
Skypig11/29/2009 6:28 AM
I am so sick and tired of the drivel being dished up by the P Div & Co, and some of the assholes on this forum! Fatigue...come on guys get real man! As other guys have said before, the AB's play just as much rugby as the boks - yet they still have enough in their tanks to klap the frogs in their own back yard! You're only as good as your last game, and let's be frank, our last FOUR games have been shockers! The boks are overpayed...overrated...and have over-inflated egos! The only time they'll be a force to be reckoned with, is when we get rid of the ridiculous coaching staff..yes...every one of them, and get some new young guns (players) in there such as Willem Alberts, etc...and please get rid of that lanky d*os Bekker. Smitty, I'm afraid the 'fat lady' has sung bro - go gracefully. Ruaan, go play golf mate, coz you ain't cut out for it at this level...
PATHETIC!!!!11/29/2009 5:41 AM
What a shocker!!! No imagination and no skill. Such good players, so poorly coached. What an absolute shame. We should really get a world class coach before the next RWC. If the up-and-under shit game plan doesn't work, we don't have anything else to fall back on. I can actually understand the AUS and NZL frustration during the Tri-Nations for the first time. Being on the loosing end and only equiped with a boring kick, chase and hope game plan is a bit pathetic for a world champion. Our game plan is even less exciting than soccer or golf where the poos blokes chase a ball whole day long. Div is killing our rugby and the supporters will simply stay away. I'm not going to pay R1000.00 to view this K@K.
richard11/29/2009 1:33 AM
Rest of the rugby world must think it is like taking candy from a baby. Moronic tactics that you can read like a book! Kick, chase oh damn...Kearney's caught it ... again. Oh never mind... let's try the kick again. I've heard of fatigue, but this is scraping the bottom of the barrel in terms of coach tactics. PdV has had his chance and taking over from Jakes White's winning formula, has seen ft to apply his wacky, wayward nonsense, which hasn't worked at all. Take a walk, boet and be a man! Please, God, don;t let this man take SA into the next RWC!
Irishman11/29/2009 12:36 AM
Always nice to beat the Boks (three times in a row in Dublin), you guys having had such a great season etc. The Irish view is that the Boks were just kicking away their possession to the likes Rob Carney who will counter attack effectively all day. You guys need to start playing some rugby again, god knows ye are well capable of it!..... Still doesn't make up for the Lions Tour however....which we threw away. Unfortunately we won't be at the soccer world cup because of a certain Mr Thierry Henri robbed us of that privilage.
Martin11/29/2009 12:21 AM
So the wheels of Sprinbok rugby are starting to come off. One win on the tour against Italy of all places, one othe giants of world rugby!
Leon11/28/2009 11:36 PM
@mike you are nothing more than a racist useless person, please leave the country and go back to bush were you belong with your 1970s mentality and attitude. Every major mistake was made by black or coloured players ? Does that include Morne Steyn who missed two penalties, Ruan Pienaar who missed a crucial penalty, Wynand, the gap will be left for BoD, Olivier, Danie, I am lazy and gave away a very critical knock-on 5 meters short of the line with 3 minutes on the clock, Russouw. The tactical kicking by all the players was useless. Nobody mentions that running injury CJ De Villiers played 2 minutes again before crying off like the little girl he is. Victor Matfield was completely anonymous he couldn't even catch the ball. To everybody that screamed and shouted at PdV for calling in JdV because your favourite meisiekind might not start at inside center. Well I hope you saw the difference between useless in WO and good in JdV, he was the only man to be able to around old slow couch BoD.
Milder11/28/2009 10:46 PM
Its funny how the ALL Black still wins and play DAM good rugby! They played the same amounts of games we did with friendlies as we were playing the Lions, then the super 14 and then Air New Zealand Cup. So please, this Tired BS excuse is getting old now! If Frans Steyn was on the picts I bet we would have won, not just todays match but the French one two! Get the right players and coach and no one in the world can beat us! But our game plan is as old and predictable as our coach and team is pathetic!
Matt Nel11/28/2009 10:19 PM
We cant win every game so for well played SA - Irish couldnt even break our defence. We have beaten the next best ranked teams in the world and played our hearts out this year so its been a hard long season for these guys. Dont be so short sighted to all those negative guys on this forum - look at where these guys have taken us and coach and give them the respect!
Flip11/28/2009 9:47 PM
@Priester, I must agree 100% with your viewpoint. We were klapped in November 2006 and today again in Dublin. Ek was daar met albei wedstryde. Ons het uiters swak gespeel manne. Truly too piss poor pathetic for words. It is time for young blood to start coming through, but the game at Wembley last Tuesday was also terrible. Hier kom groot K@K!
Pee-Jay11/28/2009 9:46 PM
Percy has been on the gravy plane far too long. Now it's John Smith's turn.
Mike11/28/2009 9:40 PM
Ag jeere man, against the French we did have not been able to follow the national anthem. Today they did not ble*ie sing, just played the music notes you know.And so that's why we did loose again. No rythym to play to you know.But we is still Team of the Year you know. See you again next year.Totsies, and merry christmas.
@tension11/28/2009 9:35 PM
@bluejake, why did'nt you switch your TV on again after halftime? - go switch it on, rewind and watch again in slowmotion, maybe you'll pick it up if daddy explains, you dimwit - or did you listen on Xhosa-radio ?
Pro bok11/28/2009 9:30 PM
My reaction after watching the match was basically 'Well done, Ireland" and (to myself) Thank goodness the tour is over; it was a bridge too far for a team that has been outstanding and which were never out of the game...but jaded they are and they need and have earned a rest period. Perhaps the powers that be have learnt a thing or two...one being that the Irish had really done their homework, thus our probs with the lineouts. Next that we must realise that all teams in the world are sussing us out and we need to do some new things that will keep our opponents off balance...and let's not throw out a guy like Steyn because of a couple of rough Saturdays. He must just work hard for the new season.The Springboks are the king pins of world rugby at present and therefore the targets for every other nation; we need to be fresh and prepared for the new season.
Andhesaid11/28/2009 9:18 PM
Plain and simply we lost this game mainly to a poor game plan and tactics and a few bad ref calls (for both sides) - tiredness and fatigue had 20% (if that) the game plan and tactics were shocking and 80% of the problem. PDV+Co's game tactics were the same it has been the whole year. Kick and chase,more kick and chase followed up with more kick and chase, oh!...and then we try and run through everyone...and when we saw that Rob Kearney and wingers were actually catching all those high balls and counter attacking and were not like the NZ or Aus back three who did fumble...guess what!! we still thought kick and chase and just hoping that Ireland would fumble or something ...The sooner the Boks and SA brains trust get it out of their heads that we cant always win games based just on physicality and the kick and chase. We need to have a better attacking backline. I want to see our centres cutting through the gain line a number of times in a game not just hoping for the intercept. I want to see the wings,fullback involved in a back line move. Im tired of seeing the forwards keeping most of the ball now. I know we didnt have Spies,Bakkies,Smith but lets face it in most of the top 6 rugby nations the forwards are pretty much even,all can scrum,maul,steal ball,tackle,good at the breakdown and all can raise there games when needed and with the training that the top teams have now days its the effectiveness of the backline that makes the difference.
Tony11/28/2009 9:16 PM
John has written his book. Time to hand over the cap. Mate, You are no longer a good hooker, Ireland took your line outs and at prop you are no good. Good before you make a complete ass of your self and the country. You have had your day, Time so retire with grace.
chameleon11/28/2009 9:10 PM
fatigue. we will need some young blood fo the next world cup. AND PLEASE, all those div haters, moet asseblief nie weer voorspelbaar gal-af gaan nie. if div gets suckered into foolish loyalty by those old players blowing smoke up his agterwereld, we might find ourselves with a fitness problem in 2011.
Verskonings, verskonings...11/28/2009 9:07 PM
'n Span is net so goed soos sy laaste game....!!! Verskonings, verskonings... Weet jul wat kry die die ouens vir 'n game? Met 'n bok kontak tussen R400 000-R800 000 met +/-R90 000 vir 'n wen en +/-R70 000 vir 'n verloor... So hou op om te se die mense is moeg!!!!!! Hoekom speel klomp van die bokke volgende naweek dan var die BABAS? Geld... Die mense se boude word ook vir hul afgevee, hul kry die beste behandeling, hotele ens. En roem!!!! (wat moet die gewone man op die straat se?) Die Noordelike H se seisoen het ook al lankal begin... Daar is niks gese toe die Britse Leeus in die einde van hul seisoen kom speel het in SA met die Bokke wat ook amper net begin het... Of jy noord of suid is daar is maar net so +/-2maande wat jy af het... So asb hou op HUIL en die speelers jammer kry.... DAAR IS NIE MEER TROTS IN DIE BOK SPAN NIE en net die manne wat gekies word kan dit verander.
Miked11/28/2009 8:59 PM
Our loss had nothing to do with tiredness it was purely a complete lack of BRAIN POWER. If the team is so tired why do we always kick and chase and then have to stop their attacks. If u must kick kick it out in their half, why, because we have the "best" line out players in the world!!!!!! Why do we not change the game plan when it is not working, should be half backs job the Generals on the field directing play. Today they were AWOL. There is a lot more to a fly half than kicking and even that was not there today.
charlie Brown11/28/2009 8:59 PM
Ernie, Retief and many of uor GOOD sportman have to work hard otherwise no food on the table. Stop paying the boks and managers so much money. You win you get paid, No win no pay.
Molefe11/28/2009 8:58 PM
@ Mike, First off, Ruaan Pienaar made more mistakes in the couple of minutes that he was on the field than even Bylkop Pietersen made the whole game long. What IS this dammed obsession with kickin away possesion when all that can save us is a try? Not to mention Matfield, Becker, Roesouw, Burger, Smit, De Villiers, Olivier..... The list goes on and on. I am not saying Pietersen played well! He was absolutely useless as usual! So, once again we see that John Smit is way past his sell by date. Because of his bad throwing we lost what is supposed to be our strength. The line outs. Then, when John Smit moved to Tight head we lost the only part of the game we domintated, the scrums. Rugby is a 15 man game. You cannot carry a "captain" who is useless at playing rugby, just fo rthe fact that he is supposed to be a leader! And then, as a Bulls supporter I will be the first to admit that the Bulls players cost us the game today. Morne had the worst game I have ever seen, he was only surpassed in mediocrisy by Ruaan Mr. Charge my Kicks down" Pienaar! . And that behind a pack that was moving forward for the whole of the first half? Danie Roesouw is too old and too slow, finished. The only Bulls player who did anything today was young Potgieter. But he was only on for 5 minutes before he was replaced by a D double 0 S who does not know if he is a Lock or a Winger! And that Knee on the Irish player in the ruck? I hope the twat gets banned for a year! JP Pitersen should be Drawn and Qautered for that clothes line! It is still only a handfull idiotic Sharks supporters who rate him as belonging in the Bok team. We have a massive black hole at center. With the three, yes three most over rated players in SA at centre. Schalk Burger did absolutely nothing today! Except for taking the place of a REAL rugby player. Locks should learn that they are FORWARDS! They have lost nothing out on the Wings! Untill they do we will keep loosing the loose balls, simply because there is just no support for the ball carrier!. To the Bokke... You embarrased your country today! Shame on You! You where worse than a bunch of old women! To the Irish, you where the best team on the field today! As much as that grates to admit
peter bull11/28/2009 8:53 PM
I wonder why we bother to write all this stuff! It makes no shakes at all! You guys all make valid statements[mostly[, but nothing will change!
harv11/28/2009 8:49 PM
Div, you're a fish out of water....please bugger off now. The players just have to put up with you for obvious reasons......
BA11/28/2009 8:46 PM
2 losses to club sides clearly indicates that your vision for the future is not the right vision Peter de Villiers!! You clearly don't know how to build a team for the future because your priority is to please those ANC skabengas. What's even worse is that you're screwing up the team that Jake built up as well. Slowly the rot starts to show up.....
RJ11/28/2009 8:45 PM
Ireland played well and deserved the win, South Africa played well for an exhausted team. It is high time that the various sports disciplines learn to listen to Prof. Tim Noakes. When the body can only give 60% and the player puts in 100% effort, you will still only reap a 60% result. Blaming the ref, the coach, the weather, the ball, the national anthem.....geesh, really, look at the real cause, let the body repair itself by easing off a tad and you will get better results, and realise that you cannot always win.
Jimbo78911/28/2009 8:40 PM
Well done Ireland - and France, and Saracens, and .... they all played SOOO well. Methinks my highschool team could also play well against the Boks. The world champions must now be about no. 6 in the world. But at least we are good at giving away possession, giving away penalties to ace kickers, and don't forget - scrumming backwards.
surprised?11/28/2009 8:39 PM
These are signs of a team that's gatvol of their coach.....that's why it's confidential who you vote for on election day Mr. PDiv!!! Because (believe it or not) most of your Springbok team doesn't share the same enthusiasm about the party you vote for. The signs are there of the team becoming more and more despondent as time goes by. How can a player that's in the team on merit have any respect for a coach that's there because of his political masters? This is what's happening!! Should have kept your hairy beak shut coach!!! PDiv, please do SA rugby a favour and step down.....we don't need SA rugby to go down the same road as our athletics.
Paddyspanishman11/28/2009 8:39 PM
Has anyone seen my maatjie PdV supporter 2, he seems to be missing, he's usually very quick to stick up for Div and criticise those who slag him, but here, where every second post is a borderline-racist attack on said PdV, he's nowhere to be found.... I'm worried, if you can see this message PdV supporter 2, please let us know your alright. Also good game, no niggle(well not much) and some good rugby, conditions considered.
phases11/28/2009 8:37 PM
my mistake. i meant running back instead of quarterback in terms of getting rush yards. examples being people like Walter Payton, Jim Brown, Emmitt Smith etc...
SA In Ireland11/28/2009 8:37 PM
Well I was at the game and I'm from SA. Horrible attitude by Burger after the try. The Irish attitude is spot on. All I read is excuses from my fellow country men but lets just say we where beaten by a team who ran at us at every opportunity and turned us over. SA are still a great side but well done the Irish................
rooies11/28/2009 8:36 PM
julle het nou vir my gelyk soos" gorrillas in the mist" stadig onbeweeglik en kon duidelik nie afstand pale toe skat nie. wat gaan aan dat almal nou skielik n snor wil he wat in die springbok span is, julle het tyd om aan sulke k@k te werk in plaas van julle spel.
Jimbo78911/28/2009 8:33 PM
What's John Smit doing at Prop ? What was Frans Steyn doing at Flyhalf, Centre, Wing and Fullback - why didn't he play hooker ? What was Ruan Pienaar doing at Flyhalf, Centre, Wing and Fullback - why didn't he play hooker ? Is Ruan the next to play overseas ? For stu**fs sake guys, let the guys do what they are trained to do !!!
Confused11/28/2009 8:32 PM
Okay, I kinda partially semi understand how coloured South Africans cheered on NZ against the Boks in the 1990's, but why were so many Afrikaners routing for the Irish? Why does the rugby public in general hate the coach, captain and everyone else? The same squad that won the tri-nations and beat the Lions. Did I miss something??
JP11/28/2009 8:29 PM
I have realised that Morne Steyn's "golden boot" is actually gold plated.
JP11/28/2009 8:26 PM
This kicking game is irritating me, are we playing soccer or what?? I think the IRB should do something about the excessive use of the boot in the game, the ELVs were there to promote more running rugby, but now its only up and unders and waiting for the opposition to make a mistake. My suggestion would be to adjust the point system. Try = 6 Points Conversion = 1 Point Drop goal 2 Points Penalty 3 Points This will ensure teams will run more with the ball in hand instead of kicking up and unders like the boks and bulls.
Frans11/28/2009 8:22 PM
Jakes White's sucesses is comming to a end.
SA Guy11/28/2009 8:10 PM
Congrats to Ireland, you truly deserved to win.
phases11/28/2009 8:05 PM
well done Irish. One other thing that became very clear on this tour is that RSA needs to work on ball retention going through the phases. sort of like in American football. you get your full-back or quarter-backs to rush for 10 yards and you keep your 1st down, ortherwise you keep on losing downs until you have to put up kick for distance or poles on the 4th down. If can keep on rushing for 10 yards (9 metres) until you are in striking distance, great, and then you go for the touch-down score with a set-play. RSA was unable to do something similar, because they kept getting turned-over.
GG11/28/2009 8:05 PM
In all honesty, the Irish completely outplayed SA and deserved their win. It is extremely difficult to go and play a fresh, determined and fired up team on their home turf at the end of the year and expect to cruise to victory. Even with our mediocre performance though, we almost beat them. Bob said that we were doing what the Italians did the week before and i agree with him. We gave away so much possession with pointless and aimless kicks, but when we did attack and counterattack with the ball in hand we looked pretty good. What a pity. Also, Div has to do something about discipline as that is what probably hammered the final nail into the coffin, like that absolutely pointless kneeing by Bekker. It is sad that the majority of Saffas will now start calling the year a disaster and that Div should be fired, but such is the nature of the average bok supporter. Even though it was a terrible tour, the Boks and SA rugby have still achieved so much this year, so one shoddy end of year tour will not make me stop supporting them.
brian white11/28/2009 7:55 PM
how can you expect to win a game if you keep giving the opposition the ball
Michael11/28/2009 7:55 PM
The Boks front line players are overplayed. The coaching staff should see that. Noaks did predict that the bulk of the team are overplayed. Now I see panic setting in and the wrong players will be dropped. These guys are overtrained and overplayed. Give the Boks a 3 month break at least.
big deal11/28/2009 7:53 PM
Irish won. Good for them. RSA lost tough. This loss was an excellent positive for RSA. It highlighted a couple of things RSA has to change or improve going forward. One area that became clear was the scrumming. When Smit was at hooker they did well for 50min until he went to tight-head. At least RSA now know what to do to fix the scrum. Move Smit to hooker. RSA backline doesn't have set plays that can create tries from 10 metres out. At at moment it's all kick, kick, kick, up-and-under recycle to forwards kick, hope for opponent's mistake kick and maybe run. If penalties or drop-goals are not happening, RSA struggles and will probably lose. Tri-Nations won, Lions tour won, now the work starts for preparing for the World Cup. Don't want to be like the All Blacks, win everything but the big one.
Knowall11/28/2009 7:50 PM
Honeymoon is OVER Pieter...what now?? I suggest you pick the best palyers for their positions and secondly..John Smit please retite now!! You'll make your name *&^%^^%$$# if you don't.Lastly,the Boks must learn to tackle again ............
booby11/28/2009 7:49 PM
Please get rid of Morne Steyn - he proved today that the only thing he can do is kick at poles -- or at least try.
Andries11/28/2009 7:43 PM
Go Bokke. (lol) Nou moet die Proteas net op hul kanon kry more! Wat 'n lekker naweek.
Bok se ma...11/28/2009 7:40 PM
Ha-ha-haaaa...ha-ha-ha-haaaaa...haaa-a-haaaa...haaa-ha-ha-haaa.... I love it!!!!!!!!
irisher11/28/2009 7:37 PM
Brilliant match! Ireland deserved this one. At last, some of the bigger nations - England, France, SA and Australia might start taking notice that smaller countries with small rugby populations can still play well. Ireland end undefeated for 2009 - the first time that a team has done so in the professional era. Credit to Kidney - he should be in the running for Coach of the Year. BOD had a quiet attacking game but was brilliant in defence particularly with that last tackle - he nearly knocked himself out again. He wanted revenge for the Lions tour - he got it. He should be playing for the Boks with his never say die attitude. Hard luck to the Boks - they played well - and were unlucky with Steyn's kicking who for once was very poor. I raise a pint in toast to our Bok friends. Slainte!!
Jan11/28/2009 7:36 PM
A new chapter is written in the history by the Bokke. The title: "Guidelines on how to embarrass your country and to spoil a perfect season just before Christmas." I am angry and dissapointed at the lot of them. Take their trophies and sell it to the scrap dealers!
IrishMan11/28/2009 7:33 PM
You have a super team. Maybe a bit fatigued though. Our coach on the other hand is pushing through a lot of young confidant players. For the last twenty years or so rugby is winning more and more kids that would previously have signed up for our more popular Gaelic games and that is starting to pay-off. Anyway at least for now you are still the greatest. Greetings from Ireland.
Blue Jake11/28/2009 7:33 PM
@@Tension. There were no scrums after Johan Smit moved to tighthead you dimwit.
SA is K_K!!!11/28/2009 7:31 PM
Nou waar is die manne wat gese het dis 'n baie goeie span!!! Nou kla en gee jul die PdV die skuld.... Jul was happy met die spelers wat gekies is... Klomp nat naaie!!!!!!!!!!!! Meeste van jul aape is seker Blou Bulle.... Mag die die begin van baie wees... sorry jul het al lankal begin verloor!!! Ja,ja ons weet jul het die world cup gewen.... get over it, dit was meer as 2 jaar terug. Jul maak dit so maklik vir almal om jul te wen dis nie eers meer 'n uitdagen nie!!! Maak jul reg vir klomp maer jare.....
jjd11/28/2009 7:27 PM
The Bokke just ain't good enough.... Congrats to the Irish.
Eugene11/28/2009 7:26 PM
Pi**Poor Performance is the best one can describe today.Team choice did not inspire confidence either and the scoreline reflected it.Well done Management et al....not! Mr Meyerwher are you?? Rant over!
ZION11/28/2009 7:22 PM
I predicted a Bok win with a 15pt difference. Now during all the autopsies we hear again about the referee being partial etc. Why dont we just accept the Irish are better than the Bokke. After all the hype we go out with a croak
Swak toer11/28/2009 7:18 PM
Geweeg aan die geskiedenis.Wat 'n k@k toer Mr Snorre
Steve11/28/2009 7:17 PM
There is only one thing to say to John Smith and the rest of the side who kicked and kicked without aim or reason: Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic, Pathetic. Well done Ireland, your kicks counted
Mike11/28/2009 7:17 PM
I am so tired of this quota BS!!!! Every signle MAJOR mistake today was made by a black or colored player! JP Should have been sent of again as he is so scared to tackle properly! Man lets just get the BEST players on the pitch and then we will beat any team anywhere!!! We played so well in the first 20 I was almost proud! Then, we went back and did nothing for 60 minutes and deserve to have lost this game! It has nothing to do with tiredness, just the wrong players with the wrong coach that has no idea about making subs at the right time! IDIOT!
VAT SO11/28/2009 7:12 PM
Ja julle verkrampte bliksems. Kry vir jou. Goed gedaan Ierland !!!!!!!!!!!
devilsadvocate11/28/2009 7:10 PM
I've said it before - we never seem to have a Plan B - today we didn't even have a Plan A! I think it is time the coach explains the aimless kicking and switching into defensive mode. You can not score without the ball. Somebody please tell PdV this fact of life!
Get used to loosing11/28/2009 7:04 PM
Get used to loosing!!! We cannot expect to win, even against teams we should walk-over, with the worlds worst coach and magagement team.
TRICOLOR11/28/2009 7:04 PM
Looks like the war fizzled out. How about some rationality next time around
Mac11/28/2009 7:01 PM
Aimless kicking and a poor game by Morne Steyn cost the boks the game. Still, a good season and a well deserved rest.
@Tension11/28/2009 6:58 PM
Well done Ireland - bad gameplan SA ! Who gave the orders for this ? PdV ? Anyway, none of the Bulls should've been overseas, they were the over-exposed players and you could see that they were not good on the tour. A bridge too far I suppose - The moment John went back to hooker with Bismarck on, our scrum was under pressure. Morné had a bad game and I think it will be unfair to blame him alone, but otherwise no one were that bad but not sharp - Ireland's passion were the difference
Haberbous11/28/2009 6:54 PM
Daai foto van Pieter de Villiers, Helium Kop!!!!
Darth Ran11/28/2009 6:50 PM
This is exactly what you get when the couch still rely on the "old" boks. The young blood are not getting enough game time. Piet Helium obviously did not think he could win another world with Jake White's team, did he? What a joke ... This year belonged to the Northern hemisphere - they really played with passion for their countries. Well done, BOD ... your revenge was SWEEEEET !
Adam11/28/2009 6:49 PM
The ref crushed our momentum by his lack of calls on a dodgy Irish side, but blew us at every opportunity. Saying that, Morne Steyn let us down horribly unfortunately and I guess we only have ourselves to blame.
marco11/28/2009 6:49 PM
the sprinboks are the laughing stock in world rugby.pieter de villiers in his interview with that british reporter before says ag ja its been long season and the guys are tired blah blah blah.why for the life of me have these end of the year tours if gonna you 4 out 5 games,the boks and management for doing that are pathetic to say the least.and to hear bbc comentators saying Ireland will definetly be the team of the year with o'driscoll as irb player of the all because of what happened today and two weeks ago in France.all the hard work winning the lions series and the tri-nations down the drain.and then to have this thing with "beast" matiwari 4 days before the france game is beyond me,that zane kichner has got no power in his legs and just got bump over by o'driscoll and when jean de villiers draws two men look how far back is jp petersen so jean can't make the pass to him that would have at least got us within 5 meters of the tryline.danie ressouw and andries bekker should never play for the boks again.how can you make the mistakes today as you did against france.no its 3 wins in a row for ireland against us.funny though is why haven't we played ireland in sa to get a win and some respectability back
sipho11/28/2009 6:48 PM
drop die coach!!!! sou dit al lankal gehoor het as heineke coach was dis nou wat jy kry as jy die bulle almal bokke maak en n parsjong vi coach! perdebek zane???hoekom is hy nou wee n bok? waars frans steyn as jy hom nodig het???
sc1pio11/28/2009 6:45 PM
Brian O'Driscoll deserves to be named player of the year after this performance and the whole year for that matter. Sorry Fourie du Preez. I was routing for you to get this award,but after this performance you really disappointed
Old Bok11/28/2009 6:43 PM
Your time is up PdV!!! Go ask your ANC budies who got you th job to give you a golden handshake, so that someone who knows what they are doing can take over!
Ashamed!11/28/2009 6:40 PM
to all you that will defend this performance and use the excuse of the amount of rugby played this year-dont give them excuses to ride on!! they get paid to play in their country's shirt so you put in a 100% performance each and every time! otherwise deduct pay for poor performance, PdV said he had plenty talent to choose from before going and he lost games shamefully with ALL his so called talent, watching the irish game its more like watching Roses United style play with backline play and not using nor protecting the ball with the forwards! PdV needs to go prove himself at super14 you cant inherit players that won a world cup and expect to praise the coach please we cant go to world cup with a coach that cant select players on a bench to impact a game or even to motivate cant remember one press conference where he actually backs his team cause its always about him. sad sad year my springbok jersey will be tucked away for the next few months dont want to get spat on! sis
mau11/28/2009 6:40 PM
I just can't understand why they keep on kicking even if they see its not working Ireland was using it to get back into our half...if you wan't to kick kick out !!! Plan B do we no more go back to a plan B if plan A fails ?
JimB11/28/2009 6:38 PM
To many mistakes. Nigel Owen has to be one of the worst referees in world rugby. Pietersen was again nowhere. No penetration from Kirchner - Schalk again gave away needless penalties. No fire, just an all round lame performance. We need a decent coach, we are going nowhere with the current one.
Priester11/28/2009 6:36 PM
Quite simple, we kept on kicking our possession away. Sure, try the upper but if they don’t work then keep the ball in hand. Too many kicks which were supposed to release the pressure resulted in pressure. You can’t play if you don’t have the ball. Steyn was just not up to it and we should stop relying on Steyn too much. Oppie Blou!!!
Hein 11/28/2009 6:35 PM
Ag shame it is so unreasonable to expect the Boks to play rugby in between their Christmas shopping. And as for the world;s "greatest" flyhalf from Loftus .... Ag Shame again
Theo11/28/2009 6:33 PM
Do you think the Irish feel better now?
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Introducing Bokkie

Dale Steyn's jaw-dropping spell

Varsity Cup - Ikeys v Pukke

Featured Blog

Nary a ball had been kicked in anger in the Super 14, but years of woe haven't dampened Huge Dude's spirit. 'This is their year', he says, the year when the Lions will go forth and conquer, and crush all foes beneath them to a bloody pulp! Take note, fair-weather fans, we have a true supporter in our midst!

Vote

The main reason for the Boks' woeful end of year tour was:

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide