Boks on Tour

Bok lineout vanishes in fog

2009-11-28 22:29
Email | Print
Bad day at the office (File)

Comment: Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer

Cape Town - It was far from the sole reason they lost, but an inexplicably bad day at the lineout office certainly contributed to South Africa’s 15-10 defeat to Ireland in Dublin on Saturday.

The disappointing result against the Six Nations champions, who look formidable and well-drilled indeed in their own murky habitat, mercifully closed an end-of-year tour which, overall, stripped more gloss than most of us would have liked from an otherwise excellent year.

Let it be said that, despite all their points coming from penalties off promising Jonathan Sexton’s boot, Ireland were good value for their triumph at Croke Park – no question, I think.

They have some world-class individuals in important positions, and this was confirmed by the likes of Rob Kearney, who was muscular, composed and dangerous at fullback, the customary midfield Midas who is Brian O’Driscoll, influential No 8 Jamie Heaslip and the adhesive firm of Messrs O’Connell and O’Callaghan in the second row.

The Irish, in a nutshell, were more up for it as a unit against brave but weary southern souls, bossing both ball and territory and showing a strong spine for coming back to dominate this one from a 10-3 deficit after some 25 minutes and four points in arrears at the break.

At least the Springboks showed the pride of world champions by very nearly burgling this reasonably engrossing match in a desperate late stand, but justice was pretty well served when the final whistle went.

Some aspects of the Boks’ first-half play were promising, with cool-headedness and sharp organisation a feature, along with a few promising hand-to-hand raids that produced a try for Schalk Burger, perhaps not everyone’s favourite player on the Emerald Isle.

And how about that transformed scrum, then? With BJ Botha very compelling at tighthead and John Smit providing a prop’s ballast back at hooker, there were times when South Africa brazenly trotted the Irish eight backwards.

All that, of course, was minus the services of lock powerhouse Bakkies Botha, who is apparently such an influence in giving the No 3 in front of him some crucial go-forward.

Instead the Boks were getting a fine shunt on with the supposedly incompatible lamp-posts Victor Matfield and Andries Bekker doing the second-row pushing: was it further proof that, sadly, the majority of South African set-piece problems previously lay with Smit’s transition to the “right shoulder” duty?

But if Bok scrummaging issues appear to be evolving slightly for the better, how infuriating and baffling that this was a match marked by the normally imperious lineout slipping into the sewer!

It is not even as though things got better in that department during the second half when Bismarck du Plessis was introduced off the bench and Smit moved back to prop. The former’s throw-in service was as unusually scratchy as Smit’s had been.

Not that all the blame should be lumped on the hookers – Ireland competed keenly and cleverly on the Bok throw and this was also a day when Matfield, so central to South African lineout and kick-off collection strategy, left his A-game behind in the dressing room and it rippled through the ranks.

It was ironic that some had felt, not without reason, the Boks might actually be better, not worse, in the aerial combat for Botha’s absence.

Instead, maybe some of his swift, secure takes at the front -- all the while using his strong thighs and buttocks on the leap to keep his pesky opposite number at bay – were missed more than had been anticipated. 

One or two other normally precise aspects of Springbok play also went rather AWOL in the stubborn fog: Morne Steyn was much more off-key than usual with his place-kicking and also fluffed an early dropped-goal sitter, by his standards.

Backline option-taking got progressively worse after a crisp enough start, and in general terms the exhausted tourists just became more and more predictable, ponderous and sterile until they mustered a semblance of second wind in the last five minutes.

Certainly South African rugby will enter 2010 with one or two alarm bells ringing around the national side, especially in terms of the longer-range sustainability prospects of a few veterans with the 2011 World Cup in mind.

But we must also not fall into the trap of being overly judgmental, after another of these sitting-duck northern ventures at the end of a strenuous season which only served to dim memories of really majestic exploits by the Boks at its mid-year peak.

Your Comments

L11/30/2009 1:59 PM
I'm sure Frans Steyn would have done better with the long range kicking. PdV has only his own stubbornness to blame...
Gavin11/30/2009 11:34 AM
Please go and watch Victor Matfield in a live game at a stadium. You only see him in action at lineouts. He loiters around in the backline for most of the game, and if involved, disrupts the quick flow of the ball or even worse drops it. Furthermore, his defense is very iffy!
Bulla11/30/2009 9:28 AM
...Victor Matfield for Captain...!! ...Johan Smit is way past his sell by date... ..and so is PdV...
gigtimes11/29/2009 10:33 PM
my 5 cents. Congradulations Ireland for winning. The team that wanted it more won. It would be sweeter if there hadent been all the crap talk before hand about war, mini world cup (my a$$), boks are bullies - and the BOD just opening his moaning mouth. If it was a mini world cup then tell me where ireland came in the last one.. or anyone for that matter? As far as the boks go - I have to agree - yes it has been a very good team (in spite of the coach sometimes). We REALLY missed Spies and Bakkies and someone who everyone has forgotten - JUAN SMITH. In my books it's so obvious - I would chose that man ahead of the over-inflated Bakkies any day. He's as hard as nails and it's he that we need back in the engine room first. However - it's the same old story isnt it. SA has lost to everyone except Italy (lol) and NZ have won everything. Lets drop ego here. That game against France was awesome rugby. Either the French gave up and made the AB's look brilliant or the were just brilliant. Sorry - but I have very rarely seen a Bok team play like that. In my books then - there is only one number one team on this planet. The one that has always been number one. The All Blacks. Forget the World cups. Just look at the stats. Against every nation they just continually and systematically hand out the wooden spoon with usually fantastic rugby. I say this as a true Bok supporter. Go Ab's for 2011 - you are long overdue. Amen!
asd11/29/2009 7:44 PM
Always excuses from SA when they lose up north about the cold or the rain or end of year crap. But when they play matches at altitude you never hear a word bout that being a unfair advantage!
Bokmad11/29/2009 4:02 PM
On the contrary, i think the bad line outs are easily explained. We were missing 2 thirds of what makes our line outs great, Spies and Botha. Add to that an opposition Forwards coach that knows the Boks game plan inside out and some pretty bad conditions. (I know - I was there......it was very cold and very foggy) It's not a surprise they didn't perform in the line outs. The Irish, they deserved to win, (Well done - you beat us at our own game)Smit was right we just weren't good enough. But I am very happy about how the bokshandled themselves in defense, It was a great defnsive effort. As for the IRB awards - as Hugh Bladen would say UNbelievable - Richie McCaw was the wrong choice, BOD would have been the wrong choice because of numerous cheeky infringments that he tries to get away with - not the actions of a legend, F Du Preez would be a better fit.
Fitzgerald11/29/2009 2:42 PM
The Irish were as usual underestimated. No recognition in world rugby for the fact they beat all before them in the six nations this year and managed a draw with Australia despite it being their very first game of the season, anihilated Fiji and beat the Boks. Even now not a single post acknowledges the Irish win, nothing here but excuses, the coach, the conditions, the weather, fatigue ands ifs buts and maybes.
machine11/29/2009 1:12 PM
Poor game plan. No plan B when game plan fails. Poor use of substitutes Lack of intensity. Steriotype rugby that opponents have now worked out - Nothing new to offer Not enough players play towards the ball Not enough players chasing kicks. Including Kicks at posts. More heed needs to be taken od Tim Nokes's input
Kaapenaar11/29/2009 12:54 PM
Jake's structures are vanishing. Now we (will) see the real Div Master Plan in action. I'm not judging the bloke. Let's see what happens from here.
sorry for you11/29/2009 11:31 AM
Sadly my concerns were vindicated. I'm not an idiot as I was led to believe by holier than thou minority on this forum.. Morne... shame boytjie.... 3 baddies in a row. Some R&R and maybe you are back.... but maybe not? Form can be a fickle mistress. Sorry for you
Capetonian11/29/2009 11:03 AM
Its been a long year and the battle weariness showed even more than ever yesterday. Well done Bokke and DiV for a hard fought and overall successful 2009. I just hopr and pray that not listening to Prof Noakes and Jake White (and STILL losing out on the year end tour ANYWAY) doesn't come back to bite us in 2010 and 2011.
Anti-bloubok11/29/2009 11:00 AM
Time to select touring teams that looks like springboks and not bloubokke.
Anti-bloubok11/29/2009 10:56 AM
Time to select touring teams that looks like springboks and not bloubokke.
Jakes11/29/2009 10:50 AM
Hogwash! Tired? It is all in the mind. Look at the All Blacks, they won everything at the end of the year, even France. The cracks of bad selection and training, no plan, (yesterday the Boks looked like Romania playing against Ireland), pathetic. They played the first 10 minutes (same as against France), and then nothing for the rest of the game.Come on, see the cracks in the wall and do somehing about it.
edwin11/29/2009 10:38 AM
It was proven again that Smit is not a prop. I also think Gert Small had something to do with the Irish reading the Bokke's line out calls. Lastly you cannot win a game if you do not have ball in hand. Too many meaningless kicks centre downfield giving away possession.
MegaBull11/29/2009 10:23 AM
Maak die Bulle almal Bokke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pieter11/29/2009 10:02 AM
If these are sitting duck venues for the Boks why could the Wallabies of all teams win their 2 mid-week games and the AB's win all of their tour matches? This is nonsense. Either our players are not up for it or they are too tired because they play too much rugby.
GOLFER11/29/2009 10:00 AM
Lets see now. Five played and the only side we managed to beat was lowly Itay? That means this was a disastrous tour even if Peter de Villiers thinks otherwise. Selections, selections.
Eduardo11/29/2009 9:43 AM
Um, correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe that the Boks played as many games as the ABs and the Aussies this year. Why is it that we pull the "players are tired card" time and again? Look at how fresh those other two teams were last night! This seemed to be the case in previous years too, but I have never read of Aus or NZ using the "tired" excuse. Please enlighten me. That said, I do believe the players play too many games.
Mike@CapeT11/29/2009 8:52 AM
Yes, this was a tour too far. The Boks certainly looked jaded and were outplayed in the motivation stakes. Well done Ireland - on the day, you were the better team!
peebo11/29/2009 8:52 AM
the current team contains too many bulls players and are playing as such.The bully-boy tactics fail once someone stands up to them,and they crumble.Matfield's contribution for the season is squat - he has a zero workrate and now fails in the line-outs where any average lineout player should secure ball.Ruan Pienaar way out of his depth - Wynand and Zane are 1 dimensional players with nothing better than average currie cup skills.The all blacks have played as many games as us this season and look at their performance against France - they not only adapt their game according to their opponents,but are still fresh and hungry.I would hate to have to see the Boks face the All Blacks right now,it would be a massacre.
devilsadvocate11/29/2009 8:50 AM
I've said it before: we don't seem to ever have a Plan B. Yesterday we did not even have a Plan A. I blame the coach for lack of game plan. The fog had nothing to do with it - Ireland also had to try and see the ball through the mist. Main problem is aimless kicking into midfield, or rather, into the hands of the opposition team, who then runs back at us and we have to tackle, tackle, tackle. Someone please tell the NOT IRB coach of the year that in rugby, one needs to have possession of the ball in order to score!
Gavin Fernie11/29/2009 8:21 AM
Why oh why does our coach bring on Bismarck when the front row is functioning so well?Was BJ injured, or was it another of the incredibly stupid substitutions our coach has a patent on? Why,when at half time it was patently obvious that Steyn, at his best a superb striker of the ball directed at the posts, but a very limited and unimaginative distributor of the ball, was oozing lack of confidence and ideas, did we not go for broke with Ruan Pienaar? Why, we almost burgled the game when he got the backline going, with of course, Jean de Villiers showing us that there is no substitute for proven class. Perhaps Frans Steyn's presence would also have made a big difference. Kirchner was solid but must learn to pass in a good position and not kick away possession. Forget the year end 'weariness.' Why is it that both the Wallabies and All Blacks, after one of the worst years both teams have had in a long while, and pretty much at the same disadvantage as us(I know that the Wallabies don't play a tough domestic schedule, but they have had an 'annus horribilis') played with purpose, fire and a structure? Are we not the world champions, Tri-Nations Champions and the hot team of the year? Do we just collapse overnight? There is a need to have a long hard look at our planning and player management for the next two years. We all know we can do little about the bent and pusillanimous fiddling behind the scenes. We will have to do what Hannibal did:' If there isn't a way to go over the mountain, we must find a way.'
Hendrik van Zyl11/29/2009 8:20 AM
Lack of focus. The Boks need a focus coach.
Mortymoose11/29/2009 8:02 AM
What did you expect from a Bok side that had only one Freestater in the Starting lineup, one Cheetah, and yet they played in the CC Final......
Ray11/29/2009 8:00 AM
Exhausted is the word and a rather silly way to end a fine season for our national team. Whose idea was it to send our guys to these murky shores to be embarrassed. Shame on our administrators they sit in their comfortable chairs and expect our team to just keep preforming. When there is a Lions tour this end of the year disaster just should not happen. My only criticism of the Boks was their insistence on kicking away possession but here I blame DeVilliers and his coaching team. Any who watched the NZ/France game would agree keeping the ball in hand is the way to go with modern rugby
robc11/29/2009 7:39 AM
Let's hope this puts paid to these senseless end-of-year overseas tours. The Boks went as heroes and come back as zeroes, purely because they were exhausted.
Seamus11/29/2009 7:29 AM
To my mind the only reason we lost was the fact that we kicked all possession away. The only time we played the way the game should be played was in the last minute or two. The rest of the time it was as if we didn't want the ball and tried to pass possession to the other side without delay! And they certainly knew what to do with it.
Duncan11/29/2009 7:23 AM
The boks certainly loved giving possession away yesterday. Almost every time a back received the ball it was kicked away. The up & unders were a joke. They never got any ball back from them. They certainly lost their way. Only with a few minutes left to go did they retain possession and this nearly got them a try. This is such a pattern in our rugby at the moment all the way down to our club teams. There was also very little taking the ball at pace, which meant when our big men were taking the ball, even they were pushed or tackled backwards. Retaining possession does not seem to be coached in S.A. at the moment. The opposition cannot score while they are starved of possession. Quite simple really!!!
chris11/29/2009 7:11 AM
did matfield play ,lost his position as world no1 lock,what position does he want to play, senter , wing or lock ,olivier not better then adi, missed some tackels, kichner great game at fullback,scrums much better til div changed .ref had some shockers at breakdowns .we are the only team thats not allowed to play on the ground.
Des11/29/2009 7:04 AM
Yes, we went north to earn some big bucks...but no, we did not do the Springbok brand any good at all. As usual, the bokke will return from a northern tour with everyone up there wondering how on earth we can be the world champs! The All Blacks and the Wallabies on the other hand, played like true champions, and it is probably true to say that the typical northern rugby supporter will rather spend his 100 quid on watching them play than watching the Springboks.....I am sorry to say this but we appear to be unaware of how bad these northern money-grabs are for the Springbok image. To my mind, we should rather not go up there with tired, poorly selected teams. Something else that worries me is that our forwards were totally outplayed on ALL the games played. Methinks this has a lot to do with coaching, what do you guys think? We still play like a bunch of butch individuals and European forwards, while smaller, work as units, doing the work that forwards are meant to do....to get the ball. When last did the Springboks get more than 50% of the ball? Surely this is a coaching issue?
Danny11/29/2009 7:00 AM
So were the All Blacks not tired after a long season and were the Aussies also just playing their first test of their season. The fact is the Boks were not exhausted, well no more than the All Blacks and Aussies, but mis-managed by poor selections,poor planning and a posible pig-headedness, that they coulsd arrive as World Champs and win.
John11/29/2009 6:54 AM
Now we must accept that Jake White's final finger print for success has now all but disappeared. The All Blacks play the same rugby as us, and thumped the French. The Boks took on the French when they had played their ( the French) first game of the Autumn season. The French were now 3 games to the better, than when they met the Boks and got a solid hiding. Now the total future of the Boks lies totally in the hands of PdV and from now on it is purely his plans that must be taken into account. If the Aussies and the All Blacks can play the rugby they play on the same N.Hemisphere tour that the Boks went on, then it comes down to poor management and not tired players, which reuslted in that we lost four games and two tests, and could only beat Italy..
johnnyboy11/29/2009 6:46 AM
This kicking game suits Ireland more than anyone because all their players have played gaelic football at a young age and can field a ball with ease, why do you think the garryown was invented in Ireland. But there is too much kicking in the game right now and it is too defencive as well.
DAVE 11/29/2009 6:44 AM
no more excuses for the bokke--look at the new zealand team and their fantastic win in france--to top it all they played 2 more tests than us during the year and got progressivly better--we went backwards. for years we have battled due to the lack of certain skills and the apparent lack of some rugby intelligence. our games are like a lotto draw--you will win some and lose some but for me its the way we win which is not always convincing and then the ay we lose. where to from here.
coachie11/29/2009 6:38 AM
My question is, what impact does a coach that publically decalres his support for a political party that is hell bent on doing away with the Springbok emblem have on the team in the long run? Surely it can't be healthy for the players to work under a coach that openly pledges his support for the ANC - the very party that's against the Springbok as an emblem for our rugby. I cannot believe that Div has the full support of the players when he makes reckless statements about voting for the ANC when most of the players see that party as a threat to the very goal they've worked for i.e. to be Springboks. To me the signs are there that the team is just having to put up with him but is losing their motivation to play under him.
Hein - Centurion11/29/2009 6:10 AM
Sorry Bokke, but I am still a Proud South African and a 'stoere' Springbok supporter. Enjoy the break and your families.
Problems!11/29/2009 5:38 AM
As expected the Irish did win. The sooner SA will accept that we are not as good as we think we are the better. The only reason why we had a “good” year is because the Lions were average and the AB’s started very slow and was without Dan Carter when the season started. Because the Boks were winning with the ugly kicking game all the other side’s thought that was the way to go. The AB’s used the ball against France and destroyed them. We kicked everything away and lost against France and Ireland. The S14 and Test teams will not kick as much in 2010 as they have done this year and therefore the overrated Boks and BBulls will be nowhere. Both teams don’t have depth and their suppose to be General at 10, Morne Steyn, is useless. The problem is that SA don’t have any no 10’s nearly in the Carter, Gateau or Wilkinson leaque.Although Kirchner didn’t do bad he offers nothing else except for catching the ball, run a few metres and kick it as high as possible back to the opposition. Typical BB rugby (re Johan Roets) Joe Pietersen would have been a much better option but we need Frans Steyn back. Habana and Pietersen (best available) didn’t do much wrong but do they look for work? Although Jaque Fourie/Olivier didn’t do badly we need Jean back. Morne Steyn is overrated and wasn’t even an average kicker the last few games. His defence is pathetic and his destitution even worse. If his forwards dominate then he can dominate with his feet but even then he cannot get his backline going. Look at Carter, Giteau and Wilko before you tell me I am wrong. He is slow and useless. The problem is who else? Fourie du Preez didn’t play that well on this tour but is still the best no 9 in the world although it looks if he might get a little bit “windgat?” Thanks John Smit but byebye.This guy IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH! If he was such a brilliant captain why didn’t he lift the guys against France and Ireland? Why didn’t he change the game plan? BJ, Bismarck and Beast should start. Victor and Bakkies is still the best combo at lock. Spies cannot handle a cooked egg never mind a rugby ball. He cannot offload and he covers like my arse. Juan Smith is past tense and is only idling along to earn the big bugs. Brussow can play against the minnows and Deysel is nothing to get excited about. Kanko had an off season and ditto for Chalk. Donkey Rossouw is the luckiest player in SA to be part of the Bok setup. Potgieter, Vermeulen, Stegman, Alberts, Johnson and Francois Louw are all excellent powerful young men .....Use them for god’s sake Snorre!Ruan should be our no 2 scrumhalf and forget about quota Januarie.Lets pray that we can find a decent fly half during 2010 because WE WILL NOT WIN THE WC WITH TORTOISE STEYN @ 10! Finally there are too many players in the Bok setup that are too sure about their positions. Furthermore there are too many chiefs and to little Indians in that team!
Ian11/29/2009 4:48 AM
For once, we can't blame the referee! It seemed to me as though the majority of Blue Bulls players had already left for home- Matfield,Habana,Olivier, Steyn and even Fourie noticeable by their absence.Kirchner one exception. My two best players, Burger and Brussouw, with the starting front row and Becker not far behind. However, the main reason we lost was that we seem to be incapable of thinking on our feet. It was obvious to most that the kicking game wasn't working; yet we continued with it for most of the game, when we should have gone for the corners and tried to vary the lineout a bit to upset the Irish.
krohnic11/29/2009 3:06 AM
If steyn had got just one of those kicks over i do believe we would have won the match. what a terrible way to end the year but let's not forget what a sensational year it has been.... no matter how abysmal this tour has been, nothing could tarnish a team that beat the all blacks 3 times in one season!!! go bokke, you are true champions!
Duncan11/29/2009 12:39 AM
Victor, you dropped us all boet! Your previously very clear line-out calling was non-existant and I must ask whether that was under your own initiative or under instruction to self-destruct! Referee aside, and no excuses for his calls, you dropped the team and most importantly some serious blue-blood supporters (or green in this case) by playing an inconspicuous role in the line-outs. Don't tell anyone you have to depend on Bakkies or Pierre cos you also did not need to call on Andries or Danie to help you in what you have always done well - calling the line-outs to a tee! Also don't tell anyone that your captain (or Bismarck) did not throw the ball in the way you wanted it cos a lip-reader would not have understood a call from a dumb guy! While we know that everyone is tired at this stage of the year, your lack of taking charge of the line-outs was instrumental in the demise of the team that we counted on to do what we usually do well - rising up to the challenge that was not even a challenge to a team like we have. Maybe you will not cry over spilled milk (and I am still looking for a logical argument to those that criticise your performance) but the cat was robbed blind! Take it on the chin and go public on why you played totally out of character by not even calling the line-out if you were not ready to catch the ball yourself!
PdV supporter 211/29/2009 12:38 AM
Congrats to PdV and the Boks for being named IRB Team of the Year, it's well deserved and PdV can take a bow with the squad. In truth though the award was only earned for 3/4 of the year and PdV must celebrate with humility and alarm. This last 1/4 has been an absolute disaster and highlighted yet again deep problems in SA rugby and the current PdV/Dick coaching mentality, starting with the political selection of players who cannot even command a first choice position with their provinces/franchises, which disrupts the continuiity and quality needed in long term Bok team building, and ending with poor tactics that do not consistently play to our obvious strengths over 80 minutes and are not changed into winning ones on the field of play when they are clearly not working. Such selections have given the impression of a lack of depth in SA rugby but it's more a lack of depth in thinking intelligently. Today's unimaginative and ineffective up and under tactics that gave away so much possession showed the Bok brains trust is very limited in their vision at the moment and more innovation and variation is needed when circumstances demand it in real time on the field of play. We were dangerous with ball in hand but just kept kicking it away to the Irish backs who were more than up to the challenge. Morne has unfortunately gone off the boil with his kicking on this tour and this arguably cost us the game today. Fatigue may be a factor and the Bok management need to address player fatigue next year by listening to Prof Noakes and sorting a strategy out with the franchises/provinces. But it's also true that PdV deserves criticism for leaving so much up to Morne alone. It shows just how much the Boks' success has depended on him being on target and not on the team breaking through the opposition defence and scoring tries. That said, I was disappointed when Fourie DP chose not to take the three points in front of the posts by tapping the penalty, as kicking points is still very important, and also with Schalk's arrogant try celebration that was uncalled for. The lineouts were very poor too and I agree that Smit needs to make way for a younger star and assume a role in Bok management. 2011 is too far off to stick with him as a player. Today also proved how much Frans Steyn is missed. He may well have slotted one or more of those long-range penalties and could have taken over kicking duties instead of PdV panicking and bringing on Pienaar. My support for PdV remains but he will have to be much more canny than this to merit this support come this time next year. He must see the shortcomings of the current SA rugby mentality, learn from his mistakes and step up the brainpower of the Boks in introducing more tactical variation and penetration, and sticking to winning mentality merit selections (including of overseas based players like Frans) for the Bok XV and midweek Boks. Create a Bok Development XV pool for promising up and comers and groom them to graduate from team to team on merit. Don't just hand out Bok jerseys willy-nilly. 4 losses 1 win is a record that speaks volumes.
Freddy11/28/2009 11:56 PM
Bok lineout vanishing in the fog? Well my support for the FIFA Soccer World Cup 2010 is scheduled to dissappear on 01 January 2010.
Albert11/28/2009 11:55 PM
Ag please. Six nation versus three nation. If it was not for the forward pass in the IRF versus NZ then NZ would have been the WR Campions!
Colin11/28/2009 11:50 PM
I out of 4!!! Its a disgrace! Imagine if I claimed "end of season fatigue" in my field. These people are paid to perform. If unable to do the job, they should be penalised and /or should have the balls to ask not to go. Fans pay huge money to watch them. We deserve the right to decide based upon what will be presented. I have this recurring nightmare.......empty stadiums........and vuvuzelas!!!
marco11/28/2009 11:49 PM
The All Blacks beat the **** out of France tonight ha ha ha.Why couldn't the Boks played like that 5 tries man,running rugby cunning play from richie mcaw in blocking that pass that would have been a certain try 4 France, conrad smith wow what a cheeky but clever guy sliping in around that narrow channel benind the breakdown to score and sivivatu quite simply brilliant running rugby for your try and it goes on and on.thats why the All blacks are number one BREED APART.
Delboy11/28/2009 11:44 PM
They lost because they are tired. This year end tour is not fair on the players, how do you keep motivating them if they have achieved so much already. Leave them alone and let them go home to their families and have a well deserved break. Well done boys.
Boerseun11/28/2009 11:29 PM
No Bakkies, No Boks. Matfield,Smit and Burger are fancyboys supreme.
Obvious11/28/2009 11:28 PM
Morne (and Fourie) kicked away loads of possession. Ruan came on & did the same. Either they're both idiots or the coach had the wrong vision. Even though we got beaten in the line outs, we should have kept our ball in hand! The 35% odd possession figure speaks for itself.
Tokkie11/28/2009 10:57 PM
No guts no glory South Africa.
K@ksleg11/28/2009 10:54 PM
Julle is geweeg en gevind tie lig......
Tim11/28/2009 10:53 PM
So the arrogant and fatigued Little Flowers wilted. Didn't look like world champions at all - showed no heart let alone professionalism. SA Rugby needs to re-think De Villiers and Smit and re-build for for the next World Cup
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Introducing Bokkie

Dale Steyn's jaw-dropping spell

Varsity Cup - Ikeys v Pukke

Featured Blog

Nary a ball had been kicked in anger in the Super 14, but years of woe haven't dampened Huge Dude's spirit. 'This is their year', he says, the year when the Lions will go forth and conquer, and crush all foes beneath them to a bloody pulp! Take note, fair-weather fans, we have a true supporter in our midst!

Vote

The main reason for the Boks' woeful end of year tour was:

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide