Rugby

Watson sent nausea pills

2008-10-17 08:01
Email | Print
Luke Watson

Cape Town - Relief is on hand for the acute nausea apparently suffered by Springbok flanker Luke Watson and National Assembly sport committee chairperson Butana Komphela over the Springbok rugby jersey.

AfriForum Youth on Thursday took pity on the two and couriered boxes of Valoid anti-nausea medication to Komphela and Watson.

This followed Komphela's statement earlier that he too, just like Watson, "wants to vomit on the Springbok jersey".

Komphela's medication was sent to his constituency office in the Free State, while Watson's parcel was sent to the Western Province Rugby Union's offices.

AfriForum Youth national chairperson Ernst Roets said the medication was sent "to provide temporary relief for Komphela and Watson's nausea" until they finally realised the Springbok emblem was, in fact, a uniting factor in South Africa and not a dividing one.

"The Springbok tradition is larger than Komphela and Watson, and they have to accept this for the sake of their health," Roets said.

In a bid to assist even further, in future, whenever Komphela once again "departs on an expensive trip abroad to attend Springbok games", as he did during the Rugby World Cup tournament last year, AfriForum Youth would provide him with a large supply of anti-nausea medication to take along with him.

"It is important that when a person of the stature of Komphela again, as in the past, parades in a Springbok jersey, he should not suffer the discomfort caused by nausea," Roets said.

Your Comments

Blikkies10/21/2008 11:59 AM
2 bullets ... no problem!
Black Dude10/21/2008 11:31 AM
Im Black, AND I WANT THE SPRINGBOK TO STAY!!! - sometimes i feel ashamed of our goverment sticking their noses were it doesnt belong! They are making sa the luaghing stock of the rugby world. I say KEEP the springbok - and for the ANC ... keep out of rugby!!
Kev10/21/2008 9:19 AM
To all who cry RACISM everytime someone say's something against a black player / administrator or Luke Watson! I (and all geniune rugby supporters I know) don't really care who plays for the S P R I N G B O K S as long as we win games! It's all about a players ability - not their skin colour. A player could be blue with green polka dots for all I care!!! Just as long as we win. And this is the difference! While the one camp is prepared to accept loosing as long as they can prove a political point, genuine rugby supporters can't stand the thought of loosing even one game!! The rugby supporting public all know that Luke Watson never deserved to play for the S P R I N G B O K S. It was simply a bit of payback for his father's sacrifice, we all know that! I admire Cheeky for his conviction but Luke did not earn his B O K place based on his own playing ability and that is something that will stick to him far longer than puke on a rugby jersey!
Black&Proud10/21/2008 5:38 AM
Adrian what does a name has to do with this pertinent issue. Did you even read what Charmaine said.Who said English epitomises literacy, you are a disgrace Charmaine. Do you know what working for something means. Don't try to destabilise an already fragile non-contractual level of understanding between true South africans across all races(of which you are not). I think you are masquerading as an Afrikaans person whilst you are not, bragging on English spellings in this day and age that's freaking pathetic and awful. i hope you are ashamed of yourself. Charmaine how old are you, i just sense that you are still young and immature and need to grow up quick. Do you know any indigenous language besides English and Afrikaans. If none, you better take heed of your mistated insult("or was it a sentiment"). Remember the old cliche, "think before you act" that is think teleologically because you might reveal your stupidity. As for Adrian, just because your parents were lucky early beneficiaries of the "twisted system" correction programme doesn't give you a right to look down upon those who are in the deep end(i.e poverty trapped) and in dire conditions. Be proud of "UBuntu bakho"("your origins"). Petty english spellings and words must never define us. Those who think so are still mentally colonised."Khumbule khaya baba"(Remember your roots).
Anonymous User10/20/2008 10:21 PM
Wan boolit, wan Watsin!
Jacques aka Megabull10/20/2008 4:36 PM
Why stay anonymous if you want to talk $#!t about the Boks & Afrikaans speaking public? Habana even speaks Afrikaans. It's not about speaking Afr. Eng. Shoto, Zulu or what ever. It is about the honour of playing in the Green & Gold! Any young boy in this country's dream! NO MATTER THEIR RACE!!!!!!!!
Adrian10/20/2008 11:25 AM
"unathi 10/17/2008 2:47 PM Adrian, people like you make me angry, what the hell are you on about. GROW UP MAYBE YOU WILL UNDERSTAND. What apartheid did to other, it did affect you thats why you are saying all this shit. ask your self why whites have the infrustructure and the Africa's don't, Mybe this time you are going to come up with an intelligent answer" In response, first of all don't talk to me about intelligence when you are clearly having a tough time trying to spell. Secondly, I have had the same infrastructure that, as you say, "the whites have", because my "apartheid affected" parents had the presence of mind to place me in such infrastructure. They had the presence of mind to let go of the past in hope of a better future, for both my brother and I. So Unathi, have the respect of self to begin your name with a capital letter, since I learnt that a name is a proper noun and must be spelt with a capital letter, and learn to let go of the past because if you don't you'll never have a future. Good luck to you my friend.
Annalie10/19/2008 12:17 AM
Uit nood moet ek oorsee werk om `n behoorlike inkomste te hê.Ek lees gereeld die nuus oor SA en vind dit lagwekkend dat mense mekaar so kan afkraak in my land.Waar is naasteliefde heen.As julle kommentaar moet lewer,wees liewer ordentlik en positief en nie so beledigend en vernederend nie.Los in elkgeval die Springbok ook uit.Dit bestaan al so lank en het voorheen niemand gepla nie.Hoekom nou? Pure rassisme .....??? Groete aan alle Suid Afrikaners
Twincamsam10/18/2008 11:07 AM
Hey Mundo... You are obviously not a big rugby expert. Go debate something like politics. Obviously you are a expert in that field. Luke Watson is k@k. Full stop. He was a polititians choice. Nothing more. Did you read Sport illustrated in 06 when he was on the cover? And stated what a huge honour it would be? No probably not. You where probably busy checking who is racist against you. Grow up bro. Times have changed. Maybe you should as well.
John A10/18/2008 10:25 AM
What seems to be unnoticed in this whole debacle is this." Cheeky Watson has climbed onto a "Transformation Bandwagon" crawled his way right up certain politicians rear ends, (He is obviously very talented in this regard as there are several politicians involved and he is up all their backsides simultaneously) in order to further the involvement of more black players in rugby. Irrespective of talent. But what did he do? He got his lily white son installed instead. This probably deprived talented black players an opportunity. I doubt that there could have been ANY other reason for his "transformation" antics. And the Black politicians are too stupid to realise that. Its amazing the lengths that people will go to become a Springbok! Yet they want the emblem to go! Cheeky would not have pushed for Pukie to become a Protea!!!!!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 10:43 PM
these comments show how racist Afrikaaners are.when boers feed blacks with urine,no body call them all the names.Afrikaaners are unhappy racists who think some aspects of south africa exclusively belong to them.Luke is telling the truth and it hurts as usual-you Afrikaaners will be unhappy forever & continue to live in a mental prison.you are in denial that you are racist,you will only realise that when blacks and english speaking white south africans attack you.a war agains afrikaaners in this country is not too far
Wassa10/17/2008 5:51 PM
When will you ever learn, Africa is for the Africans. Whites will always be viewed as Settlers. The Africans will take what is theirs. South Africa is the next Zimbabawe. Africans dont want to share, dont want to reconcile. They take with force, settle with force, achieve through bribery and retain rule through corruption. Puke Watson is a prime example he was forced into the Bok side whilst his talent never warranted it. Jake White identified it. Hell even De Villiers has come to realise it. So now he out of favour Puke has to make a stink and focus the attention on something other than his lack of talent on the International Stage.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 5:33 PM
God is wise, and we should ask for wisdom, and apply the wisdom we have. A magazine such as Spots Illustrated (somewhere 2006?) had a picture of a player with a Springbok on his skin as part of a strategy (to influence selectors / a coach). After enjoying the spoils of colors and games, the same person shows other colors. Or is it 'other spots'. I think his company / friends to whom he mentioned these feelings perhaps wonder: how stable is this person. A leopard never changes his .... What does his real spots look like then? and the other aspects of his life? They also should wonder how far can you trust the person who split on him. And the public is aslo asking the same questions. Let us gain wisdom, forgive as we all are humans - making mistakes of thought, words and actions. Let us go to the level of: of who we are in the deep inside and private world of character with norms and values. those are the things that form actions + words when we react instinctively / under intense pressure / or under influence of drugs like alcohol. That is what this whole debate is about firstly. Secondly; as politicians: lets draw the attention away from our delima by attacking something that is very public. And that something must not be not in our circle where our toes are; let's go and jump on the other side's toes in their circle. When we interact: Let's all of us as humans follow the golden rule. Let all race groups follow the golden rule amongst themselves. Let all race groups follow the golden rule wherever we interact. We as South Africans must also follow the golden rule so that we can unify as people made in the image of God, and put by God in this land of gift: South Africa.
Andrew10/17/2008 5:27 PM
Amazing that they are not alone!! Everytime I see Puke Watson in the jersey I also want to puke! The same when I see Mr Komphela on Tv or in the paper. Chill bru, you're not alone!
Watson and Butana Fan Club10/17/2008 4:37 PM
Two leaders of the campaign to have the Springbok emblem abolished received Test tickets, free flights and Springbok clothing worth thousands of rand from SuperSport and the SA Rugby Union last year. They are Butana Komphela, chair of the parliamentary portfolio committee on sport, and his deputy, Cedric Frolick. what a waste of money.....
Anonymous User10/17/2008 4:29 PM
Luke..please leave and take your buddy with you.Everyone I know thinks you a kak rugby player anyway...
Dave10/17/2008 4:28 PM
Ha! Ha! good one Afriforum...Puke Watson your a disgrace to your country, the Springbok team and all the people of South Africa and Butana your a fool.
Graydon Meneses10/17/2008 4:14 PM
SA rocks, SA rugby rocks. With all the enthusiasm and energy spent on these comments, clearly SA rugby supporters also rock. Let's ignore the crap and put our energy into going forward together!
Graydon Meneses10/17/2008 3:56 PM
South Africans, this is our anthem. we've all sung it while we've watched our team. Let's not let this circus mess us up. One nation. "Nkosi sikelel' iAfrika Maluphakanyisw' uphondo lwayo, Yizwa imithandazo yethu, Nkosi sikelela, thina lusapho lwayo. "Morena boloka setjhaba sa heso, O fedise dintwa la matshwenyeho, O se boloke, O se boloke setjhaba sa heso, Setjhaba sa South Afrika - South Afrika. "Uit die blou van onse hemel, Uit die diepte van ons see, Oor ons ewige gebergtes, Waar die kranse antwoord gee, "Sounds the call to come together, And united we shall stand, Let us live and strive for freedom, In South Africa our land."
Anonymous User10/17/2008 3:51 PM
Luke, next time you open your mouth, make sure you are standing up as your voice is muffled.
Apache10/17/2008 3:50 PM
Adrian (10:02 AM), you're a beaut...! This racism (real / perceived / reverse) must stop - we're all SOUTH AFRICANS for crying out loud! Some of us proudly support Bafana Bafana, some the Proteas, some the Bokke, some all of the above. We should unite in trying to get rid of oxygen thieves like Komphela who thrive on controversy whilst lapping up as many freebies as they can. As for Luke, I feel rather sorry for the lad. He's been misled into believing he's something he clearly isn't (and may never become unless he learns the meaning of humility and stops relying and listening to his manipulative father) - maybe not quite appropriate, but "sins of the father" springs to mind... For those of you who haven't discovered the insightful penmanship of "The Rugby Guru" and his weekly blog, follow this link for a thought provoking read: - http://sportblogs.24.com/ViewBlog.aspx?blogid=fdbfeafe-2a13-4be0-9c78-2bd92108de10 Well done AfriForum - great joke, just a pity that it will be lost on the recipients...and many others! If they do manage to take away the Sprinbok emblem, we simply do what helped the ANC bring about the political change in this great country of ours - we resort to boycotting the Springbok games (live and TV) and we stop supporting the main SA Rugby sponsor's (SASOL, Canterbury, Vodacom, ABSA, Ford, Castle Lager, Energade, Southern Sun, SAA). The sponsors will soon see the empty seats and realise they're flogging a dying horse and withdraw their financial support. Suddenly "Arrogant" Hoskins and Co. will be scratching for their fat salaries and "Kots" Komphela's freebies will be more difficult to come by and we, the simple rugby supporters will show them all a toffee and say "we told you so!" But then again, looking at Banana Banana, I may have missed the pot and crapped on my feet...?
Anonymous User10/17/2008 3:37 PM
Luke Watson really is not good enough for Stormers,what makes any one think that he is even good.Peter made the biggest mistake ever by selecting him.
Black&Proud10/17/2008 3:33 PM
Scarab wrote: "...............I can see why Bob is still clinging onto power in his beloved country. He rules over stupidity..............." I don't even think you are a proper African let alone South African.I have many Zim intelligent pals and feel offended on their behalf to hear such utter rubbish.Whatever anonymous said doesnt mean you should insult our black African brothers and sisters. This is kind of attitude is the one Watson refers to. And to the one who talked about please go and see how those "employed" Zimbabwean's are being exploited. Not pretty at all. I don't like Mugabe but I love Zimbabweans in general.Skeletons in the closet have finally been revealed. Khompela and Watson sort out the Bok mess.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 3:33 PM
I reckon everyone should take the politics out of sport. Sport is something we do / watch for fun and should not be viewed through our political specticals. What the heck does race or racism have to do with it. Come on people, lets grow up and play hard! And as for dear Mr Watson... perhaps he realized he will never really be good enough for a Springbok jersey - and that's where the feeling of nausea came from. He definately does not deserve to be part of our proud SOUTH AFRICAN team! Go Bokke! Viva AmaBokke Bokke!
AngryBlackman10/17/2008 3:15 PM
once again we have to put up with these self-righteous reactionary comments. Lacking objectivity and quick to defend what is not understood. Some so called young "Black" people on this forum have been spoon fed by their parents and fully embraced the western culture that they have totally deserted their backgrounds. It's a shame really. No wonder Luke(a white man) has the courage to get out of his comfort zone and be counted as a "giant". How can someone ridicule Khompela's "media blown out proportion" rhetoric.It doesnot mean that going to Sringbok rugby games Khompela has to turn a blind eye to the discriminatory Springbok setup. I love the Boks but that doesnot warrant any tolerance of the ignorant and alarming behaviour of the minority group . And Victor Matfield, who gives him the right to lambast Watson. I used to admire his charisma, i guess it's all public act to cover up their sinister antics. I wonder how Victor would have felt if the Springboks was vastly made up of "english" white players and He too was subjected to the same alienation like Watson. That is freaking awful. They say charity begins at home, i'm not surprised by the Afrikaans student's behaviour at NWU(university). People are always quick to only blame these retarted students but i also lay the blame on the parents who cultivate such monsters.
unathi10/17/2008 2:47 PM
Adrian, people like you make me angry, what the hell are you on about. GROW UP MAYBE YOU WILL UNDERSTAND. What apartheid did to other, it did affect you thats why you are saying all this shit. ask your self why whites have the infrustructure and the Africa's don't, Mybe this time you are going to come up with an intelligent answer
Melinda10/17/2008 2:36 PM
LUKE you must just remember that MADIBA had that jersey on aswell
Anonymous User10/17/2008 2:27 PM
Please all South Africans do you realise that the springbok a creation of God, not created by Whites. I do not see how it can be seen as a racist emblem. Even Nelson Mandela wore the Springbok rugby jersey in 1995 with a smile and proud expression on his face!!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 2:26 PM
At the end of the day we are all south africans, we are a RUGBY NATION why on earth did the PRICK get into the rugby team if he had a problem with springbok on it ,one thing you can not do LUKE you P*&% is to bullshit a rugby player it does not matter what colour you are if you are a good player then the green and gold is for you, theirs so many players that will love that jersey on them because they worked for it, All south african know them as BOKKE or AMA BOKKE, what will you do luke if you had to play for the all blacks? Have a problem with the leave that was on your chest ??? Luke I think you are a moffie because you got no ideal about rugby comon now runny to daddy if they take away our bok then they take away SA pride, the 2007 WC the whole nation any race was behind the bokke
Unathi10/17/2008 2:11 PM
Charmaine “leave the Boertjies and concentrate on your own colour and culture. You still have to get where we are and that was not given to us on a plate we worked for what we have.” What are you on about you sick freak or you just opened your mouth and something come out. How did you get their, you took advantage of the COLOUR BAR LAW. And you say you where given nothing on a plate, racist freak
Anonymous User10/17/2008 2:07 PM
Luke, get a life pal! You are nothing but a trouble maker and one that can't even play rugby at that. Jake was right to treat you like he did. My sentiments are you should emigrate and try make a name for yourself causing trouble in other countries! next time you step foot ojnto a rugby pitch I really hope the crowd gives you the reception you deserve...nothing but a big BOOOOOO...
Steadfast10/17/2008 2:03 PM
We all love to hate certain players and administrators. We spend so much time and energy on mindless issues and have been detracted from what is wrong in our rugby today (or many other sporting codes). Luke is a great player and will lead the Bokke one day - maybe when he grows up. Maybe someone should tape conversations on other Springboks and we would be shocked at what we hear. Much to do about nothing.
Skurwetoon10/17/2008 1:42 PM
Ja, dit is eintlik commin dat daar oor 'n onskuldige Springbok trui en embleem 'n probleem nou eers ontstaan na al die jare. Puke watson moet eintlik baie trots wees want hy is die eerste wit???? regstellende aksie in SA Rugby. Jy is 'n ware komrade. Sulke mense sal nerens in die lewe kom nie. Wonder of hy vir sy kinders eendag sal se dat hy vir die Bokke gespeel het. Nee hy speel vir die ama ama puke pukes. BOKKE BO!!!
Harry10/17/2008 1:35 PM
Mundo should be able to go help Daddy Watson change Puke's nappy, whenever he wants to!
Fluff10/17/2008 1:06 PM
This is absolute bs, on the one side you have two guys who wants to vomit one because he can't play rugby to save his life and the other because he loves traveling abroad in a jersey he doesn't like watching a "dutchmen sport". And on the other side you have a respected rugby legend being crucified as Eugene de Kok's illegitimate lovechild because he loves a symbol which represents a nations pride. People are starving, the rand is plummeting and all you want to do is change emblems and street names.... Can't we just play sport for once and stop all this white , black valoid shit?
Anonymous User10/17/2008 12:21 PM
Who are these Afroforun fools? Oh just another racist shits who don't want to accept change. And to you guys live Joe alone.
Met Uysh!10/17/2008 12:13 PM
Kompela's comments were just to play the race card again. When they were challenged as to why the athletics and swimming performed so poorly and the off the field issues relating to it, they reverted back to the race card as usual, because they know they did not do their jobs. So, target the Springbok again, and forget our poor olympics performances. They have nothing intelligent to say, so, it's the Springboks fault that we were poor in the olympics, and its the Springboks fault that there is unemployment in the country. THere are MANY ex Springboks working to uplift and develop black players, and Luke is not one of them.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 12:11 PM
I think you're scared Luke, and intimidated by the comraderie and passion that you have never been a part of. I wonder if you lie awake, thinking about what its going to be like at the bottom of your next scrum..? I think your own "crippling" statements are going to end your very assisted, undeserved career in Rugby. I think you are really scared - because I would be!
Message from Amsterdam10/17/2008 12:06 PM
Hallo uit de Netherlands.Please kon je vragen meneer Luke Watson niet te sleept de Nederlandse natie in zijn braaksel verhaal. Wij zijn als natie niet willen deel te nemen aan zijn kinderachtige opmerkingen en vragen hem daarom om zichzelf uit deze puinhoop op te vragen of zijn vader te helpen - alweer! Translation: Hello from the Netherlands.Please could you ask mister Luke Watson not to drag the Dutch nation in his vomit story. We as a nation do not want to take part in his childish remarks and therefore ask him to get himself out of this mess or please ask his daddy to help out - again!
cK10/17/2008 11:46 AM
Why can’t we just play rugby like most other countries and forget about the politics trying to stick their nose in every 5 minutes? As for Mundo's post @ 9:46am, Puke and Kots comments are there for people exactly like you. To get you riled up thinking that you are still fighting the struggle with your talks about comrades, fought and won the battle, which struggle are you fighting now? One against the government you fought to get in power? Or maybe you and your comrades are bored now and have nothing better to do than fight against a symbol of unity, yes the Springbok Maybe you should get your comrades to fight the struggle to get good infrastructure in place to ensure rugby reaches all of South Africa and get the rest of the world to see us as a first world country again and not a third world country. Let Puke go and play overseas, kids shouldn’t look up to someone with verbal chunder.
Botha10/17/2008 11:43 AM
Sports portfolio members are acting via nothing other than clear SPITE, resentment & intolerance to other cultures with clear racist undetones for anything white & or Afrikaans. Under no circumstances in a 'democracy' are they entitled to demand removal of an emblem which represents such a wide variety of citizens. Make no mistake, the emblem will only be done away with if we allow it! The time has come to stand up & act against double standards & DEMAND the emblem is left alone. Who are the sports committee & why should we fear their demands? Should the intentions be nothing more than a unification jesture, where are the 'strong' calls for the abolishment of Bafana Bafana??? Where are the comapritives & equal drives to remove the 'beloved' Bafana label. (Spite & spite alone) Where is SA Rugbys firm stance & fight to have the emblem which has defined them for 100 years? Remove the emblem at your peril, & stand to loose millions in revenue as no self repsecting Springbok supporter will dare purchase any new form of ' Protea' related rugby emblem. Furthermore, a unified stance should also include non attendacne to any rugby game sanctioned via SA Rugby. The public have the power as we are the supporters from a finanical perspective & sustain the brand (SA Rugby). We have the final say! If the Sports portfolio fools had any credibility, they would be targeting their 'beloved' Bafana as the most undefperforming sports code in the country, along with the prima donna olympians, & not world beaters such as the Springboks.
allan10/17/2008 11:40 AM
mmmmm wonder if Afriforum Youth could provide me with large packs of Immodium.....for relief of the s**t that I have to experience on a daily basis from a black racist regime!
andrew10/17/2008 11:34 AM
Dead right, get rid of the Springbok (what a joke) and then we will have another corrupt bunch of assholes claiming the right to the new emblem and sportswear and tv rights etc etc (ad nausea) and yet another corrupt tender process and endless courtcases wasting my as well as your taxpaying money, and I will have to endure watching some smug prick swaggering around in a dark suit. It's all a bit of a waste of time really. The interest rate / rigged fuel price / rigged food price / extortionate banks/liquor brands/ciggarette brands/cell phone operators you name it, aren't our lives complicated enough, If you can swim, go to the beach pull your head out of your arse and stick your toes in the sand.............
Vox populis10/17/2008 11:31 AM
I don't know what the problem is; I also wanted to puke when I saw Luke Watson in a Sprinbok Jersey.
Pissed10/17/2008 11:22 AM
I want a refund for my Bok Jersey then if the symbol goes. I wonder if i send it to guvament, will i get monies in return...?
kop10/17/2008 11:21 AM
This is exactly the kind of kak you get when politics are allowed in sport. A team should be chosen on merit and klaar - look at soccer. How many white faces do you see?????? Well done Afriforum! It is hilarious. Next time can you send Komphela something that will destroy his vocal chords so we never have to hear that moron speak again!!
Dennis10/17/2008 11:13 AM
The Watsons have for yearts thrived on sensationalism!! Puke has learned well from his father. Cheeky did not get his name for being nice. Jake White was right. Watson is not a good player in any form. Kick him out!
sport supporter10/17/2008 11:12 AM
i support the differentiation of sport codes by using unique names/emblems (eg: rugby - springboks, soccer - bafana bafana, etc) its all about association and has nothing to do with race, color, sex, language. I urge all South Africans to except and tolerate each others differences. As long as their is positive equity in a specific sport polititians and other attention seekers will always be part of it. Have you ever seen political interferance in bokdrolverspoeg ???
Scarab10/17/2008 11:11 AM
Joe, Your arrogance shows by the way you tried to shout down your point of view. The springbok emblem is a good selling, marketing tool or brand name if you like. I suggest that those who have benefitted from the springbok emblem, without being involved with the game like mr. Komphela and his croonies, should reconsider next time they bring this up for discussion. Why change a good brand it has bring in plenty of moneys and it is all about money isn't it?
nic10/17/2008 11:07 AM
Luke , jy is nogal "Cheeky" , Papie en jy moet maar liewer emigreer want ek dink nie jy sal weer in die RSA rugby speel nie en indien ek verkeerd is sal daar 29 ander manne op die veld wees wat nie jou houding gaan verdra nie .
colin10/17/2008 11:07 AM
Can the AfriForum youth please comment on the issue that some of our universities marginalize our talented black students and by excluding them access to there hostels and representation on SRC bodies and on accusations of racism on some of our campuses - do they have a stance on this or do they pass there time wasting valuable time of courier companies - just another insignificant group with no mandate or value.
Charles10/17/2008 11:06 AM
Well said Adrian. This country needs more people like you.
Craig10/17/2008 10:56 AM
Pierre, that is definately the quote of the week..!!!
Rugby10/17/2008 10:53 AM
Mundo: I just think you are jealous that you are not part of this big vibe that we call rugby (which came from England JUST LIKE YOUR SOCCER, pal!). If you and your brothers & sisters are so 'crazy' about rugby why do we not see your black butts on the stands? You didn't even fill the stand when Bafana Bafana played against Ghana this week. You still have to learn about PRIDE. because you do not have it. Even if you change the Springbok to a lazy goat, will us all, who love the game, stand up as one AND STILL call it the Springbok. Almost like changing Jan Smuts Airport to Tambo airport. We still call it Jan Smuts when we speak . So what has changed? Nothing. Lucky for you, you will not see us burning down SARU's offices or any rugby Union offices. Other like your brothers and sisters who burn every thing down (like Metro Rail Ticket Offices and so on and so on...) when they not happy. And saying Roets is immature is laughable. Seems you do not get it. Roets's gesture is very funny. I'm still laughing. At least he did not want to 'kill' for people like the president of the ANCYL said.
Mario10/17/2008 10:49 AM
PLEASE READ THE ARTCLE WRITTEN IN TH UK BY THE GLOBALLY RESPECTED STEPHEN JONED PRESS WRITER Watson: all white and useless Luke Watson is a very ordinary flanker. I have seen him play three times in the flesh and around five times on television and also taken the opinions of judges who I trust. Say he joined Wasps (not that they would sign him if he paid them), he'd be miles below James Haskell, Joe Worsley, Dan Leo, John Hart, Tom Rees and Hugo Ellis in the pecking order. He is mediocre. He is also a Springbok. Because he is the son of Cheeky Watson, a white man I once admired and who played for non-white South African teams during the apartheid era (becoming a hero of the non-white population), Watson is clearly seen as an honorary non-white and many activists are desperate that he makes the Bok team. He has dabbled in the green jersey. He has been added to decent squads purely for political expediency. He was once foisted on Jake White, the former coach, who had to play him in some god-forsaken game and White clearly felt that Watson's cap demeaned the jersey as a result. Was he a pawn? No. "Luke knew exactly what was going on," White told me. White also told of very odd and rather threatening calls he fielded saying that he could remain Bok coach for longer if only he chose Watson ... as captain. Cheeky Watson's presence is now, according to many of all races, negative and manipulative. Last week, Luke Watson said that South African rugby is "run by Dutchmen" and that he wanted to "vomit on the Springbok jersey." Let's leave aside whether his comments were racist. Let's even leave aside the ghastly, almost childish disrespect of it all and the crudeness. Let's leave aside the comments of Victor Matfield, who said recently that Watson played hardly any part in supporting the new coach, Peter de Villiers, last season. The truth is that Watson is no longer fit to wear the South African jersey. And more than that - he never was.
Bruna10/17/2008 10:49 AM
The topic started off about Luke, Valoid, Naas and the Springbok emblem. Then it digressed to discuss Zim and Zuma, etc. And then we had the ‘brilliance’ of Zorro B pointing out his apparent education in Pretoria. Did anybody force you to go to that university? Reading thru the responses below, I felt very worried about the concentration span of the average news reader. It is, however, only responses of those who feel compelled to react in writing. There are millions out there that don’t care about the Springbok emblem as they have other daily battles to fight. However, I do care about the Springbok emblem. I hope it stays… My family came here in 1661 and we are very much Africans, even though we just happen to be white.
Molant10/17/2008 10:49 AM
Lets get over ourselves. It is a really childish and stupid prank, but who the hell are Ariforum anyway? Let's try to remember that Luke Watson didn't say anything in public, and what he did say has been taken totally out of context, in fact he has dodged all the media very well in the past week. He doesn't feel he needs to justify his speech, as it was not made for the common SA rugby fans ears. If there were a referendum over the Springbok emblem, it would lose. I and Naas Botha, would vote for it, but it would lose. In the same way that me voting for Helen Zille, because she is a person of great moral value, was an anti apartheid activist and a brilliant leader, doesn't count for much. Neither would my vote for the Springbok count for much. Let's just accept that it might go, and our rugby team will still be strong.
Awa10/17/2008 10:48 AM
Shame, Luke, you stepped into it again. The Protea/any other emblem won't change the realities in sport, society etc. in SA. Forced transformation is in fact discrimination against whites. Racism whether from white or black will always be there. We (Whites, not just Afrikaners) are now the foreigners in our own country, because of a racist ANC regime. Take the Bok away it will just once again be owned up by whites whether in a rebel rugby team or whatever other alternative. I would rather support the All blacks than a Protea/Banana banana or whatever SA Rugby team, which would probably happen in the near future with this government.
Charmaine10/17/2008 10:46 AM
To ALL you for and not for Lukes - please learn to spell before you make any racist comments. You stand out like a sore thumb. Get a life forget the past and work on your future. If you want to work in or, run a business you must be literate and be able to spell. Specially uou Joe. Leave the BOERTJIES and concentrate on your own colour and culture. You still have to get where we are and that was not given to us on a plate we worked for what we have. Grow up and get up!!!!!! if you can
ANDRE E10/17/2008 10:45 AM
Hey Joe......... that chip on you shoulder has stunted your ability to spell. we 'whities' (as you put it) laugh at the 'vomit' you dished up in your justification to kill the springbok and your backward mentality on unification in sport.......... get a real life or stand in line for some medication......HEY ADRIAN, like you i am AFRICAN up's on your letter mate, you are one cool dude!!! BY THE WAY, GREAT TO READ SOME HUMOUR
Gary L10/17/2008 10:44 AM
Hey 8.59 Anonymous Zimbo, thats weird what with you being from Zim and me being from SA and you are proud of an SA rugby player in Luke and I am proud of a Zim rugby player in Brian " The Beast " Mujati ! the difference being I am proud of Brian for the way he plays rugby, you are proud of Luke for some badly chosen devisive remarks on the back of an ailing career in SA Rugby. Furthermore have you left the house lately ? in case you hadn't noticed Zim needs tourism, its one of the few industries that is still surviving and bringing foreign currency into Zim so quite what you are trying to achieve by saying dont come to Zim only you know my bru. Let us South Africans worry about the emblem debate and keep sending us world beaters like Bryan Mujati. I reckon keep your job on Beit Bridge stopping Zimbabweans leaving and foreign money coming in, thats a great plan ! . Viva the Bokke.
Ivan10/17/2008 10:44 AM
Does anybody remember Luke Watson on the cover of Sports Illustrated tearing off a Province Jersey and revealing a Springbok imposed on a "Superman Sign" in green and gold? I wonder if he was chewing back some vom there? Quite a corny cover anyways.
johnboy10/17/2008 10:44 AM
Hey JOE ! Wots de priblim wit yir spelling dude ? You still 35 yrs old and in STD 3 ?? You saying all whites are "boertjies" ....OK that makes all blacks rapists and racists then ?? (I think not !) dry your eyes bud !! I suppose puting an AK-47 emblem on "Bafana-Bafana" jerseys is going to stop them slipping to 100th on FIFA rankings too ??
Anton10/17/2008 10:43 AM
I'm really disappointed and even disgusted at the levelof journalism in this country. At one stage South Africa boasted some of the best journalists and photographers in the world. The last 15 years has seen that standard decay into into the situation we now have where almost every news reporting body has sunk to the levels of Die Son and The Voice - reporting rank tabloid crap to sell papers and spark controversy. I agree with Ant. This whole Luke Watson story makes me want to puke all over the media and all over everyone who bought into this fiasco and resort to hate speech and childish name-calling on these comment posts. God save this country.
Charmaine10/17/2008 10:42 AM
To ALL you for and not for Lukes - please learn to spell before you make any racist comments. You stand out like a sore thumb. Get a life forget the past and work on your future. If you want to work in or, run a business you must be literate and be able to spell. Specially uou Joe. Leave the BOERTJIES and concentrate on your own colour and culture. You still have to get where we are and that was not given to us on a plate we worked for what we have. Grow up and get up!!!!!! if you can
Oh Boy!10/17/2008 10:42 AM
I think that Luke Watson's angst derives not from any lack of transformation in SA Rugby, but rather from a suspicion that he may be the sole "affirmative action" member of the national squad.
Shirley 10/17/2008 10:42 AM
Well said Adrian... We are South Africans and we should behave like true ones at that. Love our Country and fellowmen, no matter who we are or what colour we are..Komphela and Watson get a life, you both pathetic.
TB10/17/2008 10:38 AM
Bloody brilliant. I just hope they read the enclosed pamphlet: Not to be used while pregnant!
Candle10/17/2008 10:37 AM
Call Bafana Bafana our National Springbok Soccer Team and they might, just might.. win some SIGNIFICANT games against some SIGNIFICANT teams!
Louis10/17/2008 10:36 AM
Adrian, you are so right my friend! Great post.! I agree totally with you!!
Bertie10/17/2008 10:36 AM
I have one question. Would they still want to change the emblem if there were 21 black players and Luke Watson in the squad for the end of year tour?
Candle10/17/2008 10:36 AM
Call Bafana Bafana our National Springbok Soccer Team and they might, just might.. win some SIGNIFICANT games against some SIGNIFICANT teams!
Lindani10/17/2008 10:36 AM
No matter what you Dutchmen think, it WILL change.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 10:35 AM
Hulle het altwee a reeks van p*es klappe nodig......
richard10/17/2008 10:34 AM
Adrian, I could not agree with you more...If only all of us could have the insight toget the bigger picture. Good on you!
Jonno10/17/2008 10:34 AM
Watson is a third rater who was given his colours because of his pro-ANC stance. No one who knows anything about rugby can imagine he's the best man for the job. I'm white and I'm damn proud of it. I'm also a proud South African. But let me say this: the day that the Springbok goes, then my country will have totally alienated me and I shall feel that the South African team no longer represents me. Then, in exactly the same way as Trevor Manuel and the Cape Coloureds support the All Blacks, I shall transfer my support to England or Australia.
Art10/17/2008 10:32 AM
In all fairness... Luke Watson could never play the game of rugby, was forced into the team, made a total Rectum of himself on local & International TV, now disses the Rugby Jersey, because he KNOWS he will never wear that Jersey in a rugby match again. Give the guy a break... wait till he tries to play rugby for WP again, his fellow team mates & opposition will be giving him ALL the 'breaks' he needs, then it is going to be funny! Kompela is another one of those two faced political guys, same as JZ, he only says what he thinks people want to hear... looking for a better job in Gov after the elections... pretty sure he will be the President/Chairman of the "Idiots R Us" group, with Watson as his General Secretary...
Shaq10/17/2008 10:32 AM
shame on you Mundo with all this "we change, when we want to" and the black nation comments, in the eyes of our children and the rest of the world we are a rainbow Nation. We have managed to show the world that change can happen and that there is hope. Having said all that there are however people like you and Puke Watson who you say has the support of the black Nation, trust me your black Nation is not all behind Puke and Butana Komphela, you will always remain devided. You are the ones who damage our childrens dreams of a peacefull Rainbow Nation. The Springbok twice united a nation and the world sat back and nodded with approval. Mando its time to grow up and drop this black and white rubbish or go back to the hole you came from
Russell10/17/2008 10:31 AM
why does everyone give luke watson so much time. hes got a lot to say for a very average provincial player. hes still never made the springbok team on merit and probably never will...
witboer10/17/2008 10:30 AM
The springbok has been around before man settled in South-Africa. What is the problem? The springbok logo is a gold mine AND BELONGS TO ALL RACES IN South-Africa. In fact the Springbok Logo is a registered trademark NO PERSON OR GOVERNMENT CAN CANCELL IT. Go and study your constitution. SO stop worrying its never gonna happen. Why would you want to F##& with something that makes so much CASH. Raak wakker die dag raak al hoe k#ker.
Q810/17/2008 10:29 AM
Anonymous Zimbabwean, now why would any of us want to go to Zimbabwe? You twit, look around you. You can keep Africa's poop tube to yourself!! And Mundo; "You have got the support of the black nation and that's what you need." The Watson family thanks you for that support, if it wasn't for that they wouldn't be rich...and your ass is still stuck in a township! Eish, some people never learn...
Brandon Conroy10/17/2008 10:28 AM
Why not replace the bok symbol with a gravy train - Butana, Luke and co can then enjoy the free ride and benefits without worrying about their nausea. If anything the Springbok has been a unifying source of pride to this country, Luke can go to hell, if he feels so strongly about the bok jersey he should voluntarily give it to one of the many players of colour who would proudly wear it. Butana and co cant organise a pissup in a brewery.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 10:28 AM
Die bok embleem is net n kopseer en n groot stuk gemors Dit het geen waarde vir moderne Suid Afrikaners. Get rid of it.
Jan10/17/2008 10:26 AM
The Springbok emblem is all about sport and rugby in particular. I do not and can not recall that the guys went to the border with Springbok jerseys on. They got rid of the old army uniforms which was more a symbol of apartheid. If Puke Watson was sincere, he should have refused to play for the Springboks because of his views and beliefs.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 10:25 AM
This is so boring. How about doing something different like fighting crime, feeding the poor, creating jobs, etc etc. The stuff that you are supposed to be doing.
drunkmonk10/17/2008 10:25 AM
Great article The springbokke existed before apartheid so I cannot see why some say that is is an symbol of the apartheid regime. It is our tradition and so many people are proud of it - blacks, whites, indians, whoever.It sounds like Luke has condemned the very players and traditions that support our beloved game of rugby. Luke Watson and company could do far greater good by promoting rugby in underdeveloped South Africa but instead they pursue there own self righteous agendas under the banner of a 'greater cause'. His speech is badly worded and smacks of narrow mindedness. He is a decent rugby player but he is not that good.I wouldn't trust him as he has betrayed the unwritten sporting code of giving the benefit of support to team mates. I agree that there is much in rugby admin that needs developing over time. 'Dutchmen' also irritate me but at the same time I love them - They are part of who we are.
Louis Kriel10/17/2008 10:23 AM
Puke Watson en Kotsana Khompela, julle saal die verkeerde perde op! Die perd gaan julle gooi dat julle ...wel kots!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 10:21 AM
Ant.....you should get a job as a kleenex bunny, you bring tears to my eyes. After reading your speech, I am convinced that you are not daddy puke!!
Filemon10/17/2008 10:21 AM
Thank goodness there is a new minister of health otherwise they would have had to send garlic, beetroot and african potato's to Puke and Butt anna
Ivan10/17/2008 10:20 AM
Naas was taken out of context. I think what he is implying is that the matter regarding the Springbok must once and for all be thrashed out. Get the verdict and close the book. As for the 2 vomiting idiots....They should form their own band...."Chucky 2" and go entertain all those anti-bok idiots. What they should realise is that at a Springbok rugby game, a person can play the "Spot the black face" game.....and at the supposed bafana bafana the reverse is true....So leave the bokkie to the white ouk and get a life...
Peter10/17/2008 10:20 AM
Let's stop wasting any more energy on this fool Watson, who is barely the 6th best flanker in South Africa. He only became a bok thanks to his daddy's political connections and his status as an "honorary quota" player. He gets far too much newspaper column space. He's really not worth it. As for Komphela - what has that useless individual ever contributed to SA society. Typical useless politician
Anonymous User10/17/2008 10:17 AM
Mundo, your comment 'we change whatever we want when we want to' is exactly why the new SA will never work. Grow up!
Nick10/17/2008 10:16 AM
lol, this is funny. You know what though, change the damn symbol. The stoopid knobs in "guvament" will carry on breaking the systems down until all the white ppl run away like the Zimbo's did. Then they will sit in abject poverty and die of starvation all because they are a useless bunch of plonkers that are more racist than anyone else. Have the country, one day ur children will look back and be so disgusted with you, much like we are about ours. But what ever makes u happy hey?
Bradley 10/17/2008 10:15 AM
I find this whole “BEE, AA, RACISM” sickening. Why is it that politicians always has to interfere in sport. And as for the “ Boers “ mind you not all of us are potatoes farmers and if it was not for the Boers ALL OF US “ WHITE AND BLACK” would have starved long time ago. Stop blaming apartheid for your failures, rather stand together and try and build this country instead of destroying it. PS: if you want to comment here why hide behind a Anonymous name?
fred10/17/2008 10:14 AM
WELL SAID ROETS. Tell luke and his small bunch of small minded buddy's to go and toy,toy at the soccer . MAybe then our soccer will improve. Just remember there no free trips.
No more politics10/17/2008 10:14 AM
Hey Mundo, are you in a time warp ?? Will you be happy if the Bok emblem be replaced by 2 AK's and the toy - toy be intruduced as the Bok Haka ? Not all rugby supporters are racists you idiot. The only thing you and your comrades need to change is your attitude.
Conrad10/17/2008 10:12 AM
Luke, please give back your Springbok blazer. They'll give it to someone that deserves and wants it!
BOER10/17/2008 10:09 AM
Zorro if it wasn't for the boere the black would still be making fire by rubbing wood, you idiot. Boere might have started racism but the blacks perfected it. Stop writing K*K and get to work, that is what you are getting paid to do, D*psh*t
Conrad10/17/2008 10:09 AM
Moeketsi.....for an anti racism preacher you are very racist!!! For the anti springbok jersey supporters. Did any of you watch the Bafana game? Obviously not other wise you would have seen various black supporters at the game wearing Springbok rugby jerseys!!!! Don't even bore us with your lame excuses....just accept reality!!!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 10:07 AM
That is one of the funniest things i have read..Well done Roets..For Komphela to wear the Great Springbok Jersey and smile when they won the World Cup and then say that he wants to puke on it is distgusting.His spot at the game could have gone to someone who would have appreciated it and not felt nauseas the whole game.I think Roets has hit the nail on the head and Im all for it.Kepp the emblem and Luke and Komphela can go wear a proteas cricket top if they not happy with the Sprinbok..BOKKE FOR LIFE!!
Fred10/17/2008 10:07 AM
Mashangu, please wake up Dude! Where is your sense of humour? At least Afriforum does'n threaten to kill people who don't agree with them, like that idiot from the ANC Y.L. In case you haven't noticed, debate amongst the peepool is only cool when things go their way. Anonymous from Zim, please do us all a HUGE favour and stay North of the border. Why don't you invite Puke Watson and Kots Kompela over to share in the abundance that Bob Mug has created. Make sure they don't forget their green puke overalls, 'cause they're gonna need them.
JOE10/17/2008 10:07 AM
FOR YOUR INFORMATION IT`S NOT THE EMBLEM THAT UNITED PEOPLE IN SA,IT IS INFACT "ALL SPORT PLAYED BY SA TEAMS" NOT JUST RUGBY,OR THE RUGBY JERSEY.INFACT WHO DOES IT (SPRINGBOK EMBLEM)REPRESENT?.... NOT ME,PROBLABLY THE ALL THE WHITE FOLKS.WATSON HAVE HIS DEMOCRATIC RIGTH TO STAND FOR WHATEVER THE THE HELL HE WANTS TOO. GOODBEY "BOERTJIES"
Ant10/17/2008 10:03 AM
In the same manner as many black and coloured supporters wore All Black jerseys and cheered on the All Blacks as they thumped the Springboks at Newlands earlier this year (even though we had a coloured coach and 6 players of color on the field), so the Watson family also don’t love what they believed the Springbok stood for. And that is all fine in my book. I too, love the Springbok emblem, but I realize that there are many millions in this country who don’t. Trevor Manuel (minister of Finance) is one who has publicly stated that he has never supported it. The problem here essentially stems from rotten journalism – sensational misrepresentations made to sell newspapers and spark controversy. Whoever released this article should be fined millions of Rands to prevent this kind of nonsense from being printed again. I don’t believe Luke Watson will be disciplined by SARU, but he now has a legion of people who hate him which is almost unprecedented by any sportsman in this country. It’s quite absurd. I feel quite sorry for the guy. I’ve certainly heard people say a lot worse things. Try to imagine that you are a small of stature, underprivileged black rugby player – read the speech from that context, it really is quite inspiring.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 10:03 AM
200% for the Valiod sent! Nothing can top that! Come on you two - drink up and shut-up!
Adrian10/17/2008 10:02 AM
I am a so called "black" South African, I am 22 years old, I have no idea what happened in the struggle, I was not directly affected, my parents were. "Black" South Africans and South Africans on the whole should be grateful for the country they live in, we live in a free and fair society, and yes, it is not entirely free and fair all the time but stop judging the majority by the actions of the minority! Maybe idiots like Komphela should be worrying about the lack of infrastructure and funding of sport in this country and then maybe we will get some sort of transformation. "Black" South Africans don't play rugby because they are not exposed to it because government has not put the infrastructure in place for it to happen, private companies and sporting bodies put more into the transformation of the game then government does. This issue with the Springbok has nothing to do with our revered emblem, it has everything to do with Komphela's ego. Did we all not unite and support the emblem just over a year ago when OUR SPRINGBOKS won the Rugby World Cup? So Komphela, put that in your pipe and smoke it, as all you are is a bunch of hot air! I am not a "black" South African, neither am I "white". I am South African.
Marlene10/17/2008 10:02 AM
People responding to the article as "Anonymous" must be embarressed to be siding with the likes of Puke & Komphela. Well done AfriForum Youth, this has put a giggle in my day.
Ant10/17/2008 10:01 AM
The Springbok emblem isn't everything. It's playing rugby for your country that matters. The boys won't play any worse if they're not wearing a Spingbok under their armpits. They will still want to beat the AllBlacks, the Wallabys and the Pom's just as badly. If this symbol is so repulsive to 80% of our population, it should go. That said, I do love the Springbok, just as Naas does.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 10:01 AM
Lets call Bafana Bafana the Proteas too. Their name too was chosen by only one group but this is not mentioned by anyone above. An emblem is not racist it is all about perception get over it and keep the Springbok. Luke Watson is not even one close to the best flanker in S.A. he did not deserve his jersey on merrit and I think he knows it.
Erika10/17/2008 9:59 AM
Thumbs up!!! I wish everyone would stop the boer shit and involving Apartheid for EVERYTHING. And to the reader who involved Zim- what's up with that?!?! That's just clearly another indication that nothing can be handled on it's own and for what it is. Whether it was a black, yellow, white or purple player making these uncalled-for statements, we all (and by we I mean the true SA rugby supporters) would've reacted the same way! There are thousands of players who would kill for a position in the Springbok team, but Watson couldn't be more ungrateful and arrogant about it. Be proud of your NATION for a change, whether you're wearing a springbok, protea or cow. And grow up, Watson. This is the "big world" now.
Wendy Wiid-Visser10/17/2008 9:58 AM
Integrity is one of the most important attributes one can have - Luke ..... Puke Watson and your buddy sure have none - get a life - we dont need you in SA Rugby there are more talented players at school level than you
Avril10/17/2008 9:56 AM
Hahahahahaha.....Puke Twatson..........hahahahahah!! Good one!!!!!
Ant10/17/2008 9:56 AM
In the same manner as many black and coloured supporters wore All Black jerseys and cheered on the All Blacks as they thumped the Springboks at Newlands earlier this year (even though we had a coloured coach and 6 players of color on the field), so the Watson family also don’t love what they believed the Springbok stood for. And that is all fine in my book. I too, love the Springbok emblem, but I realize that there are many millions in this country who don’t. Trevor Manuel (minister of Finance) is one who has publicly stated that he has never supported it. The problem here essentially stems from rotten journalism – sensational misrepresentations made to sell newspapers and spark controversy. Whoever released this article should be fined millions of Rands to prevent this kind of nonsense from being printed again. I don’t believe Luke Watson will be disciplined by SARU, but he now has a legion of people who hate him which is almost unprecedented by any sportsman in this country. It’s quite absurd. I feel quite sorry for the guy. I’ve certainly heard people say a lot worse things. Try to imagine that you are a small of stature, underprivileged black rugby player – read the speech from that context, it really is quite inspiring.
Zim envy10/17/2008 9:55 AM
Check Anon's comments @ 8:59am: "don't come to zimbabwe"??? Firstly, who would want to go there? Secondly, what are you doing here if you're a Zim? Thirdly, everyone is behind Obama anyway! Although you don't do do him any justice by putting him in the same sentence as Zuma. Do you think Obama has any respect for Zuma just because he's black? Look at Condi Rice's stance towards Zim and rest of Africa. You see, it's not about black and white, as you intimate. It's about values, such as democracy, which separates Obamanites from Zumanites.
Ant10/17/2008 9:55 AM
I can’t believe the uproar caused by a simple motivational speech to a limited audience of a handful of black rugby players. This speech is clearly about, “rising above what you think you’re capable of and walking with Giants.” It is metaphorical – perhaps a little over the heads of the general rugby loving population, but then again they were never meant to hear it. It didn’t pertain to their situations; it is intended for the ears of a few black rugby players – a downtrodden breed who don’t believe they’re good enough to reach the highest levels. Luke Watson mentions some of his beliefs (this is the part that clearly upset most people). Surely we can accept that his reality is quite different to many of us white South African rugby lovers. In the 1970’s his Dad was harassed and tortured by apartheid policemen, their family home was burned to the ground by the same evil policemen, and yet Cheeky Watson stood up for his convictions, and is therefore highly respected by some of the black guys he played rugby with. Good for him, I say.
Mundo10/17/2008 9:46 AM
Its immatured of Roets.. The fact of the matter is that the Springbok emblem will be changed.Its not Hendrik Verwoerd who is the president. Its Kgalema Motlanthe who is. We change what we want whenever we want to. Luke, these player haters wont do jack to you.You are one special bloke and that's a fact.These racists wont end anywhere.You always come out triumphant from such battles.You have got the support of the black nation and that's what you need.Long live Luke and Komphela long live comrades.
Gareth10/17/2008 9:44 AM
AfriForum Youth national chairperson Ernst Roets said "... Springbok emblem was, in fact, a uniting factor in South Africa and not a dividing one." What does the emblem unite Mr Roets? If, you meant "uniting people", then which people would YOU, Mr Roets, like to been united with? For as long as the emblem was chosen by one "group". The very "group" that sees itself different(read: superior) from/to other "groups", no objective claim can be made of such an emblem to be "uniting" these groups.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:44 AM
Luke is not fighting to change the emblem you stupid idiots. He wants the mindset of all the boere to change. He is a brilliant player that is miles ahead of hes team. Just hope people can start watching rugby on the field and not listen to cheap sensation rugby stories, written by people who have never played the game.LOSERS!!!!!!
Annette10/17/2008 9:41 AM
GREAT Afriforum! Hou so aan!!!!
Yacoob10/17/2008 9:40 AM
Sorry this an anti Watson forum ,irresponsible journalism right here granting a white group coverage ,,,next thing you know they going to give Naas Botha a kettie to get rid of the Bok ,,, like this post will be aired ..wishful thinking
Glenn10/17/2008 9:38 AM
RE: MASHANGU! I am so sorry boet, but if you had read anything Mr Komphela said you would soon realise that he infact was the one who wanted to stifle debate by saying that the removal of the Springbok emblem is a necessity and should not be debated...I mean, our arrogant can you get...Who the hell is he to have any say on behlaf of ALL RUGBY supporters...Afterall these are the people that fork out the cash and proudly war their jerseys, not the masses who couldn't give a damn what happens to Rugby let alone even know what Rugby is. It's a contentious issue and should be firmly left upto the SUPPORTERS!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:38 AM
to the zimbabwean anonymous writer. im also a zimbabwean. we are hardly an example of transformation. dont bother to comment on issues you know nothing about, as its our country that is battling the most with changing times. your comments are abrasive and an embarrassment to other zimbabweans. All are welcome to come to zimbabwe...and witness what the level of damage unforgiveness can create.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:36 AM
Nice one Roets!! Maybe they will catch the hint to leave politics’ out of rugby. This is the type of response one should expect when their argument does not hold water...
Scarab10/17/2008 9:35 AM
I think that the Zimbabwian should go to school and learn how to spell and have meaningful conversations in public postings like this. It is this type of person who will be influenced by people like Puke Watson and company. What has Obama to do with South African sport??? I can see why Bob is still clinging onto power in his beloved country. He rules over stupidity. Now for the rest of the anonomous posters that is pro Watson. He should have known better to make statements like that in public. He never deserved the Green and Gold why now go and blemmish it further with that type of speeches. To Mr. Komphela I would like to say go and look into the soccer fraternity and also please look at the Olympics organization and their poor performances before you blast off again about a insignia that produces world champions twice in a very short period of time.
Springbok4Ever10/17/2008 9:34 AM
Let "pukie" go play for Bafana Bafana...there is something to puke about
Pierre 10/17/2008 9:34 AM
Puke Watson in the Springbok Squad is like a tortoise on a fencepost. Everyone just KNOWS he didn't get there on his own, nobody knows what the hell he is doing there and everybody wonders who's the idiot who put him there in the first place....
Ig10/17/2008 9:34 AM
Just a reply to "Anonymous User 10/17/2008 8:59 AM". No wonder your country is in the state it is!!!!
Pierre 10/17/2008 9:34 AM
Puke Watson in the Springbok Squad is like a tortoise on a fencepost. Everyone just KNOWS he didn't get there on his own, nobody knows what the hell he is doing there and everybody wonders who's the idiot who put him there in the first place....
Ig10/17/2008 9:32 AM
Just a reply to "Anonymous User 10/17/2008 8:59 AM". No wonder your country is in the state it is!!!!
Louis10/17/2008 9:31 AM
Anonymous user, what's your other name? Puke Watson? You are the only guy supporting this moroon, so we can only suspect that you are Luke Watson and trying to defend yourself. Come on, own up!
Give a little10/17/2008 9:30 AM
Just next to Cape Town on the N2 there are millions of homeless people living in shacks and eating pap and water every day. Please, please I beg you, Afrikaners, Englishman, Blacks, Whites, Indians. Let's resort to the real issues. Take away the bok, they would still be called bokke. Look how quickly we got attached to the proteas for the cricket. If we get a king protea as an emblem for rugby, we will pretty soon be known as the "kings", which would also be kind of cool. Everybody has this issues - Luke, blacks in the government. Stop your silly political games and start focussing on the real issues at hand - PLEASE. I can not read these comments anymore, IT MAKES ME NAUSEAS TO THINK THAT THERE ARE PEOPLE WITH AIDS AND PEOPLE THAT ARE HUNGRY AND DYING, AND ALL WE CAN DO AS SOUTH AFRICANS IS FIGHT OVER A SILLY PICTURE ON A JERSEY. I also love the bokke and the emblem, but if it would mean give a little, let's everybody just give a little. Please.
Ant10/17/2008 9:30 AM
I also want to puke when I see a Springbok jersey, but only when Luke Watson is in it. Because I know there are much better loose forwards in SA that actually deserve to wear it.
Zorro B10/17/2008 9:29 AM
Roets in one of poisoned dutch people that needs to be descipline. I also wnat to vomit on this jersey. I also vomit of my University of Pretoria degree because it needs to change Tswhane Institue of learning. Also, the word afrikaans must be removed since this small community is the only one calling themselve africans. Therefore Roets represent Dutchforum.
Mickey10/17/2008 9:29 AM
I think they are both idiots and I wish people would just build a bridge and get over the goddamn racism thing. Instead of changing names of streets and emblems, they should use the money for housing and creating jobs for the underpriveleged. Puke Watson go overseas!!!!!
Cliff10/17/2008 9:28 AM
The most ironic thing is that a friend of mine has been calling him Luke the Puke for years - she obviously had some inside information about his condition. Ooooh hope he stays - can't wait for him to go and play at Loftus or Bloem - Hahahaha. Well done Afriforum!!!!!
Yacoob10/17/2008 9:27 AM
i see guys have totally loss the plot and yes apparently this springbok is unifying,,, i wonder what they going to send Naas Botha ,,, a kettie perhaps
Greenblood10/17/2008 9:24 AM
To the anonymous Zimbabwean........last time I checked neither Obama or Zuma or your pathetic president played rugby. This is about rugby and unity in this country. P.S. Go to Mussina and see how many Zimbabweans are employed and given shelter by our so-called Boers. You must get your facts straight or !@#$ off
Moeketsi10/17/2008 9:24 AM
You guys are haters.I read the speech and ddnt find anything wrong with it.Media in SA is owned by whites and will always do everything in their power to shield a "white" man sport as they call it.Luke said he wanted to puke on the springbok shirt because of the way his issue of being chosen to play for the boks was handled.He was also true when he said rugby is managed by boeres,if he is lying,why aint you people saying anything about it??To show he is telling the truth,just check how many black peeps start for the curry cup final on sat!!!And with the way they do things,blacks will always be forced to play for sringboks cause currie cup teams are not willing to transform... Luke,keep telling the truth.One day this lilly whites would understand why you doing this...
Zorro B10/17/2008 9:23 AM
I also want to vomit on the rugby jersey. I will also vomit of my university of pretoria degree certificate, untill they change to Tswane Institute of Learning, will always remain racist. This Roets guy (thing) believe that springbok is uniting SA, only afrikaans (dutch) community. By we still need change afrikaans because SA dutch decendent are the only white community calling itselves africans.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:23 AM
I'm not defending Luke Watson or anything, but I'm just wondering...What if Luke is saying is true? What if this is the true state of South African Rugby? What if this is the way that he does get treated by South African Rugby? would we want him to just keep quiet and keep it inside?
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:21 AM
Ek dink ek is regtig teleurgesteld oor hierdie hele affere. Die geld vir die pille kon liewers gebruik geword het om ander mense wat niks het nie, te help. In my oe is dit n kinnerlike optrede. Luke, hou jou kop hoog, die hele storie sal oorwaai sodra hulle iets anders het om hulle besig te hou. Lyk soos n klomp mense wat baie tyd op hande het. Mense, om die persoon aan te val, gaan julle niks in die sak bring nie!!!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:17 AM
Puke Watson just cant play rugby....thats all. The other fellow is just not worth mentioning either!
jacques10/17/2008 9:16 AM
I'm a health professional and would gladly assist in providing nausea pills for the Watson and Komphela families but then again maybe they should suffer the physical and emotional pain of being the laughing stock of the rugby community.Luke stop playing rugby and become a stand up comedian.People will pay to laugh at you and what you have to say...... but wait aren't we doing that already.
Rodders10/17/2008 9:15 AM
Ha ha ha!! brilliant stuff, AfriForum! Although I don't know what all the fuss is about - I also felt like vomiting every time I saw Luke Watson in a Springbok jersey....!!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:12 AM
Lovemore Mabadla - your name sounds like 1 of the 'boere' referred to by the anonymous Zimbabwean at 08:59!!!
James10/17/2008 9:12 AM
Luke Watson has never had the talent to play for the Boks on merit, he got there because of political swing. Luke will fail overseas where our politicians have no say and his spokesperson (Cheeky) is not taken seriously.
Heinrich10/17/2008 9:11 AM
OK, Naas said that we should shoot the bok, let's get these 2 CLOWNS together, put the jearsey on them, AND THEN SHOOT the fn bok. Sure cure for all their ailments. Komphela should be known as komplaina (about everything). All this is bullshit, politic envolvement should be banned in all sport.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:07 AM
I think Luke and Butana were right. The way we treat our fellow black players and supporters in SA rugby is despicable. Look at it from where they're coming from.
Rhino10/17/2008 9:06 AM
Serves them right for making such idiotic comments. Well done!!!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:05 AM
Whahahahahaah.....this is the best news I have ever read. If the privaledge of wearing the springbok jersey was so nausiating for Watson, he should have given his match fee that he earned playing for the boks back to SARU or atleast donated it to the development of anti-nausia pills for atheletes that think they are politicians
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:05 AM
Luke Watson and his entire clan have and will always be contraversial. Whatever his political afflictions and beliefs are, he should keep them to himself and try to improve his performance on the field.
AZ10/17/2008 9:04 AM
Spitfire hit the nail on the head. Change the emblem to a Garlic. It will be fitting. Luke's game really stinks. This will also be in line with government policy,
Anonymous User10/17/2008 9:00 AM
Good sense of humour! This is what happens when kids are pushed and pushed by parent/s to try and become something they are not. Eventually the kids believe it, even when they are nowhere near the desired level. Shame. Seems Luke Watson will forever be remembered for 1) being pushed into being selected for the Sprinkboks by his father and his cronies and 2) for wanting to vomit on his jersey. Oh boy. Nice legacy.
Lovemore Mabandla10/17/2008 9:00 AM
Not only is Watson a plonker, but he is also a useless, slow uneffective rugby player
Gideon bouwer10/17/2008 9:00 AM
Puke Watson is the only affirmative action player that does not play on merrit. He is not only a deficit for the springboks but he country as a whole.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:59 AM
Haha It should have been suppositories. shove it up your heinie, Luke-O!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:59 AM
you people yo surprise me.Am proud of luke Watson.Look at all your hate of Watson its just you boer full stop u just like the anti obama's.Shame on you the world is changing trust me Zuma,Obama will be presidents what u gonna do lets wait an c dont come to Zimbabwe coz i am zimbabwean........
Blikkies10/17/2008 8:58 AM
Well said syd- Puke Twatson indeed
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:54 AM
Luke Watson's speech was actually quite inspiring. I am quite sure that those who were in the audience listening to the speech first hand felt that way. No matter what anyone says, South African rugby, the Springbok emblem was the shining light of Apartheid policy for many years. It would be good to replace it with a new emblem as a start but that is not going to magically make the pervasive racism that we all have disappear. Transformation of the self is needed before we can lay calim to being a truly united nation...and we are a long way from that.
Berns10/17/2008 8:54 AM
That we can take the mickey out of a sad story like Puke Luke and Comfy Komphela is hats off to people like AfriForum. I just hope those 2 idiots will take the medicine and take the results of their nauseating comments to heart and realise they are just 2 grains of sand on the beach of Springbok history. When an individual tries to be bigger than the game, the result is always the same: isolation, cold shoulders and eventually a forgotten piece of vomit. Cheers to AfriForum. It's a great way to start the weekend!
Frank10/17/2008 8:53 AM
THis is what happens when you mix politics and sport. Luke Watson was never Springbok material but through bullying tactics and political pressure he was included in the squad ( at the expense of more deserving and talented players ) and his inadequacies have been shown up now - both on the field and off it .... This is the guy the politicians were touting to be Captain ... yeah right !!!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:50 AM
give the guy luke a break,why are you all moaning about one thing day in and day out.there are more important things to worry about for example the soccer worldcup and the other thing the world economy
Spitfire10/17/2008 8:49 AM
I think there is more important issues at stake to sort out in this country than whether we use a springbok or kudu or some flower. The Health department would suggest using a condom or garlic. I think Luke Watson is not worthy of a springbok jersey any way. His level is not up there. Sorry Luke!
Mashangu10/17/2008 8:48 AM
I think we all understand that rubgy is bigger that individuals like Khompela and Watson, however the stance which the Afriforum Youth has taken symbolizes their refusal to accept debate over issues. What is the point of sending boxes to the two people? Is this how you intend dealing with every issue that you disagree with? Let me be honest with you, i think you are heading in the wrong direction, this country needs people who are willing to engage and debate issues that are pertinent to the country. I believe in freedom of speech and if we disagree with certain people - lets have a discussion and stop behaving in manner which doesn't contribute towards nation building. Our democracy is still young and obviously, certain people will raise sensitive issues, however it's important to acknowledge each other and lets have a debate and not boxes!!!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:48 AM
To Anonymous User no 3: If you think Watson's speech was brilliant, you obviously haven't read any self improvement books lately. His rhetoric is nothing but an unimaginative repetition of the incessant stream of psycho babble that you find in these books. You have to be utterly naive to be impressed by such presumptious bullshit.
Conrad10/17/2008 8:45 AM
Amazing how ALL of the Watson supporters are anonymous when responding. Probably him or daddy trying to cover the nausea feelingings.
Peter10/17/2008 8:42 AM
Can anything be done about their educational needs? Maybe free schooling for 5 years? If they manage to pass the matric exam then maybe they should go to university - is there a course on human relations, team building, leadership, fair play, decency, nationbuilding etc?
Pieter Lourens10/17/2008 8:41 AM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!! Awesome, I think if we can still joke about this we are on the right track..... I also feel that Watson's and Komphela doen not deserve to be taken up seriously anymore..... Sure, He's speech might have been inspiring to some people, but he's going on like he's an hero to millions and that he was on Robben Island himself..... come on Luke, move on..... it's 2008 already and that Springbok emblem has done more for this country than most of our politicians, you and your dad!!!!!!!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:41 AM
Good one!!! that should put them in their place, next time send a manuel on ' how to play rugby' aswell.
syd Beach10/17/2008 8:39 AM
Puke Watson
M. Passalaris10/17/2008 8:39 AM
If Watson and Komphela feel so strongly about vomiting on the Sprinkbok emblem why did they accept the freebies and all the free trips and staying in the best hotels etc and in the case of Watson why did he wear the Sprinkbok jersey, and why did he fight so hard to be included in the team. As far as I,m concerned they they should have declined any offers that relected the Sprinkbok emblem. Their hypocrisy makes me want to vomit.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:38 AM
Net jammer daar is nie medisyne vir mense wat nie in staat is om hul gesonde verstand te gebruik nie.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:36 AM
Dit is voorwaar cool!! Haal my hoed af vir Afriforum!! Dit is werlik "thinking out od the box". Dit is so waar dat die Springbok BAIE BAIE BAIE groter is as twee midgets.
Conrad10/17/2008 8:36 AM
When he leaves to play for the team that never made him an offer and does not exist, he can take Kompela with as manager and Cheeky as spokesperson!!!
Richard 10/17/2008 8:36 AM
Isnt it odd that when its a pro-Watson comment then the user is anon? Grow some and put your name to the comment if you are that committed.
Jaco10/17/2008 8:36 AM
Springbok 1 - 0 Team Vomit
Syd Beach10/17/2008 8:35 AM
Luke Watson..... You mean Puke Watson......
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:34 AM
we tired of this topic,why dont u let the politicians do their work and stop confusing the public.this is mainly to devide people.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:34 AM
Luke Watson is just behaving like the spoilt little brat he is and as far as I'm concerned he should board the plane ASAP to take up his lucrative offers overseas.... Lets see if they are willing to put up with his rubbish!
Andre Buys10/17/2008 8:33 AM
Hahaha nice one Roets - you're a genius. Rather next time you send them something poisonous. Komphela should not ever be allowed to attend another springbok game - he should not even be having the right to mention the springbok. And as for "Puke" hope he stays, I bet there is a couple of Proudly South African currie cup players that would not mind tackling him - even if it means a red carded offence for dangerous tackling. Roetsie boy, good on you
Wally Watson10/17/2008 8:32 AM
One would hope that with all this nausea , Luke Watson & his buddy Khompela have donated all their income frome Rugby to a suitable charity .
jakes10/17/2008 8:31 AM
good work boys .... i think it's all those expensive trips they take with the boks and the large pay chqs they received from the boks that caused the nausea , poor provice supporters having an idiot like that in your team !
shane10/17/2008 8:29 AM
Thats so funny, but AfriForum should have sent the Generic version of the anti-nausia pills and donated the balance to a childrens home. To set a good example and to do their bit in forcing the medicine companies to lower their prices, as nobody is buying their overprices, rip off, expolitative medicines anymore. Ernsts, you are classic man.
John10/17/2008 8:29 AM
Haha! Very entertaining article! However I believe Roets when he says, "The Springbok tradition is larger than Komphela and Watson." I also believe that Watson shouldnt play Springbok Rugby on the grounds that he is not patriotic to the long line of good rugby history performed by past and present South African rugby players! Playing behind the emblem on the green and gold jersey is a priviledge and not a right... so let Watson go!
Rika Delen10/17/2008 8:28 AM
Great! What about their constipation problems?
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:26 AM
Brilliant!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:24 AM
Finally, Afriforum has got a reason to be in the news thanks to the Luke Watson debacle. They'll probably ride this for all that it's worth and will still try and remind us of this when the dust has settled and we've all moved on. Sad.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:24 AM
Please, Mr Roets, grow up! Your pathetic display of immaturity is nauseating! I suggest you go and read the FULL transcript of Luke Watson's speech and get some perspective. Most of what he is saying involves transformation of one's heart, which only God can do. You've taken one little sentence and turned it into a big hysterical performance about nothing...and you've completely missed what Luke was actually trying to say. If you read it in context, it's actually an awesome, inspiring speech.
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:23 AM
Well put. To take away the Springbok is to say those who played for it (All Races) have put their bodies on the line for nothing. That explains Luke Watsons poor performance in a Springbok jersey.... He could not put his body on the line. Shame. Please go and play overseas. I Pity any team with Luke in it.
Nicole10/17/2008 8:20 AM
Ha Ha, absolutely brilliant. Glad to see some people still have a sense of humor, or at least any kind of sense at all!
Anonymous User10/17/2008 8:20 AM
BRILLIANT!!!!! ood way to start my Friday!
lexx bouca10/17/2008 8:20 AM
hahahahaha!!!!!!!!! well done!
Tank10/17/2008 8:18 AM
This is one of the funniest stories I have read in ages. Absolutely fantastic to see someone making light of the situation. Well done AfriForum. We really do sometimes take ourselves far too seriously. I am still giggling
mysticBoer10/17/2008 8:12 AM
Wel gedaan! Ek kan nie glo S.A. vat nog hierdie 2 idiote ernstig op nie....
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Introducing Bokkie

Dale Steyn's jaw-dropping spell

Varsity Cup - Ikeys v Pukke

Featured Blog

Nary a ball had been kicked in anger in the Super 14, but years of woe haven't dampened Huge Dude's spirit. 'This is their year', he says, the year when the Lions will go forth and conquer, and crush all foes beneath them to a bloody pulp! Take note, fair-weather fans, we have a true supporter in our midst!

Vote

Which South African team will finish highest in the Super 14 standings?

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide