Cricket

Injury scare for Boucher

2010-02-08 19:09
Email | Print
Mark Boucher (Gallo Images)

Nagpur - South African wicketkeeper Mark Boucher sustained a back injury during the third day of the first Test against India on Monday which kept him off the field during the final session.

The team management said the injury was not serious and that he would be available for the second and final Test starting in Kolkata at the weekend. AB de Villiers kept wicket in his absence.

"The doctors have given him a clean bill of health," a team spokesperson said. "It is being treated as a lower back strain and he will undergo treatment with the physiotherapist.

"We are not putting a time frame on when he will be back on the field but we are confident he will be ready for the second Test at the worst."

Your Comments

AFRICA STILE2/9/2010 6:03 PM
To 360Deg you dont know any thing about cricket.In your clever mind who is the best wikey and were is he in the rankings
AFRICA STILE2/9/2010 5:30 PM
I read all the comments by the people,and i think some of you are "deermekaar".I think that you dont watch the same cricket games than me.There is only one wickey that can save South Africa and that is a Boucher wikey.What dit he do when England was trashing South Africa.And then also the Auzzie that thinks he know every thing Boucher is much beter than Gilly.I like Gilly,dont take me wrong and i like the Auzzies also.i will say they are the best,but stil Boucher is and will be the best wickykeeper.Yes AB can take his place when he retires after South Africa take the 2011 CWC.
@ Auzzie-EEC2/9/2010 5:03 PM
Are you the oke that fitted a free-flow exhaust to my Golfie in Brakpan last Saturday?
360Deg2/9/2010 4:57 PM
@Boucher fans. Boucher is way past his sell-y date, time for him to retire read comment by Auzzie-ecc. But opps sorry I forgot he wants his 13 try at a wining a major event. Only one stat that counts did he win a CWC medal (NO) 4 and 0. 4 tries at a Cricket world cup and 0 wins not even a final. What is his international tournament count, 12 and 0. He is by far not the best in the world take off your blinkers. 1. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), 2. Brad Haddin (Ausie), 3 Matt Prior (England), 4 Dhoni (India). Boucher is not even the best in SA. Why do u think that he does not want to stay off the field for long because then we can see he is not required in the team. Drop Boucher let AB keep and Alviro open, prince move to five and AB at 6 or 7. PS AB kept wicket when Boucher left the field so AB will keep wicket
@aussie2/9/2010 2:56 PM
Julius Malema? Why don't you tell us who you really are mate? If you are so high and mighty and integral to the survival of the world as a whole. You spew nonsense just like he does.... What a twat.
Auzzie-ECC2/9/2010 2:05 PM
If only you who know who I REALLY am then you will probably think again b4 you throw that remarks mate. You see,I sit where you think you can come, but there is an agenda to fullfill and accomplish here mate, one that was supposed to change 5yrs ago already and your sport committe boss Mr Butana Kompela is working feverously behind the scenes to change that...and your Mr Majola has been told to toe the line regarding transformation now that the coach has been "fired" and the selectors been relieved of their duties....NEW DAWN,NEW ERA for cricket SA and the democratic public in SA.
paul2/9/2010 12:14 PM
@Joe if Boucher has not been performing of late - what does a player have to do to perform to your satisfaction, walk on water or some other miraculous achievement.
Deonic2/9/2010 12:13 PM
Mark Boucher is a legend. Study the statistics, also the last year's statistics. Those calling for his head base it on emotional arguments, not hard facts. You think and write like products of our current education system. You may think that you are "supporters", but the facts are that you are a negative influence with your uninformed ignorance.
Masendeni,Camps Bay2/9/2010 11:56 AM
This is a blessing in disguise.It had to come through injury.On what basis are you all saying Boucher is the best wicket-keeper in the world? Batting Averages(Matches) for Tests Dhoni 40.29(40) McCullum 32.12(49) Boucher 31.13(129) ODI Dhoni 51.67(156) McCullum 29.45(163) Bouchitjie 29.06(283). Any wickie can catch behind the stumps but what more does he contribute other than shouting and making noise when he catches the ball? Let's see what another person can do,break the clique.
Joe2/9/2010 11:44 AM
it's about time.... perfect way to step out of the frame without being dropped. was'nt performing of late.. Bye, Bye Boucher
Merc2/9/2010 10:50 AM
@Krystl: Don't know what's more worrying. Your standard of English or the fact that I understood every word. :)
Auzzie se gat2/9/2010 9:50 AM
Auzzie jou moer.. kom back to S.A en ek sal jou bliksem!!! by the way i'm a Char ou haha shows how diverse we can be in this great country of ours hay.. Anyway you guys in Aussie should stick to what you know best..Sheep shagging!!!!!!!!
@Auzzie - ECC2/9/2010 8:32 AM
Go back to playing broom ball with your inbred fellow citizens, before making idiotic comments. Actually, I am sure they were said in jest as a wind up.
Gerhard2/9/2010 7:51 AM
@Krystl Rangiah: Learn to construct proper words and sentences before posting again.. your english is "disgustn" @Boucher, keep up the good work, this game is in the bag. Get well
Olive2/9/2010 7:40 AM
Get well soon we need you. All the best
Tokkie2/9/2010 7:30 AM
@Auzzie-ECC - Ja you old f***, you can't even spell. "EGONY" must be the new name for an Aussie brain - thats if you got one. Bouchie has broken all records (taken from Gillie by the way) and those records will be around for decades to come !!!!! Go back to Aussie and play with your sheep bru !!!
C.K2/9/2010 6:20 AM
Auzzie-ECC, you're obviously an expat. Why don't you tell your adopted country's selectors to put a real keeper/batsman in their team. Bouch will be best for a long time to come, so hands off the legend.
Michael2/9/2010 6:19 AM
I am surprised that you have had such injury free career. You have Mr Reliable for SA for years. I do hope you recover and be available for next CWC. To the detractors of the players in the Proteas, your wishes willl come true after the CWC where will see many wholesale changes in the Proteas. Then lets see what the people will write and beg to bring Boucher back.
@ AUZZIE-ECC2/9/2010 4:37 AM
Your name says it all my friend!!! No mentality, no common sense and as common as sand. If not in AUS, please consider the move as soon as possible.
Chumani 2/9/2010 1:19 AM
@Mike, I dont think AB's very keen on becoming a wicket keeper for the Proteas, I believe he said his ambition is to become the best batsman in the world and batting at 6 wont take him there. I found it to be a selfish statement to make as possibly you could have a test wicket keeper, him(AB de Villiers) and for limited over matches some of the up and coming wicket keepers. Kumar Sangakara does it with distinction for Sri Lanka, captaining, batting at No.3 and keeping wicket. For me AB de Villiers is the logical choice to succeed Boucher which in turn might free up space for a decent alrounder that we so dearly need in South African cricket. As for our mate from Down Under (Auzzie-ECC), I think Boucher will leave after we beat you in the next World Cup and that's a promise.
TheLastRhodesian2/9/2010 12:36 AM
heino Kuhn??? his replacement would have been craig kieswetter if he wasn't such an arrogant pommie(ex-saffa traitor)!!!!!!!
Krystl Rangiah2/8/2010 10:23 PM
Its disgustn hw many ppl cal themselves Proteas support and yet dnt appreciate d legend bhind d stumps!! Nway u guys cn complain til ul blue in d face bt d fact remains dat Mark is 4eva gna b in team!! GET WELL SOON BOUCH!!
MD2/8/2010 9:41 PM
Get well soon Bouch. I have watched test cricket at the Wanderers and Newlands since Dennis Lindsay kept wicket. You're up there with the very best and we need you! Oh, and Auzzie, what is "egony"? Go play with your cars mate. I don't think you even know who Dennis Lindsay was.
The Voice of Reason2/8/2010 9:34 PM
Get well soon Boucher, don't worry about the stupid comments saying you should be dropped. You're a great keeper, and I hope you make it to the 2011 World Cup.
Mike2/8/2010 9:30 PM
I am sure the guy is allowed ONE injury in his entire career! You dont get his record by being injured. Lucky we had AB to stand in for a while. I am not sure if he is the permanent answer though. Bouch is still SA's best keeper/batsman option
Vic J2/8/2010 9:19 PM
This boykie almost cut his fingers off giving mates biltong. Whats a sore back to a Warrior. Ask Ntini. He will be around for at least another 2 years.
Mike JJ2/8/2010 9:09 PM
The negativity about Boucher from many sources - including "certain radio commentators" who do not even deserve to be broadcasting - gives me the stone sh*** ! Bouch is the BEST wickey/batsman SA have EVER had ..... and I have been watching cricket for over 50 years ... better than Waite, Lindsay, Jeninngs + the rest (and they were GOOD). But this guy is WORLD CLASS in every respect ..... His stats will never reflect how many times he came in when SA were "on a hiding to none", and Bouch rescued the team .... He is a world leader in all wicket-keeper stats, and if you really love and appreciate cricket (in all forms of the game), then doff your cap & acknowledge a TRUE MASTER in CRICKET. I wish the IDIOTS who are advocating him to "call it a day" would realise that this is playinng EXACTLY into the hands of the opposition ... all the other top teams would love to see the back of him - the answer is obvious!
JP Beukes2/8/2010 8:53 PM
Get well soon mate and come back (Don't listen to Auzzie - he's clueless)
Telg2/8/2010 8:51 PM
Auzzie-ECC, Sir if Marks presence present you with agony, we in SA hope that he will be around for many years to come. We don't slaugther sheep before the approprate time. We leave that to the men??? from 'down-under'.
Proudly South African2/8/2010 8:36 PM
Ouch auzzie just because he is the best keeper in the world he will bow out when he is ready go bouchie...
Auzzie-ECC2/8/2010 8:00 PM
Just as fate had it...time to leave the scene in grace before you're forced to go boucher...spare us the egony...
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

2010 Final Countdown - Security

Project Goldsmith - Goldfish meets Jordy Smith

Varsity Cup - Ikeys v Maties

Featured Blog

Brooke has resigned himself to the fact that he won't be eating any Italian food this week as they are booked up with cyclists carbo loading for this weekend's Cape Argus Pick n Pay Cycle Tour.

Latest blogs

Spies looking a lot BIGGER 3/11/2010 7:55:45 AM

Varsity Cup a breeding ground for greatness ... 3/11/2010 6:41:28 AM

The race for 6 3/10/2010 8:23:19 PM

Vote

Who is your least favourite player in the Proteas squad?

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide