Tank Lanning

Smit at prop is a shocker!

2008-10-27 16:36
Email | Print
Sport24 editior Tank Lanning (File)

Tank Lanning

A few of us decided to have some fun at a braai held at a mate’s house on the weekend for the Currie Cup final. Into a closed envelope we were asked to put the 28 names we thought the Bok selectors would come up with after the game. And then for every incorrect name written down, you were penalised two fat fingers of beer from the glass you were holding at the time …

The cops at the roadblock staged in Hatfield after the final would have been OK with me given that it was just the six fat fingers I had to drink. In the team I thought they would select I had Peter Grant ahead of Earl Rose at flyhalf, Cobus Grobbelaar ahead of Heinrich Brussow, and Jannie du Plessis in the side instead of Chiliboy Ralepelle.

But that was in the side I thought they would select! If I were the chief selector - and if I had been brave enough to put the side I would prefer to have been selected into my envelope - the roadblock cops might not have seen the funny side. I would have found space for Heinke van der Merwe ahead of Gurthro Steenkamp at loosehead prop, Du Plessis ahead of Ralepelle, with John Smit as the first choice hooker and captain, Tonderai Chavhanga or Wynand Olivier ahead of Odwa Ndungane, Grant ahead of Rose, and probably gone with Grobbelaar ahead of Brussow as a spare flank. Ten fat fingers please Mr fines master …

Experimenting

In my mind, given the talk in the build up to the selection, I thought there might be a chance of a surprise with a Rose or Brussow selection, especially given that Luke Watson had had the audacity to pull out from something he had not yet been included in! But Smit as first choice tighthead prop, with Ralepelle ahead of incumbent, Adriaan Strauss, was straight from left field! Sure there had been murmurings of playing Smit at prop, but since when do you do your experimenting at international level? 

I would love to see Van der Merwe doing some damage at international level, but Steenkamp has been more than solid in the Currie Cup, and it would be as the back up to “Beast” in any case, so it cannot be seen as a biggie. The same can be said for my want to see Olivier or Chavhanga ahead of Ndungane. The top wings and centres are established, and on a three match tour, all this person will do is carry bags. And on the flank, I think Grobbelaar has done more than enough to warrant a selection, but I have absolutely no issue with the Brussow selection. He is a younger player who has been in sensational form in the Currie Cup this year. To be honest, just seeing any name other than Watson is a relief …

But, and I quote our chief writer, Rob Houwing, “In the UK (winter), you generally hope your flyhalf is one seriously educated in the art of keeping the ball in front of the forwards, and that your tighthead prop is a particularly meaty, seasoned fellow who will ensure a crucial, front-foot bridgehead at scrum-time”

Underfoot is heavy

Ruan Pienaar might be the answer at flyhalf, and given that the selectors have said that he will get an extended run, perhaps the selection of Rose ahead of Grant as his back up will end up being a bit of a damp squib. But Grant has not exactly been given a real shot at the position as yet, and to say that Rose has done enough to jump him in the queue this Currie Cup is very questionable indeed. I presume Mr Grant will now be eyeballing those oversees offers he has received and we might lose yet another talented player!

But Smit as the first choice tighthead prop ahead of Du Plessis borders on the insane! Many coaches believe that the first player you pick is your tighthead prop. It is the cornerstone around which you build your scrum, and pack – especially up north where the going underfoot is heavy. And even more especially against Andrew Sheridan at Twickenham! What has Smit done to make us believe that he is our man?

Nothing, obviously, because he has not been selected at tighthead prop since his Under-21 days! And anyone who has taken an interest in his performance when he has been moved to prop late in a game, will not be drinking from the cup of enthusiasm. This is no disrespect to Smit, who I think should be first choice hooker and captain, but it smacks of either cowardice or malice on behalf of the selectors.

Cowardly in that they are not brave enough to drop Smit from the side completely given that Du Plessis is their new first choice hooker. Or malicious (and even more cowardly) in their attempt to set Smit up for the fall, given that they know he will not be able to handle the heat of the No 3 jersey?

Either way, not exactly the way I would like to see the selectors handling the current World Cup winning captain … 

- Tank is a former WP tighthead prop and now Sport24 editor and the author of the blog, Front Row Grunt.

Disclaimer: Sport24 encourages freedom of speech and the expression of diverse views. The views of columnists published on Sport24 are therefore their own and do not necessarily represent the views of Sport24. 

Your Comments

Bren10/28/2008 6:05 PM
Um, maybe Grant refused overseas offers because they weren't decent offers? Rose: imo a mistake to take him on current (or ever) form, but I certainly don't wish ill on him - Good luck!
Anonymous User10/28/2008 7:41 AM
Tank?? Boy what a name... So if Grant doesn't get selected for the Boks he might play overseas??? What a load of Bull!! Peter Grant is a professional and very level headed bloke. He already rejected an offer to earn millions in Japan becos he loves CT, braaivleis and the Springboks. As for John Smit, he is never going to play Bismarck out of the side so he either needs to play off the bench or at tighthead. Clermont (his club in France) played him there and he did very well... why now all of sudden the big outcry??? I'm just waiting for Jake White to add his 2c. After all he is Mr Perfect isn't he??? NOT
Devin10/28/2008 1:06 AM
Just a quick point about John Smit at prop. Firstly Smit was used as prop for Clermont on a few occasions, admittedly I cannot comment on his performance but the position is not new to him. Secondly, I seem to recall Smit moving to prop for the Boks in the latter part of a few matches, I think, mainly to accomodate Gary Botha when he was around. The move is a risk against a side like England but I'm not against it. Especially seeing as that in the recent Tri-Nations we were lacking a fetcher at times. Bismark has this exponent in his game. It seems the selectors are trying to incorporate as much talent as they can, even if it means shuffling things around, this is fantastic as I recall a talent in Brent Russell being lost because no one knew where to play him. Lastly, the exclusion of Grant is a travesty indeed, even if he didn't get the opportunity to play, he has earned the right to travel with the boys at least. Rose over Grant?? 1+1=3??. Doesn't make sense
Andrew10/27/2008 9:43 PM
When we play England, Smit and Mujati are going to have their heads shoved up their backsides by Andrew Sheridan. We desperately need a decent tighthead.We need BJ back. He disrupted Sheridan in the pool game at the World Cup. On another note, Pienaar's a wonderfully talented player but is too tall for a flyhalf (same as Steyn), especially in the NH conditions. It takes longer for taller flyhalves to clear the ball and to make things worse, flyhalves have to stand closer to the scrummies in wet/heavy conditions. I forsee a few chargedowns!! All the great allround flyhaves in world rugby have been on the shorter side: Naas Botha, Michael Lynagh, Hugo Porta, Grant Fox, Jonny Wilkinson, Andrew Merhtens, Dan Carter ………… Sadly, Butch is our best option for this tour (especially with his experience in wet conditions and his defence.
Sandveld10/27/2008 7:38 PM
Smit should be in the team because Matfield is no leader and prefers to play centre.I am not sure that tighthead is the best position for Smit.Bismarck is a great player but never pass the ball,conceed a lot of vital penalty's(read discipline) and is poor at lineout time.I therefore prefere John at no 2.I believe Ruan will be an exellent no10.Dok Craven would have liked him alot because of his natural tallent.What a player.I am also concerned about placekicking. Ruan and Steyntjie are not that secure.I would like to have Cockitt and Grant on the bench covering a lot of areas from the bench.
denver10/27/2008 5:59 PM
why must tank still go on and on about luke maybe he dont like transformation or is it that this white boy does not represent past policies
Tank10/27/2008 5:49 PM
Yes, I think BJ did take the Ireland offer after geting an indication that his services would no longer be needed internationally. But now he has certainly ruled himself out of contention. And John R - you are right, of course - it is all about choices. But with certain choices come consequences
Nick10/27/2008 5:40 PM
Guys, "gee kans". If we go back to some of the selections when White first came on board, there was a feeling that he had lost the plot. Many guys deserve to be in the side and that is the beauty about SA rugby. I would love to see Ruan cement his position at no10, because i believe that he could really be a great player in that jersey. With regards to John Smit in No 3, i believe that he will be ok there. More than anything, i would rather see him in any position and on the field than off, his captaincy is worth that much to the boks. Rose has got there on the "coach likes me" ticket.... Be that as it is, the coach will live or die by his selection. The bottom line is that we do not get to pick the boks, but when they are on the field, we get to support them. Against the Poms, that is all they will need... our support.
John R10/27/2008 5:39 PM
Tank, your idea of not picking overseas players has a fatal flaw. Guys like BJ were being ignored! So he has the choice, sit around here and risk being further ignored, or play overseas in the offseason and make money. Decent communication between the coach and players under Bok consideration would change that. Dev has no clue at all.
Big G10/27/2008 4:55 PM
But Tank, didn't BJ only go overseas because he wasn't considered after the appointment of PDV? Maybe I'm wrong, but that is what I thought happened
Tank10/27/2008 4:46 PM
BJ went to play his oversees in Ireland Big G, and thus joined the likes of Butch James and CJ van der Linde in unofficially making himself unavailable for selection. A policy I agree with by the way. Either chase the Pounds oversees in the snow, or stay behind, grow the game in SA, and play for the Boks ...
Frankie D10/27/2008 4:42 PM
The other point you are making is that perhaps Bismarck Du Plessis is not quite yet the man for the starting hooker, and I agree fully with that. Sure the Sharks have started a trend, and won a Currie Cup, but I dare anyone to recall Bismarck passing a ball. Every time he gets the ball he takes contact. How can that be good for continuity? Also - his lineout throwing is still fairly suspect it has to be said ...
Big G10/27/2008 4:36 PM
Can anyone please tell me what BJ Botha did to PDV and the Selectors. He was regarded as one of the best tightheads in the world not so long ago. Now he doesn't even get a sniff. The whole selection process definitely 'smells' of politics to me.
Jack10/27/2008 4:30 PM
Rose, Rallepele very poor choices. John surely cannot be asked to scrum at tighthead v England? We'll get murdered! Clearly motivated by a determination to get Rallepele in? Stefan Terblanche, on current form is the best fullback in SA by a mile! Jantjes is not close. While I like the idea of Ruan moving to standoff, where we have a problem, I dont think this tour is ideal timing. He has to grow into the position. De V is a really poor selector in addition to his weak coaching! And he's fatally hooked on quotas.
Anonymous User10/27/2008 4:09 PM
The man in charge has to make some radical changes to show he has a mind of his own and not just following Jake White's winning formula. Pity he has all this political pressure.
ChrisR10/27/2008 4:06 PM
How dof is that sqeaky car park Loratio to include non South Africans who are 2nd rate compared to the people left out.
Anonymous User10/27/2008 4:06 PM
Brussow plays a similar game to Schalk & will most likely compete for No 6. Spies has slowed down since his medical complications & one hopes kankowski (with his flair) reaches full fitness sooner rather then later. In spite of the general loathing for luke watson he alone amongst our loose forwards had that added dimension of ball in hand skill & passing ability (to make up for his lack of size) and of those touring kankowski comes closest to this kind of player. Odwa deserves his place - he might not be a great risk taker but he is a very reliable team player. Ruan will proove to be our answer at 10 & is most likely to match carter in skill if given the chance to play regularly at flyhalf. Rose will prove to be a great replacement 'impact' player in the last 15 minutes when any game opens up. Smit is no longer quick enough to play hooker. He has put on weight & this extra mass will make him a better scrummer then he already is. Plus, his shrewd captaincy is required until jean div can take over (jean's positiveness uplifts the team but he still needs to master that 'persuade the ref & read the mood of the game' ability that john smit has perfected. Chilliboy is a suitable backup to bismark and as both play a high risk contact game either can fill in for the other & sustain that style of play for the full 80 minutes.
Dutchman10/27/2008 4:02 PM
I am sure "Watsename Watson" will tell his grankids one day, he withdrew for his country's sake.Our coach(PDV "Previously Disatvantaged Victim") will get it right one day.I always wondered why do coaches (now and before) choose players out of position?
Ray10/27/2008 3:54 PM
I'm sure Smit can handle no.3.....why not??
Warren10/27/2008 3:46 PM
Just to remind you, Robert, that both Heinke and Beast play on the same side of the scrum so could never play in the same front row! Jannie du Plessis is seriously unlucky not to make this side, and will be badly missed in the UK. I think I smell a rat here, as Tank says. Selectors setting Smit up to fall ... hope it does not backfire monumentally!
Anonymous User10/27/2008 3:27 PM
Wonder if / when "flower children" Proteas (not bokke???) return from tour and they have lost all their games, what commentators like Colin will say? Many combinations (in my humble opinion) dont make any sense. Will PdV survive? Probably, because he is is still viewed by currently advantaged as God's gift to Rugby. The religion debacle & his conduct aside, still have an opinion of him as the destroyer of rugby as supported for so long. Team should represent the best SA has to offer, not because of AA. Too late for many competent players to get into the team to do SA proud. Bye bye boks. Hullo All Blacks, my support from 2009.
fan10/27/2008 3:15 PM
I know you want to win and keep your job but with the talent we have, even a slightly more experimental backline should be able to win overseas. I would love to see Olivier and Steyn as a center pair. The best 2 number 9’s in the country playing 9 and 10 with Steyn in the center and Jantjes at the back gives us more than enough boot. We are in for a hard time up front and that is where games are won or lost. Control the ball and control the game. (Look at the weekends results.)
robert10/27/2008 3:09 PM
How can anyone in his right mind keep Heinke van der Merwe out of a Bok squad. Heinke and Beast will demolish anyone crossing their path.
Frank 10/27/2008 3:02 PM
All in all I feel this side is a good one barring the selection of Rose as I believe Grant would have been a much better choice. I thought a guy like Nokwe was rather unlucky and then my 1st choice for Full back would have had to go to Stefan Terblanche who has had a awesome season and the final just highlighted this chaps ability. Smit at prop is ridiculous you dont "f" around with a tight head position. Well lets hold thumbs then !!!
Johan10/27/2008 2:51 PM
I mostly agree with your article, but it is worth mentioning that Smit actually played tighthead at Clermont during his stint there.
Johann10/27/2008 2:41 PM
Smit will be fine against any world scrum, except the All Blacks and England. I hope he remembers all the tricks from his younger days as tighthead!
Rv10/27/2008 2:24 PM
We all saw in the tri-nations how much we missed smith,he is a great captain and without him we look like a bunch of headless chickens.
colin10/27/2008 2:24 PM
Tank ou maat - Jy gaan jou woorde moet sluk van PDV en sy span gaan skoonskip maak met die Britts. 3-0 vir PDV en sy manne.
bert 10/27/2008 2:11 PM
Great article. I agree that shifting John Smit has more to do with politics than with should rugby knowledge. Mujati has not the makings of a great springbok whereas Jannie and Heinke has shown. Ralepelle is not the former self. I belief we are looking at a case of transformation. But this could mean the end of PD.
Steadfast10/27/2008 2:09 PM
These selections are as poor as old Snors coching knowledge. Rose by any other name still smells bad. What a shocker. Chilli - smaks of political interference. 3 scrum halves - also loose bagge there. Danie and Spies had to have paid someone to get in. Jannie deserves to be there. Actually with this outfit we make it so much easier for the English to beat us. This is the type of clueless rugby that has become part of our daily lives over the past 4 years - look at the board - Mark as VP, knows nothing about sport, I bet he put his 5c in. How else would Rose get in. All very sad.
Anonymous User10/27/2008 2:04 PM
I couldn't agree more.
Anonymous User10/27/2008 1:58 PM
No one is safe from the fall! Not even if you win the world cup for your country! Ask a fellow named, Jake White.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Columns by this Writer
RIP you great rugby man
Tank Lanning pays tribute to a great friend and great rugby man, Leo Williams. A man who helped change the game forever.
Can these Boks get better?
Tank Lanning was blown away by the Bok performance on Saturday, but reckons there is still a tiny piece of the jigsaw missing
Featured Blog

Brooke has resigned himself to the fact that he won't be eating any Italian food this week as they are booked up with cyclists carbo loading for this weekend's Cape Argus Pick n Pay Cycle Tour.

Latest blogs

Spies looking a lot BIGGER 3/11/2010 7:55:45 AM

Varsity Cup a breeding ground for greatness ... 3/11/2010 6:41:28 AM

The race for 6 3/10/2010 8:23:19 PM

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide