RolandSchoeman

SA sinks by world standards

2009-02-17 14:40
Email | Print
New Sport24 columnist, Roland Schoeman (File)

Roland Schoeman

I just want to thank Sport24 for having me on board as their newest columnist. From the very beginning I'm going to say, I am an expert on the field of swimming and training for it - and it’s my objective to be brutally honest and opinionated.

However, when the time arises for me to write on something other than swimming I will try and be as factual as possible, but please understand that these will be my opinions. You'll either agree with what I say or not.

I have been living in SA now since the Olympic Games and have decided that I will attempt to base myself in this wonderful country of ours. I’ve been living overseas in Tucson, Arizona for 10 years, away from family, friends and the country I grew up in. Based on this and the quest to find sponsors I’m trying to make the most of things in South Africa.

This week's burning question then: Why do all our top swimmers head overseas?

Plain and simple.

We don’t have the facilities or the competition. We have meager resources at best. Aside from that the simple truth is that South African sport is largely driven and controlled by politicians.

In the US everything is catered for from day one. The university system largely fits around you as an athlete. Scholarships are awarded for tens of thousands of dollars a semester and you are able to obtain an internationally recognised degree.

You are training and competing in multi-million dollar facilities, given medical aids, put on meal plans and have access to top coaches, nutritionists, sports scientists. The university views you as an investment and is willing to do everything in its power for you as an athlete to be the best and to help them win a national championship. It’s a relationship from day one. It isn’t about the coaches, the managers, the athletic directors. It's about the athlete.

This I am sad to say is the biggest thing we are missing in this country.

Look at the UK, Australia and the USA. Look at how many millions and millions of dollars are invested on a yearly basis to ensure their athletes bring home medals. SASCOC want their athletes to come away from the Olympics with medals. Well then the simple fact of the matter is that they are going to have to look at the other international models of success and adopt those.

If SASCOC and corporate South Africa doesn’t start investing now for 2012 and 2016 we can’t expect to win any more medals than in our last outing and as far as I am concerned with the talent that we have in this country that just isn’t acceptable.

We need to catch a wake up and it needs to be quick. Sport in this country needs to be run as a business by competent individuals who have the skills and the know how.

It’s my goal to actively force for these changes and I need the help of everyone out there. We need to call for greater accountability.

Roland is a multiple Olympic medal winner... and an avid Blue Bulls supporter.

Disclaimer: Sport24 encourages freedom of speech and the expression of diverse views. The views of columnists published on Sport24 are therefore their own and do not necessarily represent the views of Sport24.

Your Comments

Anonymous User3/3/2009 11:05 AM
Roland, you are one hell of a guy in all ways. Why do you want to waste your young llife and talent on this politically approved crime ridden, corrupt and disgusting population which is sinking as I write. The country is good -the people lousy - the government stinks. Go somewhere (and I am sure you can go ANYWHERE) where there won't be this bunch of ignorant, horrible idiots who do not begin to understand the meaning of being a great sportsman, and be happy.
Roland Schoeman2/20/2009 4:57 PM
Thanks for all the positive comments I'm unbelievably excited to be writing and giving everyone an athletes perspective, i think the general portrayal has been far from accurate and am looking forward to helping educate everyone on exactly what it is we have had to go through to be where we are. To all those blue bull haters out there. I'm just glad Luke Watson isnt on our team
Anonymous User2/20/2009 4:10 PM
The overall understanding of sports and sports issues is missing. The people who create the rules have no idea what they're talking about. Good luck, Roland! Nice article, way to go!
Stormers supporter2/18/2009 1:38 PM
You had my attention all the way to the end, but when I saw you are a Bulls supporter, your credibility went out the window, sorry boet!
Deon2/18/2009 11:01 AM
Hi Mate I wish all the best; you seem ready to make a difference (I guess it’s about time someone takes that stand). We right behind you all the way.
Anonymous User2/18/2009 10:38 AM
Hi Roland and thank you for your honest views, the fustration I have is that nobody in SA swimming has taken one bit of notice, we are almost 6 months on from the Olympics and we still have no national coaching structure in place, no plan going forward, no squad system, national training squads that do not have the best swimmers participating, poor sponsorship the list goes on, I have a daughter who is top in her age group nationally and i am worried she will be lost to the sport due to lack of support or opportunity, I am even looking at setting her up to swim for another country, this is a very real issue.
Dina2/17/2009 11:36 PM
You go guy! Wonderful to have you contribute and apply your ever present logical thinking to current issues in sport. Just one complaint - you are being far too kind to the pathetically incompetent and 'fat cat' officials. But then I suppose that is part of what makes you special - always willing to play a positive and active role in bringing about change. We support you 100% and if you ever go into politics you will have my vote immediately.
Anonymous User2/17/2009 6:05 PM
Two things I forgot to add: 1.) the look on that ducky's face (no need for words)... 2.) what happened to the arms boet - hope some biltong and boerie back in the Motherland will fix that!!! Vuus
Anonymous User2/17/2009 6:02 PM
Roooland - Sharks all the way china! Very well said - for those of us who have experienced it, I know you have a lot more to say! Let's just hope that someone - anyone - acutally remembers that it's all about the athlete, and wakes up and tries to help them. Look at AUS - spending more on their sport budget that their military budget! I know, I know - it's AUS, but they still dominate in MULTIPLE sporting arenas, not just those enjoyed by the boys in power... Good to see you're back in SA - all the best my man... Vuus!
Douglas Pearce2/17/2009 5:40 PM
This is the reality. People participate in sport for fun. They watch it for fun. They invest in it for profit. At the moment, there is not enough profit to be made out of swimming in South Africa. Same applies to a sport like tennis. If you stand on the bye lines then you will be an old man before any meaningful change is seen in swimming as a sport in this country, Roland. But then I am sure you have probably considered this. Which does not mean you should not start. As you are an expert, why not run for political office? Seb Coe did so after his running career ended and proved one person can make a difference. You sound passionate. I sincerely hope it doesn't wane. Best of Luck
Anonymous User2/17/2009 5:15 PM
Hey Roland, this great! I have to say though it is not just swimming or sport as such but everything else!! South Africa does not care about it's people and the people at the top is still just jumping on the gravy train. So true the old english proverb "In for a penny, in for a pound". I live in Canada now, I miss SA terribly and my wife(Canadian) loves the country. But we have had one too many bad experiences and decided to start our family where people still care about each other. So all in all - good luck with this venture of yours and I sincerely hope that you can at least make a change. And still there is blue blood in my veins!! :)
Anonymous User2/17/2009 5:01 PM
My advise for aspiring swimmers : leave the country and swim for a different flag. South Africa feels nothing for you, and has no intention to see you perform.Example : SA sport administrators treated the last olympics simply as an extended, tax-funded holiday for themselves and family, while the athletes had to fend for themselves, with no meaningfull support base. Who wants to compete under these conditions, except under-achivers that no other country would want ?
Anonymous User2/17/2009 4:40 PM
Bulls supporter! waaahahahahaha. Great to see a famous SA sportsman doing something for sport in this country and a good start is corporate sponsorship for swimming. I would like to see more of our sporting sons get on board. Good luck.
ronnie smith2/17/2009 4:33 PM
good luck you going to need it ronnie u.k
Anonymous User2/17/2009 4:26 PM
Roland you are a true hero and thsanks for trying to put somrthing back. As far as the Blue Bulls thing, I just want to say to all those who commented. None of us are perfect and Roland is allowed to make one mistake!
Anonymous User2/17/2009 4:22 PM
Hi Roland , Welcome. How refreshing to hear an athlete putting into black and white what so many of us feel. My son has represented South Africa at international level 4 times in gymnastics. Twice he has received gold medals and been a finalist in world championships. No support from his sporting body has been forthcoming. Nor any recognition. As he is not a "transformation athlete" no corporate sponsorship is available. SACOC and SAGF need to wake up if they if they don't want to lose these wonderful ambassadors belonging to South Africa to other countries.They do not reward, support or acknowledge determination, dedication, patriotism or TALENT.
Anonymous User2/17/2009 4:17 PM
@ Colin - Swimming is a very popular and a fantastic sport. I did the Midmar for fun, and got hooked. Just look @ the Midmar Mile if you want to see how many keen SA swimmers we have. If we could only tap into that potential!
Anton2/17/2009 4:03 PM
@V - you make a point. But then again, I never had any interest in swimming until Roland and co. won gold. Now, though I am no swimmer, and love rugby (Bulls and Sharks rule!) and Cricket, I follow swimming as well. Thing is that interest increases in a sport when we see our nationals doing well! Ditto cycling and running. There is no quick fix here, but hats off to Roland for initiang some change. We need it. LOL @ Jono re therapy - I may need it this year too!
Sharon2/17/2009 4:01 PM
Straight to the point Roland, lets hope you can continue to do that. I agree, I would love to see sport development start at grass roots, we need private administrators of funds and even better management, to such an extent that the two should be kept seperate and accounted for in such a way. Unfortunately politics will always have a finger in the pie as this is one area where any ruling political party could get good publicity when things go our way (Rugby World Cup) without doing much in terms of proper administration etc. Looking forward to your next article.
Anonymous User2/17/2009 3:59 PM
Roland, what you say is absolutely true. The Commission report is proof of political interference as the issues at hand were not addressed in the report, or if they were then they were edited out of the one presented for public consumption. ther has always been acover up and this was another one. We wish you well and good luck. Someone needs to rock the political boat that has cursed our sport.
Edward2/17/2009 3:57 PM
Nice to have you on board! I'm sure you're not back in SA for the money...which is good to see. Agree with your article, but would like to agree with an earlier comment made that in this country - on the face of it - we have other priorities than investing huge amounts in "second-tier" sports. But that is not necessarily right. I think you could have argued a lot stronger the issue of money vs olympic medals. Rather than seeing medals as a goal in itself, perhaps it would be useful to talk about WHY we want medals. Is it not to motivate a nation to achieve more than it does? is it not that sense of pride that can be instilled? There's no value on that! It's immeasurable! I'm sure you agree...but perhaps its worth pushing this point, otherwise administrators will simply not see it politically feasible to put money in a sport that they see no greater benefit in. Our administrators sadly do not see the bigger picture in many instances.
colin2/17/2009 3:57 PM
II say invest more money in sports which we have an ability to do good at international level - structures for rugby and cricket are still non-existent in many of our townships and we have millions of young black soccer talent in this country but without the proper facilities and coaching we are bound to fail and exclude the masses. The fact is that there are only so much money and we need to invest it were we are almost guaranteed success - I am not to sure how many competitive swimmers we currently have in this country and if a large number of South Africans actively tacking part in the sport of swimming. We do not see the Americans putting millions of dollars in the Rugby or cricket for that matter as there is limited interest in these to sports in the US.
Anonymous User2/17/2009 3:55 PM
With all the current (and past) scandals hitting the news every day, we need something to unify our country and make us a proud, not embarrassed nation. Sport can do that, and each and every one of us needs to support Roland's efforts to get the politics and corruption out of the sports, improve the facilities and sponsorships, and nurture sportsmen. Looking forward to your ideas Roland! Count me in!
DB2/17/2009 3:52 PM
I agree with your sentiments. Sadly I think most young promising swimmers, water polo players (all sports actually) who get foreign sports bursaries will start leaving never to return as you did, but will compete for their new adopted countries. Expect to see many more of our South African surnames popping up in foreign colors. 5 years ago I would have encouraged my kids to stay and compete for SA, but I think those days are over, especially in this professional era.
V2/17/2009 3:50 PM
Unfortuantely another issue is that South Africans are big supporters of sports like Rugby, Cricket and Soccer, which is where all the big sponsorship budgets go - the only time most South Africans will watch show jumping or swimming or archery is during olympics, so companies don't see the same sort of returns on their spend when sponsoring those sports compared to Rugby, Cricket and Soccer. Would we not need a culture change to change that?
Jono2/17/2009 3:47 PM
Glad to have you to read. Your comments comparing us to other developed countries are out of context for us. We have serious priorities that overshadow meal plans for athletes. We cannot complain about the lack of competition, our country is the size of a US county. We need to find inovative ways of getting better as well as the money solution. There is a balance and we need to find it. I know a good therapist that could help you with the Blue Bulls thing.
Anton2/17/2009 3:46 PM
We need the ex-professional stars like you Roland, as administratos of your chosen sports. These bloody politicians and cronies that get into our sporting bodies usually have ulterior motives, and do very little for the sportsmen and women. Sports for the SportsPeople! Politics for those who couldnt find a real job elsewhere. I trust you will succeed though Roland - well respected and full of positive energy! SA needs you!
Max2/17/2009 3:42 PM
I'm not sure running sport like a business will help in SA. Our variety of business is likely to mean that we have a few fat cat "BBBEE CEO" types who enrich themselves at the expense of everybody else and then want to blame the athletes when things go wrong. Hang on, how's that any different from what's happening now!?!
Werner2/17/2009 3:41 PM
Good to see you on news24 Roland! I am sure you will do an excellent job and the best of luck with your future blogs.
Ben2/17/2009 3:39 PM
Finally someone to speak out! Its about time our sportsmen/women start to speak out about these issues. If no one starts to sit up and listen, South Africa can be guaranteed more and more great sport individual are going to leave and i dont mean just represent else where, but emmigrate to countries that are prepared to seriously invest in them. For some people sport is just not a lifestyle its their life and they live of their earnings. In depth investigations into Sport protocols need to clearly be revisited and improved and better olymic villages with schools need to be developed. It is very clear that SASCOC and all its members are sitting on the glory of those sportmen/women working really hard. They are hopeless and definitely none of them have a clue what is happening. I wish you and others all the luck
Sinudeity2/17/2009 3:37 PM
Im reminded at the Olympics how the SA 'officials' brought ALL their families and friends with on tax payer expense. Hogged all the athlete lodgings, so that the athletes had to organise their own lodgings. Great job guys.
Anonymous User2/17/2009 3:36 PM
National Sport can unify a nation. Look at Olympics, para Olympics and RWC's. The 'learned' politicians in our country need to recognise that, and work to promote all sports and sportsmen, instead of concentrating on trying to 'feather their own nests' and reputations with people who basically are neither involved in sport (through lack of opportunity), or do not care about Sport (the average voters). Good luck Roland - you are going to need it with our politicians and administrators! Tragedy is that we have unlimited potential in so many sports.
biscuit2/17/2009 3:25 PM
Nice to see Roland getting on here and someone who says it like it is.Next stop - Minister of Sport....
Alan2/17/2009 3:25 PM
Agreed - the Politics is ruining our sport. There would be a lot more 'Private Investment' in sport if the misguided Sport's Minister and others butted out! S'pose feeding their inflated ego's is more important to them though. Perhaps we need to 'inspire' the Govt. to encourage and develop sports at grassroots level, and let the professionals take care of their own sports at national level. What exactly can Stofile offer the Sports people of this country?
Hopeful!2/17/2009 3:22 PM
Welcome Roland and great read. I agree that there's way too much politics in SA sports and too little emphasis on identifying and developing the natural talent that many South Africans have. Good luck with the challenge that lies ahead and I'm sure you will get the support you need from the sport loving SA public.
Anonymous User2/17/2009 3:20 PM
I could not agree more with Roland's comments. Besides being an avid fan, I have a son who is a top breastroker in his age group, both locally and Nationally, and who has dreams of one day representing his country at the Olympics.He may have to give up that dream if something is not done soon within our sporting body. He may be left with no alternative but to leave to study and train overseas like so many others before him, if he is to achieve any sort of recognition for all the long hours of training.
g-man2/17/2009 3:17 PM
Good one first up Roland - but i do think you are stating the obvious to a degree. until the politics is totally removed from the running of ALL sport in SA, things will just not improve.
Anonymous User2/17/2009 3:16 PM
Am interested to know why an American university sees you as an asset, to throw all that money your way. Especially when it comes to an Olympic games, or any major sporting event, and you swim not under their colours, but your own country's flag. How do they justify it? Would be interested to know.
Raphael Mlauzi2/17/2009 3:13 PM
And tell that man Mbeki that his attempt to rename sports teams while there were more pressing problems like electricity was as reckless and bankrupt as it was none of his business!
Stormers fan2/17/2009 3:11 PM
You had my full attention until the Blue Bulls bit at the end. Eish man.
Anonymous User2/17/2009 3:09 PM
Welcome Roland - great to have your insights! How do we get SA politics out of our Sport though? (Would actually love to get SA politics out of my entire life!) The Politicians are corrupt and self serving, and sportsmen and citizens needs never come first. Our current Minister of Sports is such has such a negative on our Sports Development. How do we overcome this?
Rolf2/17/2009 3:08 PM
great for you to be on sport24! i agree to what your saying but isn't the fact simply that we don't have the budget to construct such multi-million $ facilities and so can't blame SASCOC? We need private investors which in SA is very hard to come by..
Burgiesburnin2/17/2009 3:05 PM
My daughter has national colours for her sport. She is a student at RAU. Early last year she was away on tour but would only return the day after the one day registration date. They would not allow her to register early prior to taveling overseas to represent her country but insisted she pay a R5000.00 penalty for registering a day late. The national body that controls the sport provided all motivations and documents but RAU refused to be moved. You have a lot of work to do Roland.
cobus2/17/2009 3:04 PM
For a Blue Bull supporter you talk, surprisingly, a lot of sense. Looking forward to reading your articles.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Columns by this Writer
Closing on a high note
As another long swimming season draws to a close, it's once again been filled with mixed emotions for Roland Schoeman.
Making a splash in Rome
Days away from the Rome World Championships and SA swim star Roland Schoeman is feeling excited and relaxed.
Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Sharks to show their true colors 9/3/2010 9:23:45 AM

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Amazed Angry Gutted 9/3/2010 8:06:50 AM

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.