Rob Houwing

Spain trump the high studs

2010-07-12 07:12
Email | Print
Sport24 chief writer Rob Houwing (File)

Comment: Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer

Johannesburg – The Netherlands tried to crudely drag their Soccer World Cup final opponents at Soccer City here into the abattoir. Only Spain’s artists stubbornly would not comply on Sunday.

The 2010 final produced an outcome to delight unpartisan purists, all those who do value soccer as the beautiful game. Who knows, maybe even the odd grieving Dutch one?

It was 116 minutes in the making, but when Andres Iniesta – he of the constant creative string-pulling -- so fittingly broke the deadlock with the 50-50 scenario of penalties looming incredibly large, the Dutch finger was suddenly, violently and quite rightly removed from the dyke.

Holland had taken a premeditated decision, and surprisingly forcefully so, to stop the Spanish flair game at all costs, rather than go at them with their own, hardly shabby attacking tools.

Marginally the underdogs in the eyes of canny judges before the showpiece anyway, the Dutch simultaneously sent out a signal that would have perked up their foes: we don’t really believe we can topple you under orthodox circumstances.

Spain, in their first ever final, would not deviate from their contrasting, pro-football values.

And it paid off -- even if they made hair-raisingly heavy weather of landing the killer touch.

In fairness, rosy opportunities were spurned by both sides, with important last-ditch saves off their legs at different stages by rival goalkeepers Iker Casillas and Maarten Stekelenburg.

But you always, always harboured a feeling that if a single snaffle would settle the destination of the trophy, Spain, unquestionably more polished in the final third of the field, would be the likelier beneficiaries.

Indeed, it was a minor miracle that the Netherlands were able to stay in the hunt for as long as they did, given the rare torrent of yellow cards that came their way and, every now and then, provoked the Spaniards into similar folly.

No fewer than eight of the Dutch personnel caused referee Howard Webb to reach for his pocket, until the tenuous tightrope of single bookable offences per player snapped with John Heitinga getting an inevitable second yellow, and expulsion, in the second session of extra time.

Sometimes in soccer they say 10 men can be harder to break down than 11. Just not here, as Iniesta provided the priceless separator with his right-footed finish from close range.

What got into the Dutch? Were they really supposed to be this cynical, this spiteful, come the big day?

Theirs was the on-grass equivalent of road rage, and for all their near-laughable protests of harsh treatment from the English policeman Webb, a counter-lobby would suggest the Netherlands were fortunate to still have a full complement of personnel even at the 45-minute mark.

More impulsive referees, for instance, might have been tempted to brandish red against Nigel de Jong just before the half-hour when, with the game already dangerously combustible after four yellow cards in the space of some 13 minutes, the significantly airborne midfielder powered his studs gruesomely into Xabi Alonso’s stomach.

The Dutch certainly weren’t done for rough-house stuff: Heitinga protested vehemently in the second half, when he earned his first caution, that David Villa was feigning discomfort after a challenge – yet the replay showed pretty conclusively that he had indeed been kicked, end of story.

This was Holland’s third botched job in a World Cup final, and it was hard not to suspect that their bully-boy attitude was at least mildly motivated by the memory of their most famous heartbreak in 1974.

Then, a Dutch team of sublime all-round verve and sparkle had been subjected to all manner of foul play – including rugby tackles, no less – as they nevertheless waltzed their way past pitfalls to a meeting with old enemies West Germany in the climax.

There, however, it all unravelled rather tragically, as the tourney-long connoisseurs could not claim the key prize.

The 2010 final will be remembered as the occasion when the Netherlands, perhaps, chose to transfer the boot to the other foot; tried to burgle the World Cup as some sort of anti-pretty brigade against aesthetic superiors themselves.

But it backfired. Again.

Do you think Paul, that unfailingly ace-tipster octopus, had been a fly on the wall as the Dutch concocted their unlovable tactical folly?
Whatever the case, neutrals worldwide will probably be united: Viva Espana!

Your Comments

Neutral7/14/2010 9:14 AM
Hello everybody, Unfortunately the level of world cup goes down! Teams as Italy in 2006 & Spain in 2010 win the championship. Who remembers Italians victory & their performance 4 years ago - only their fans. In 4 years I am pretty sure we will say the same about Spanish team too. I am neutral fan of Brazil team, but I was watching the final match as well and question what will stay in my memory about this match? answer nothing!!! Anti-soccer performed by Dutch and Spanish teams. Spanish victory is the shame of soccer!!! Team which scores maximum 1 goal in match (last 4 matches) does not deserve to be a champion. OK I understand happiness of Spaniards but be honest their national team is the shame of football Most of us love football for great games and brilliant players. I really disappointing - avarage level Grey Team becomes a champion. Shame!!!
jewel7/13/2010 4:23 PM
The Ref was horrible. Why put an already controversial Ref in a World Cup Final match? Yes, De Jong's kick was not cool. I don't condone that but **** happens in a final game..passion galore. A good Ref gives firm warnings to set the tone and the boundries. Yes, warnings first before a mass of yellow cards. He then gets respect from the teams. The ref controls the match that way. They should have had that Japanese Ref -(Dutch-Brazil match.) He was great! If so much talk is about the Ref, you can only conclude that the Ref WAS a problem. Did we hear so much talk about a Ref following other matches? He stifled the Dutch game and frustrated them beyond belief. It's a World Cup final, just let them play. There were three huge missed or bad calls in a very short period of time that were against the Dutch, (more throughout) the main one being the corner kick they never got which could have changed the whole complexion of the game. Funny, when he gave a yellow card to Dutch, he stormed over and berated them. When he gave one to Spain, everyone had to wait to see if the yellow was even issued! He broke the Dutch spirit and their game. Also, the yellow cards given to Spain were always in a pretty safe zone, and to players that were not that good. Conversly, the yellow cards were given to good Dutch players and were in a potentially high score zone. If the Dutch are such thugs, why did we not see that in other matches? Things that make you go hmmmmm I for one have lost a lot of respect for the corrupt game of soccer. Yes, corrupt, why do you think soccer is the only game that doesn't allow video replay. It may keep the game honest, that's why. FIFA did a wonderful job of gaining North American interest into the game. Bravo! Too bad for a good team like Spain to win and for a good Dutch team to lose under circumstances shrouded with such controversy thanks to the Referee.
smiler7/13/2010 9:48 AM
The beautiful FARCE... The only people to benefit were bollywood talent scouts who were drooling at the performances they witnessed.
Craig7/13/2010 9:01 AM
Soccer is a man's sport! ffs - what a pathetic article, written like a 1800's scholar who is debating impacts of global warming. pathetic - I bet you have never played a contact sport in your life. go back to 'cooking' or 'knitting' you twat.
catfish7/12/2010 7:48 PM
Oh, and KEVIN, before I forget ... read "bad losers" aka "Kevin"
catfish7/12/2010 7:46 PM
jeepers but some of you Oranje supporters are bad losers. Well done Rob, very well written and honest article. Interesting how we South Africans got behind teams and still are very much in the GEES. Come Bafana, make use of this!
Porra-nut7/12/2010 4:06 PM
@ORANJE FOREVER, Spoken like a true sportsman or woman
Penalty Spot7/12/2010 3:24 PM
'Jimmy Jump' journalism if i`ve ever seen it...thanks enough trying and guessing from this oke.
Whistle Happy Ref7/12/2010 2:37 PM
The ref was whistle-happy. Few of the Dutch tackles were malicious - they were largely mis-timed because Spain were dominating possession. One bad tackle from behind, and the high foot from De Jongh. The rest were due to a whistle-happy ref who could have played advantage many times rather than stifling the game. Puyol's professional foul on Robben was worthy of a red card. Why is that not mentioned in the article? Rob, you clearly missed most of the subtleties of this match...
Cripp1erEffect7/12/2010 2:09 PM
@FlameWulf I know he got 2 yellows that equal red Pyoul was also on yellow and did same thing and got scott free. I agree that deJong should have gotten red card but I disagree with ref not showing cards to Spain for same error.
FukFifa7/12/2010 1:48 PM
And the OSCSAR goes to SPAIN and will be presented by FIFA at a special award ceremony. Something must be done with this so called Gods of sport FIFA, FIA etc.
Pedro Depacas7/12/2010 1:10 PM
Everbody is entitled to an opinion ,having said that , obviously all you dilinquents have tried to read Mr Rob Houwing's unbiased article , what i would like to know is how many of you pathetic experts have ever actually played, never mind top flight ball but even a social kick around on a Sunday afternoon , i bet all the tea in China none of you have ,at the end of the day class and natural ability beat palooka play the Dutch let themselves down , not the ref ,i bet the Van Bastens of the world must have been pulling their hair out ,because the Dutch are capable of so much better , so well done to Spain who should have actually won by 3 goals to one , and to all the experts...... go play juckskei or ping pong , you bunch of clowns !!!!!.
harold7/12/2010 1:04 PM
that was not soccer. what a disappointment : the fans and SA brought 200% to the SWC but the players 75%. the best only game of soccer was germany & uruguay. last night was soccer hooliganism and the ref should have abandoned the game. soccer lost it's virginity last night. both teams should be ashamed of themselves.
Angel7/12/2010 12:36 PM
The Dutch bullies were slaughtered , deservedly, by the Spanish Torreadors. Yo soy Espanol, Espanol, Espanol ! Viva La Furia Roja ! Viva Espana !
KEVIN7/12/2010 12:29 PM
...still a useless bit of journalism!!
Jonny fairplay7/12/2010 11:40 AM
I think the dutch supporters watched this match through the purple haze of a coffee shop in Amsterdam, clearly they were lucky to only get only one player sent off, the tackle on Xabi Alonso summed up the dutch efforts. They disappointed their fans around the world with this display. Funny they played better during their other matches but did not back themselves to play a positive game in the final. Pity really.
Soapbox7/12/2010 11:10 AM
Spain took the Cup as well as the OSCAR for best actors.
Ant7/12/2010 11:04 AM
What is with the protesting after the ref's whistle has blown? Has a ref ever changed his decision because 6 guys come running up to him yelling? It is ridiculous and needs to stop - I say yellow cards for protesting referees decisions. It is stupid and uneccessary, it certainly doesn't help the beautiful game any more than diving when somebody brushes your bootlaces does.
Anti-Paella7/12/2010 10:53 AM
I'm sure there is a red Ferrari awaiting Webb somewhere from Spain! The Spanish whimps rolling around in severe pain for every little Dutch attack only to run around unharmed after every yellow card against the Dutch! This was an unfair win and nothing to be proud of to Spain. If Spain won by good play and even penalty shots I would have aceppted. ORANJE BLIJFT BOVEN!!!!!!
Scuba7/12/2010 10:51 AM
I am very sad that the Dutch eventually lost the plot. But one sided reffing did not help the cause. I can clearly recall one of the Dutch attackers getting tripped on purpose and all that was given was a foul and a penalty, when Yellow cards were being thrown at the Dutch for looking funny at the Spanish side.
Rossco7/12/2010 10:50 AM
As a 'neutral' (being Liverpool I supported Kuyt AND Torres), so didn't mind who won....but the Dutch really WERE flying into tackles. Why so many cards? Because the tackles were with malice, and if you do enough of those in the beginning, OBVIOUSLY the ref is going to remember that for later!! The Dutch should have backed there own skill instead of doing damage. Van Persie really started it all with flying in on Pedro and the rest is history. Just glad Kuyt was never a part of that nonsense, and showed his class right to the end when he was subbed, for him I feel very sorry. Otherwise, congrats Spain for showing us your sublime skills through the whole SWC...and it was only after my man Torres came on that the goal eventually happened!!
ForTheLoveOfTheGame7/12/2010 10:49 AM
I have been very proud of the top teams including Germany for their lack or dives and rolls and foul play - Pity the final had to reek of it - Viva fair games and Viva Spain who throughout the world cup probably had the least yellow cards of all the teams ...they deserve their win - Go Paul!!! No calamari only paella ...
camelthief7/12/2010 10:43 AM
Spain probably deserved the win, but the game left me completely disgusted with soccer. So much diving, acting and protesting, very dishonest stuff.."attempting to get a penalty" rather than "attempting to score a goal" basically sums it up for me. I supported the Dutch, but I agree with the author they played dirty and were pathetic around the goals, but the oscar for acting goes to Spain. Soccer: what a lovely game, destroyed by the players, turned into a farce that paints an ugly picture of human nature.
Jonny fairplay7/12/2010 10:32 AM
I have to say a fairly balanced article, the Dutch tactics were clearly to intimidated, and Spain in the second half did play up to it. The better team won, but the dutch should have play to there strengths and not resorted to Bakkies thuggery, we would have had better match. The poor ref was clearly trying not to have to sent anybody of the field, but with the Dutch tackling and tactics it was inevitable, the only surprise was it took so long. Well Done Espana!!
Flamewulf7/12/2010 10:11 AM
@Cripp1erEffect Heitinga got TWO yellow cards. He didn't get a red card for his action, he got a yellow card. It just so happened that he'd had a yellow card before that, so he got red. 2 yellow cards = 1 red card. Viva Espana!
Mike7/12/2010 10:09 AM
Spains tactic is to hang offside and hope for a 50/50 decision which they eventually got.David Villa was blown up 5 times for being offside which in my opinion should have resulted in a yellow card.Worst of all was the decision to award a goal kick when the ball clearly deflected off a spanaish player, even the commentators were astounded and from that goal kick Iniesta scored his goal.
Misty7/12/2010 10:08 AM
OMG !!! Firstly well done to SA for hosting a beautifull world cup. Now let's get to the tegnical stuff "Boys" if you were watching soccer from a clear understanding u would've noticed that most of the European teams had young players in their sites, why you may ask caused the players skills were unknown to those who played in this big games before. So now what was expected of the World cup and the team to win it was completly off . No-one expected the big teams to go home so soon well they did, the underdogs all game out and prove they have what it takes the teams like Japan, Germany , the Dutch , Spain just to mentioned a few, guys wot you must understand about soccer it isn't only the amount of skill you bring to the party like many players did , Playes likes Ramos who were brilliant on the wing side , Fabegas who excellent at the back and try many times to put in to the back of the net , David Villa was absolutly brilliant at showing its about being ready for the shot on reflects . In all the teams who were part of the Quarter Final , Semi's and Finals proofed that thay all have what it takes, some individual playes really sparked at this world cup and if I was a coach I would clearly focus on the players who proofed that they not only have what it takes to lead their team mates when it comes to counterattacks but also creating space and opportunity for those playes who is responsible for putting it in the net. What stood out for me in this world cup , Players that didn't perform as good as were expected of them to perform like Ronaldo, Messi, Rooney Kaka, this is all players mind you that had the stamps of being the world's or leagues best players at time. so now that just goes to show and I think the players off the teams which where part of the last final sections in this world cup just put them selfs on the map again and I'm almost certain they will be treated like royalty now. So being the proud Spain fan that I am I say WELL Done to the likes of David Villa , Iniesta , Puyol , Torres, Ramos & Xavi for proofing once again if you did it once and you can do it again !!!! VIVA ESPANYOL!!! Go on and be the soccer KINGS you deserve it!!!
LJ Dubz7/12/2010 10:05 AM
Why is it that the Dutch can't take their lose like a man???!! They we're pathetic in their aproach to the game trying to bully Spain, which in any case didn't work LMAO... I think Netherlands is lucky in all respects to have played with so many players still after those sickening tackles on Spain. Definitely a few red cards for them. Furthemore, even if Robben got the freekick and Puyol sent off, Spain showed their dominance in all aspects of the game with much more definit goal-scoring attempts which would leave the dutch in the sewerage dam!! All and all, if all opportunities would have been converted into goals Spain would've ran away with the game. Sorry losers!! Viva Espana! La Furia Roja!!
Olga7/12/2010 9:57 AM
The Dutch played a very dirty game. End of story. 23D2Z
Standing at Point7/12/2010 9:54 AM
Holland had taken a premeditated decision, and surprisingly forcefully so, to stop the Spanish flair game at all costs, rather than go at them with their own, hardly shabby attacking tools I see your guessing again...very good at this and .... all else. Wheres the facts of this contention of yours ...and yours alone.
The Rob7/12/2010 9:31 AM
Rob, I usually enjoy your atricles but this was not very good. You got one thing right, that De Jong should've been sent off for kicking Alonso in the chest, but do you really believe that Villa was in the kind of pain that he showed, rolling around, after Heitinga's tackle? And did you see how Iniesta cheated most of the time by feigning being kicked/tackled when he wasn't touched at all? And let's not even talk about how crap Howard Webb was!! Perhaps Spain did deserve to win in the end, but football showed that it is by far the biggest and most backward sport in the world.
JOe7/12/2010 9:27 AM
I agree with every word of this article - well done!!! except I think its a little too diplomatic!! The brutality and ugliness of the Netherlanders play and tactics was really horrible to watch and it was a huge relief that the Spanish won. The Netherlands supporters should hang their heads in shame - not for losing but for the lack of sportsmanship and spirit of the game in their team. SHAME!!.
@herman7/12/2010 9:25 AM
shame china, battling to come to terms with Spains victory?
pb7/12/2010 9:14 AM
This article is as biased as most of the ref's decisions. The spanish goal scorer was off side on receipt of the ball and the ugly, ugly rugby-style tackle on robben by pluyol was conveniently ignored amongst other atrocities. i hope the dutch are very feted well upon their return to amsterdam and treated as if they won the swc. between bakkies botha and the disgrace of the standard of the refereering at the swc final this weekend has been a sad blot on the landscape of professional sport.
@Rob and Peter7/12/2010 9:13 AM
Did you guys and Mr.Webb have a chat before the game? You 2 are just as bias as Webb. He did not give yellow to spain on the same set of rules as for the Dutch. This World Cup Final will be remembered for not being reffed fairly and being unfinished !!
pb7/12/2010 9:12 AM
This article is as biased as most of the ref's decisions. The spanish goal scorer was off side on receipt of the ball and the ugly, ugly rugby-style tackle on robben by pluyol was conveniently ignored amongst other atrocities. i hope the dutch are very feted well upon their return to amsterdam and treated as if they won the swc. between bakkies botha and the disgrace of the standard of the refereering at the swc final this weekend has been a sad blot on the landscape of professional sport.
Penalty Spot7/12/2010 9:07 AM
of all the articles on all the news feeds this is like reading about graemme smith and his pallokas..what a crap article...probably designed to be that way as he see`s the WC as a......... for the blacks thing.
ORANJE Forever7/12/2010 8:59 AM
congrats to Spain... BUT, a sterling performance from the Oranje Leewen!! Well Done Lads!!!! We'll be back in 4 years, and the reribution will be swift and decisive... :) Well done Nederland!!! YOU were the true stars of the tournament... And Paul the Octopus, enjoy the deep fryer! lol Only problem I had with the tournament, was the sub-standard refereeing... FIFA needs to take a long hard look at the standard of referees it appoints to ref the matches governed by FIFA! grrrr
poor7/12/2010 8:38 AM
poor reporting.
FP7/12/2010 8:37 AM
After the EPL all but killed my interest in soccer. This world cup came along and pleasantly surprised me. Spain, Holland and Germany realy showed us what "football" is all about. Villa and Forlan were mouth watering to say the very least and Mueller's name is going to be right up there for years to come. Well done Spain on annexing your maiden WC trophy.
herman7/12/2010 8:36 AM
Rob Houwing: I had always enjoyed your sport writing: up to this article - it is a pathetic piece of journalism!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@Kodiak7/12/2010 8:35 AM
haha.. somebody should sit down with you and a blackboard and show you what offside is. Spain deserved winners - for me a horrible final to watch.
Cripp1erEffect7/12/2010 8:30 AM
I am seeing lots of baised towards Spain in the Comments and article. The Spanish was no angels themselves. Lots of off the ball incidents, I believe 3 spain players deserved a red card too. The Diving the ref had to put up with from Spain was worth lots of Oscars. Before game people said Robben dived to easy. When he was fouled he didn't dive and in end Puyol was still on field. Goal came from Goal Kick that should have been corner kick.
Bimbomballaboo7/12/2010 8:27 AM
Gee Kevin, you're irritable this morning... Anyway, the soccer is over and you can now take the time time to improve your spelling-while-typing skills. Be realistic - the soccer spectacle was a bonus for this country, even if it wasn't your first choice of entertainment.
@kodiak7/12/2010 8:25 AM
LOL, maybe your deaf and blind dog did not protest because he understands the game better than you. There is no ways that was off side, check the replays another 100 times.
Dave7/12/2010 8:24 AM
Somewhat harsh opinion. Football last night was not great, SA however can be proud!! We are now truely on the globe and for the right reasons, let's sustain the moment! Well done to the Dutch, you came close in tough match with a few inconsistencies not in your favor, Puyol on Robben for one. Xavi u were and are an outstanding player!
@ Kevin Nortje7/12/2010 8:23 AM
Never been skillfull enough to play football I suggest?
Wushubok7/12/2010 8:23 AM
I blame the bad game on an unauthoritarian ref - who pulled quite a few cards at every fall, trip - miming act..... I HATE SOCCER...what a bunch of whimps.
horace7/12/2010 8:22 AM
nortje you best stick to thugery (rugby) you obviousily do not know much about soccer kodiak see your eye doctor cripp the dutchmen started it & de jong should have been sent off
Gazza187/12/2010 8:21 AM
All i got to say Spain did not win this world cup the refs. won it for them On the bright side i thing South Africa did a great job hosting the world cup The pity the soccer in the final was school boy soccer
Theo7/12/2010 8:20 AM
I hope this sideshow didn't damage the grass at the National Stadium, there is an important Tri-Nations Test match there in 5 weeks time you know.
armchair critic7/12/2010 8:17 AM
I'm no expert on the rules of soccer, however that goal did look offside. That said, I have to agree: the Spanish were the dominant side.
Jualette7/12/2010 8:17 AM
Hi Kodiak. When are you going for an eye test again! you definitely need it. Well done to Spain not only playing the better football oin the final, but giving us a display of magic on the field throughout the tour. Just learn to score more goals!.
Wazza @ kodiak7/12/2010 8:17 AM
Are you as blind as your staffy!! They showed the replay and Iniesta was at least a metre on side ..... as good as a mile these days. Spain deserved it after Holland tried to kick them off the park. Webb was very kind to Holland ..... they should have been without Van Bommel and De Jongh after their terrible tackles on Iniesta and Alonso.The Footbal team won.
@kodiak7/12/2010 8:15 AM
Iniesta was nowhere near offside with his goal my blind brother. Your Staffy probably prefers to be deaf so he does not have to hear you whinging!
LILLIAN7/12/2010 8:14 AM
THE REIGN IN SPAIN HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH FAME THEY OUTDID THE BEST IN THE GAME NOW NOTHING WILL EVER BE THE SAME!!!
Bry7/12/2010 8:12 AM
A bit one sided but he makes a couple of points.
Suzie7/12/2010 8:09 AM
The guys were young and very nervous.....there was to much to gain on the game....it is normal that they didn't play like always. Congrats to both sides for getting this far and a special well done to Danny Jordaan.
teamwork7/12/2010 8:09 AM
Although a Dutch supporter, we were definitely outplayed by the Spanish last night, Spain deserves their win. However, I must point out that it seven of the Spainish national team all play for Barcelona (club team members) so they know their weaknesses and strengths well. It would help for the countries national teams to play more games and build on their weakness and strengths which I no doubt was a big factor in Spain's win. To South Africa, we can hold our heads high, well done, bring on the Olympics, we await.
Kano7/12/2010 8:08 AM
@kodiak, Iniesta's goal was far from offside, you should go and have a word wih your staffy, maybe a foul on de jong preceeding the goal but definately no off side. Hmmm i also think i missed the part were Mr Webb awarded penalties, were we watching the same game?
Kevin Nortje7/12/2010 8:06 AM
An article like this usually arises when the author is down on readership. You see, the author is most likely sitting with the editor on his back to improve his readership, but unfortunately the author, and I'm being polite here, doesn't have the creative skill to formulate an interesting article. This is designed to attract froum trolls (like me), which produces more hits to the article. Good show. This article is almost as patheic as the spectacle which is soccer. Lawd, the falling drama and agony. Oh no! Wrestling is more believable... Can I have my month back please?
Peter Freeman7/12/2010 8:06 AM
The Dutch did not come to win, its that simple. I have no idea what they thought their 'just foul them' approach was going to achieve, but by any standards and by any vaguely ration though process, yellow card will not help you score goals! It is a real pity, because this could and should have been a brilliant final, (look what Uruguay and Germany produced) but the Dutch came not to win, but to foul. I have to ask with tears in my eyes, for all the difficulty and rarity of getting a chance in a World Cup final, WHY NOT TRY WIN???
andy7/12/2010 8:06 AM
boy you must have been smoking good stuff - that goal was 2m ONSIDE . check out the replay
@Kodiak7/12/2010 8:03 AM
Dude. Were you watching the right game? That goal was perfectly legitimate. Even as a Dutch fan it would be ridiculous to call that an off-side goal.
Graeme7/12/2010 8:02 AM
@kodiac....know much about soccer then do you? How many replays do you need to see that he was way on side? Clown...
kodiak7/12/2010 7:44 AM
In all fairness to out Dutch bretheren,Iniesta's goal was off-side,even my deaf 'n blind staffy could've called that one ! I think Mr Webb was tired of running around the field & issuing penalties/yellow cards,so he let it slide !
Cripp1erEffect7/12/2010 7:41 AM
Puyol did same as Heitinga and didn't get red. Lots of other instances of ref baised towards Spain. Spain goal came after ref awarded goalkick instead of corner. Game should have gone to penalties. It lets me wonder how much money spain paid ref.
Robbie7/12/2010 7:39 AM
I am bitterly dissappointed with Netherlands, there was no need for the thuggery. I will rememeber this World Cup as the one where everybody tensed up against Spain, ironic when the Swiss had showed had it could be done right in the beginning.
Kamz7/12/2010 7:32 AM
Wow.... What an objective review..... Spain were hardly at their best either. Holland are known to prey on their opponents weakness but I suppose the Spanish dont really have many chinks in their armour. So the Dutch tried to suppress their flair. Either way, we had a fantastic World Cup. Congratulations Spain!!!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Columns by this Writer
Boks earn stay of execution
Rob Houwing says, Imperfect? And then some. Thrilling? Well, mostly through the game’s laughable structural quality. A win? Thank the almighty, the Boks will happily bank it!
Breyton sees Bok injustice
Rob Houwing lauds SuperSport pundit Breyton Paulse for highlighting inconsistency over foul play in the Soweto Test.
Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.