JJ Harmse

Show Boks more respect

2010-07-22 11:04
Email | Print
Sport24 columnist JJ Harmse (File)

JJ Harmse

It's funny how it happens every time. Come the Tri-Nations, or come November, it is "us against them". It is the "victim versus the enemy".

This year of course has delivered that scenario already, with only three weeks of the Tri-Nations gone. So we are not even halfway into the competition, and already the battle lines have been drawn.

It is us against them.

Problem is, that works well when you win, like the Boks did last year against the British and Irish Lions and against the All Blacks in Bloemfontein, Durban and Hamilton.

Win and you have many people patting you on the back. Lose, and you need to make sure there is not a knife in that hand going for your back.

Last year, during the glories of the first two Test matches in the Lions series, the euphoria of victory helped us to fight off all those against us.

We were 2-0 up and not even the stingiest of comments on Schalk Burger being an eye gouger or Peter de Villiers talking funny could find a chink in our united armour.

We scoffed at the Poms for being bad losers and their pathetic attempts to take away the glory of a Springbok series win by trying to make Schalk out to be a thug or Peter a clown.

We even applauded the idea of the Boks making a stand against the IRB and their ridiculous citing system. It was justice for Bakkies (Botha) indeed.

Then we lost the third Test match and all hell broke loose. The Boks weren’t focused enough on the game, they were sidetracked by the Bakkies issue and they made us look confrontational in the eyes of the world.

Come Tri-Nations and all was forgotten. We smashed the Aussies in Perth and smashed the All Blacks in Hamilton. Dubious calls against us were proof that people are trying to get us.  But stuff them, we stood united.

I don’t need to paint the picture any further do I?

So let’s fast-forward to July 2010 and the Tri-Nations.

We are suggesting that referees has a deliberate plan to get us, that we  are getting the wrong side of marginal calls and that there might be a bigger scheme of things at play in order to make next year’s Rugby World Cup in New Zealand a success.

Only this time, we are losing. Bakkies had no justification in head-butting NZ's Jimmy Cowan and we seem to be at odds on the field and the way we want to play while there.

So, where is the support? Nowhere of course.

It is up to SARU president Oregan Hoskins to take up matters with regard to some clear refereeing issues (or was it just Irish logic)?

The coach is suddenly being called a clown again (and it is ok to do so?), the captain is fat and old again and the ball is being kicked too much.

For that matter, why don’t we blame Sasol’s decision not to extend their sponsorship on the failings of our midfield combination or the size of Ricky Januarie’s pants?

I suppose it is fair comment if you have paid good money to see the Boks play and they perform poorly, to have a go at them.

Unfortunately, there is no such an outlet for disgruntled fans. Yes, you can perhaps lurk around and wait for the team bus in order to pelt it with an empty beer can, but Bok fans are not like that, are we?

But what are we then? Sure, we are quick to speak our minds when things go wrong, but in what way?

I always maintain that the players must be prepared to cop it when they play badly, because they were the ones who have set the standard.

It was the Springboks who won the World Cup. Not anybody else. The Springboks did that by playing gloriously for those six, seven matches when it mattered.

They won the series against the Lions with a massive dose of grit, determination and skill. And they are the ones who have beaten the All Blacks twice in two years down in New Zealand, the toughest assignment in world rugby.

They have set the standards, not us.

So yes, we have the right to hold them to that. We expect that level of performance because we know what they are capable of. Nothing wrong with that.

What is wrong however is the way we express ourselves. Just as your employer will not get the best out of you by insulting you or making derogatory remarks about your performance or appearance, we need to treat our Springboks the same.

If you want them to respect you (and they want to), surely it is not too much to ask to show them some respect? After all, they are who we are. They are us.

Read JJ every Sunday in Rapport.

Disclaimer: Sport24 encourages freedom of speech and the expression of diverse views. The views of columnists published on Sport24 are therefore their own and do not necessarily represent the views of Sport24.

Your Comments

Baklei7/25/2010 11:53 AM
Did not think De Villiers was the right coach in the first place.But I gave him the benefit of the doubt.It's WELL KNOWN how the senior players have 'coached' since Jake White left.They have no run out of ideas and the rest of the world has caught up and over taken SA on technical and straight forward brain matter.Even my 6 year old daughter knows what is the best player in a team.Boks have white old and fat passengers;they have white over rated players;they have old ill diciplined players;they have some white badly out of form players and they have lot's of FAILED 'BEE'/quota players.My suggestion is just pick on merit and manage correctly!!! Will this ever happen with the ANC in charge????Dont think so!!!
Hilton H7/24/2010 10:01 PM
31 - 13 and a points difference of -51 in a tournament in which we are defending champs. Outplayed, out-thought and out coached. So how deep exactly are we supposed to dig for respect ? It's simple - you respect the jersey and all it stands for and we'll respect and support you until we die.
Michael7/24/2010 7:45 AM
I wonder if you did not write this article with tongue in cheek. I think that when our coach watches the replays of the game he cannot see that we underperformed but is looking for excuses and imagined reasons why we lost - the ref. We are the Tri Nations and WC champs after all. So there must be other reasons to us loosing. Yes, the ref made some bad calls for Boks but he also made bad calls for the AB. Old Snors selections put players on field that underperform for that level, the remaining players cannot carry that workload and then the tempers start flaring. The top players arnt dumb and know when they are getting a raw deal from the coach's selctions and players positional changes. Are we good enough to win next RWC with present squad - NO !!!! Also, the coach has to respect the Boks, firstly he has to respect the game and all the players he has in his availabilty to choose from, old Snor in my opinion does not.
TerryG7/23/2010 3:58 PM
The players have undoubtedly earned our respect over many years however players age, have periods of poor form, etc. and it is the managements responsibility to select inform players who are able to execute the chosen game plan. I dont think Div is applying himself in this regard and I question if he has the skills. Playing a scrum half or hooker who is not the first choice (and sometimes not even the second) for his province is simply short sighted. to at the same time play key players out of position for no apparent reason borders on brain dead. I think all of SA| have waited axiously for the day that the Jake White game plan and squad become outdated and Div has to stand up and lead the Boks to victory. The thought scares me! Respect is earned and unfortunately Div has not earned much yet in his own right.
david7/23/2010 1:21 PM
The reason supporters get upset is because we all know that the boks have more depth and talent available to them than any other nation and as Robbie deans once said in an article " if the springboks learnt to harness there talent and depth, its frightening at what they can acheive" and its so very true but the problem lies with the coach who is a political appointment and nothing else. I mean the selections he makes are emabarrasing, how can you change a winning duo of jean devilliers and jaque fourie at centre and play jean on the wing.. what a complete mess up that was.Then januarie seems to make the team week after week and yet he is probably the 5th best scrumhalf in the country and is far too overweight and slow off and too the ball. When Ruan pienaar came on for the last 20 mins in the 2nd match against the kiwis it was a complete change and the boks started getting more ball and moving forward with the ball in hand for 15 phases or more which is something januarie wouldn,t know about. I mean if Ruan had started the match we might have taken the win because if you look at the score the kiwis scored 2 tries due to danie being carded for 10 mins so if you take those 10 points away then suddenly its 21 -17 and not 31 -17. With regards to the refs, it has been a joke, first question is why do northern hemisphere refs feature in the tr-nations when its a southern hemisphere event? Secodnly theres def bias towards other teams and the boks often get the short end of the stick, i mean richie mcaw had how many warnings but no yellows? And the jean devilliers gets a 2 week ban but kiwis can late tackle and high tackle and nothing happens. I feel that tomorrows game with Ruan pienaar starting will be alot better so i feel that boks will win it.
Storm Voort7/23/2010 7:38 AM
JJ, I've really got to pick my words right, since there are some of what you say that I do agree with. However, since its the fans that buy the tickets to watch the games and buy the jerseys we do have the right to speak our mind about the performance of our beloved Boks. All teams lose from time to time...it happens...but the problem at the moment is that the best available team is not being played for a number of reasons which has been discussed already. Then we have a coach who just never shuts up. I just find it hard to believe that a man that can talk that much rubbish (and yes...sound like a clown) has the ability to come up with intelligent rugby game plans and strategies....and that is what is getting my blood boiling above all. The biggest embarrassment isn't the Boks losing, its PDV talking utter K@K at every opportunity alienating more and more Bok fans every day and giving the opposition more and more ammunition to call us uneducated thugs!!!!
Grant7/23/2010 4:56 AM
Winning makes you go blind, Harmse. Same at that other pleasurable activity.
@Ian7/22/2010 7:00 PM
All of us were not as fortunate as you to have an education. But this is typical of you. Your name says it all. because of apartheid my schooling is not as good as yours! And now you want to ban me for writing. Go to hell....
Anna7/22/2010 5:45 PM
JJ, I couldn't agree more!! Well done and I for one love our Springboks! We will get over this and show that we are the BEST!!
GET REAL7/22/2010 4:58 PM
JOHNO THIS IS NOT ALL ABOUT RACISM.JDJ SHOULD BE STARTING AT INSIDE CENTRE,I CANT WAIT FOR JP TO BE BACK ON THE WING...KIRSHNER NEEDS MORE TIME IN BULLS COLOURS TO GET OVER UP AND UNDERS...GUTHRO DOING A GOOD JOB...THE COACH CHOOSING THESE GUYS IS AT FAULT...RICKY..WELL ENOUGH SAID!!THE RESPOSIBILITY IS ON THE COACH NOT TO ACT LIKE AN IDIOT IN THESE LOSES..YET HE MAKES SOUTH AFRICANS SEEM STUPID WITH HIS ANTICS...JUST LIKE MARKGRAAF AND STRAEULI DID....ITS NOT A RACE THING TO ME BUT IT IS TO OUR GOVERMENT!!!I YOU CAN EASILY FILL THE QUOTA REQUIRED WITH HABANA,JP,GUTHRO,JUAN DJ,EVEN KIRSHNER...BUT WE KNOW PDV IS USELESS AND IF YOU THINK HE ISNT THEN PLEASE LOOK AT HIS SELECTIONS AND PARTNERSHIPS IN THE 22.....IT IS PATHETIC...THE WORLD KNOWS HE IS A POLITICAL APPOINTMENT AND IS A 2ND RATE COACH...BEST YOU ACCEPT IT TOO!
DeonL7/22/2010 4:50 PM
Pierre Spies is seen in a few great new adds on TV, now he and the others need to step op theire game, they might lose again this weekend but wait for the local part of the tri nations before we throw everyone out of the team and before we get a new coach.
The Realist7/22/2010 4:30 PM
1st problem - Discipline and Consistency. If you dont play according to the law, you get punished. The ref makes blatant bad calls, he gets a slap on the hand. 2nd problem - Key players playing out of position (Management & coaching staff!!) They should stop using players in unfamiliar positions, there is no need to! 3rd problem (and here is where I agree wit JJ) - I am a huge supporter and I despise these hypocritical "know-it-alls" or "couch coaches" who bring irrelevant reasoning into play when things dont always work out the way we hope or expect them to. It doesn't help at all by trying to find 1000 reasons after 2 matches when there is actually only 3 or 4. Lets hope our coaching staff and players know where they have gone wrong, and lets keep our heads held high and unite! It could be a blessing in disguise because we all know that an injured springbok is a dangerous springbok! I am sure we will give the Wallabies a good hiding this weekend!!!
RonnieR7/22/2010 3:40 PM
Is it the journos or the 'public' who turn on the Boks and their when they lose? Why do Journos think they can talk on our behalf when most could not catch a Fourie DuP pass.
Jan Hofmeyr7/22/2010 3:17 PM
If the Springboks lose but played like Springboks, I would respect them. If they played like Proteas(like their last 2 games), I won't.
jacojvr7/22/2010 3:16 PM
ek is so jammer ek het lelik van hulle gedink - ek huil!! regtig!! - ek voel so jammer!! - ek sal nooit weer dink hulle is useless nie - ek weet dit klaar
Villiers Kok7/22/2010 2:58 PM
Superb article J.J. ! Last year the All Blacks were under the cosh by their NZ fans, when they were similarly crushed here in SA, but they regrouped and put up a tremendous showing against us in 2010. Now everybody down south are in awe, and applauding them. We as supporters, just like the Springboks - just have to roll with the blows, and move to the next level - the players to improve in the following tests, and we as supporters to (at least try to) grow up and support them. Nobody is perfect, but we can all improve ! I personally find it tremendous that I'm part of a country where the Webb Ellis trophy is standing for the SECOND TIME, and if we rise to the challenge, it can remain here.
Johno7/22/2010 2:50 PM
Sitting here & reading all this Bullshit comments about quota couch & players is really working on my nerves. I'm a proud coloured & a proud Bok supporter & never did you hear me complain about too much white players or about the white coach. Move away off all this stupid Racism. If all of you are trully & proudly South Africans then there is only one thing to do.... Keep you Kak comments to yourself & support your team no matter what. One guy mention of picking (white) players that performs well, I agree, but what about the coloured player that's playing his heart out for his Province??? Come now, Let's stop this negativity & move forward. Our team needs our support so give it to them. It's not the end of Tournament yet & there is so much hope left. We are going to win Saturday. Go Bokke
Ian7/22/2010 2:34 PM
After this lot of mainly rubbish comments, I think the administrators of this site should make literacy tests compulsory for all contributors.
D @ P7/22/2010 2:21 PM
Well I don’t agree with everything JJ says, but he does make a good point. There is no loyalty from Bok supporters. If we win John Smit is the best captain in the world. Div is a brilliant coach. If we loose Smit is dik and De Villiers dumb. You can go through old blogs through the years. You will see these “couch experts” criticizing. I just don’t understand why these clever people are not head coaches or advisories to SA Rugby? Amaze us with your brilliance. These people are so good they can be player/coach/captain all at once. How ever do we survive without you!!!
Punani7/22/2010 2:11 PM
JJ you are a t***. It is difficult not criticise Blue Bull locks representing the Boks that head butt opponents half their size from behind. Suspended for the umpteenth time for filthy, dangerous play. I hope that thug Bakkies Botha never gets to wear a Bok jersey again. His replacement, Danie Rossouw then kicks the opposition captain while he is lying on the ground. Unfortunately the arrogance and big heads from your beloved Bulls camp have spread like cancer through the Bok camp and this is our reward. It is impossible to beat the All Blacks in New Zealand if the Bulls locks are going to get sent off in the opening minutes that costs us a points deficit that is almost impossible to close. The Bulls players unfortunately can only respect the baby blue jumper but are only capable of embarrassing the nation when they pull on the green and gold.
Staalburgher7/22/2010 1:59 PM
Good article.
GET REAL7/22/2010 1:57 PM
QUOTA SYSTEMS AND NOW A QUOTA COACH.HE IS USELESS AND IS RIDING A WAVE..HE IS MAKING US THE LAUGHING STOCK OF WORLD RUGBY(WIN OR LOSE).PDV IS TRYING TO PLAY SOME MYSTIC RUGBY WITH THE WRONG COMBINATIONS.IM NOT BLAMING THE PLAYERS IM BLAMING THE COACH.NEED TO RETHINK OUR SPORT ETHICS AND AA STRUCTURES AS IT IS AFFECTING OUR BELOVED GAME!AND IM BEHIND SMIT GOING,HES DAYS ARE NUMBERED AS A PLAYER(GREAT LEADER AND SERVANT,BUT SORRY OL CHAP)JJ YOU AND EVERY OTHER WRITER ARE TOO SCARED TO STATE THE OBVIOUS...THE BOKS PLAY WITH THE DISADVANTAGE OF AA AND A POOR COACH NOW!!YOU HAVE A JOB TO HOLD SO YOU NEED TO STAY WITH IN THE LAWS..WE NEED SHAPIRO TO WRITE THESE ARTICLES!
Bosveld7/22/2010 1:53 PM
n Goeie joernalis se werk is krities.Ek dink JJ Harmse, juis omdat hy homself kompromiteer deur met die bokke te kuier en tyd te spandeer, kan nie krities wees nie. Jy kan slegs jou onafhanklikheid behou deur afstand tussen jou en die spelers te hou. En dit blyk uit hierdie artikel dat hy sy onafhanklikheid prysgegee het of dat hy geen aanvoeling het vir die gemoed van rugby ondersteuners.
STORMER7/22/2010 1:50 PM
JJ - eish, scary to admit, but in principle I agree with most of what you have written. The shame will never wash off - ever. However - the ONE thing I can't agree with, is all this CONSPIRACY, everyone hates us bwhaaaaaaaaaaa talk. Whilst I will support the team, and it's management til the bitter end, I CAN never support action such as the Justice 4 Bakkies balls up, and this latest class action nonsense RE: refs. Yes, we have had bad calls, yes we haven't always got the rub of the green - TOUGH, it happens. What we are doing now is officially stating that we are the No 1 whingers in the world, a bunch of bullies who can't take it when things don't pan out...AND THAT, I WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO SUPPORT.
Heins7/22/2010 1:43 PM
Dear Fiddle Custard (Fidel Castro) - Only an Idiot would give himself a dictator's name! Right with that out of the way... I would like to meet you in person and dare you to make the same comment again to my face!!! Sitting behind your screen feeling strong by the sounds of it! Sounds like you don't know much about Our beloved sport rugby! So do yourself a favour and eat s*#t!!!!
Really Suprized7/22/2010 1:34 PM
Wow... some of these comments almost made me fall off the chair.. n i thought the english soccer fans were evil.. HULLE SAL MOET KERS VASHOU VR SOMMIGE BOKFANS JONG..
Fush and Chups7/22/2010 1:32 PM
HOW ABOUT A REALITY CHECK??? Perhaps P.Div should show respect towards the All Blacks? His comments are whimsical at best, since NZ and SA have ever played we (NZ) have played consistently better, last year was fantastic for SA rugby but P.Div needs to learn that 3 mths doesn't equal an era especially when Northern Hemisphere provincial teams beat the Boks. SA rugby aren't that good although 3 months (TRI NATIONS) without consistancy means nothing, it amazes me that Saffas especially the likes of Div refuse to acknowledge the truth, leave excuses for soccor
PROTEA TEAM7/22/2010 1:20 PM
THIS IS A PROTEA TEAM.... ...SPRINGBOKS ARE SELECTED ON MERIT... ..QUOTAS ARE SELECTED FOR THE PROTEA TEAM...
Ebrahim7/22/2010 1:12 PM
you learn what a man is made of when his back is against the wall. DeV is doing a brilliant job. We have beaten the All Blacks away, beaten the Lions and won the Tri Nations. Fourie and Carter are the best players in the world. We missing Fourie and its the all blacks away obviously we going to struggle! The world cup is next year, this is not the year to peak. All those fans calling for DeVs head, you a bunch of glory hunters who know nothing of the horrors of 2003. The boks will recover, this year let the all blacks do what they do best peak before the world cup.
Bok fan7/22/2010 1:06 PM
Well said JJ, and very true.
Fidel Castro7/22/2010 12:56 PM
Have another pie JJ. GOD FORBID someone should say something against Bakkies Botha! You are the most one sided writer in South African journalistic history. Your locks are thugs, your flyhalf doesnt have a brain that goes beyond kicking the ball, your centre doesnt have a brain that goes beyond not passing the ball. Bottom line is you want us to shut up so that no one has a bad thing to say about your beloved Bulls.
William Shakespeare7/22/2010 12:54 PM
@ blou bul (7/22/2010 12:23 PM) It is offensive people like you that give us (Blue Bull supporters) a bad name. Site administrators, where are you? Please, help keep trash like blou bul off the net.
Oupatjie7/22/2010 12:52 PM
Klink of jy ook uit die souspotte eet/ By die krip staan en nou moet vededig. Ons het vryheid van spraak, mater, jy kom moontlik uit die ou SA, ons nie. So, pak jou kamele en kry jy ook sommer jou ry
marco7/22/2010 12:52 PM
"Show Boks more respect" this must be as they say in England as daft of a comment as you can get made by any individual.Ranting and raving about past glories in our sucessfull British and Irish tour win of '09 and last years wins against the All Blacks and Wallabies home and away in no way gives you a license to paint over the serious cracks in the Springbok armour and mentality and in us venting our anger at the Boks.Unbias rugby commentators the world over admits to and agree with what the paying South African public have been saying for a while now regarding that arrogant and stupid Mr "I know it all and you can't tell me nothing" a**h*l* of a coach Peter De Villiers and his team selections and on the field combinations that is K@K.Contrary to what you asked for "So, where is the support? Nowhere of course" I think the paying public will take offense to those words of yours Harmse.The support is there and in full numbers I might add it's just so shockingly K@K when we have to look at and pay SKY TV £65 a month to watch this K@K performances by the Boks.Forget referees just try to put some effort into it in winning the game and when things don't go your way 'cause of Rolland's interpretations at the breakdows then play Rolland the way the other teams like New Zealand does and don't just except well you know it's the decisions that went against us.No go try and make something happen out of nothing.Rolland is a fool and a arse***e of a referee but having said that one needs to be quick learners right there and then on the field to try an bypass that idiot of a referee within the law & spirit of the game and still come out on top not just give up.Nobody in their right mind will ever support a losing team and when a team loses of which 94% of is our doing then yeah like you said "So yes, we have the right to hold them to that. We expect that level of performance because we know what they are capable of. Nothing wrong with that" this is fully justified by the paying public and we will continue to do so until we feel the Boks deserve like you said "many people patting you on the back"
Brian7/22/2010 12:47 PM
Hey wait a minute, Bakkies blatantly took the rules into his own hands, and Danie gave McCaw a gently kick. Then the Refs picked on us... of course. I don't like this newfound arrogance. "There is a conspiracy against us, we should have won, and we are not guilty of anything wrong." But rather, this is meekness: "We are not always right and we don't have a right to win, and if we do, its through the grace of God." Boks, be like that, and the whole nation will be right behind you...
Mpho7/22/2010 12:36 PM
Boks all the way!
Ben7/22/2010 12:36 PM
Well done JJ, I could not have said it any better. Too many of us South Africans are fickle in our support for our country and national teams. Confidence breads confidence, this is the reality. So wear your SA flag on your heart, and let your voices echo the sound of South African patriots, who accept and embrace that our history as a nation is unique, and that our cosmopolitan society with its many characters cannot be found anywhere in this world.
Stephen7/22/2010 12:36 PM
Great article, I think there are to many "comrade" type people that still post and think its the 1980's. I have had the utmost displeasure in working with those awful South African All Black supporters as well as those inbred's who always whine when the cricket or rugby team do poorly but dissapear when they do well. Why dont those cowards emigrate if they love there New Zealand or Australian teams
AUSSIE SUPPORTER7/22/2010 12:32 PM
The best written article I have read this week on this subject of rugby.... Its a great pity that a lot of Bok supporters just dont get it .We in OZ just want good value for our money a good running rugby as there are so many other codes to watch .,this makes it very tough on the rugby union code.We know that if there was only one code of rugby we in OZ would be very hard to beat. Congrats to Mr JJ Harmse
blou bul7/22/2010 12:23 PM
Aag sharrap jj, maybe you defending fat hasbeens like smit and janawarie 'cause you look like them....
Danie Smith7/22/2010 12:21 PM
South Afican Rugby is starting to be a joke like Bafana Bafana... Gaan aan julle dink mos julle is slim!!
Danie Smith7/22/2010 12:14 PM
Yes why didnt S.A loose? Wait I tell you PDV took of Pienaar and replaced him with Morne.... John Smit needs to go so as Butch James and Ruan Pienaar.. there are alot more tallent out there, PDV en Dick needs to go aswell because none of those 2 know anything about rugby.... Bring Heyneke Meyre in and bring Jake back.... SANZAR and SARU is bussy messing up South African Rugby....
Bowl Philosophy7/22/2010 12:12 PM
I find it strange that when the Bokke win, it is because of the players but when they lose it is because of the coach. It is not the coach's fault that players like Burger, Spies, Matfield and Habana are not performing, any one of us 'couch coaches' would choose these guys. They have been played into the ground by the S14 coaches. Mostly because we, the fans, expect our teams to win every game, regardless of the players well being. PdV has brought in Brossouw, Kirchener, Louw, Aplon, Potgieter, so he is blooding new talent. Winning in NZ is not easy and never will be, our boys will bounce back but the players and coach deserve our support.
Sanjay Deva7/22/2010 12:10 PM
Hey JJ, I agree. The true measure of a supporter is what they do when their side is losing. Teams need support more than ever when that happens. Coaches will aways have a "coaches call," I guess that is where Div may lose support, if you lose and your side differs too much to what the majority of the people want, you'll always endure criticism. It's not the side that I'd field, but let's all get behind the Boks 100% as we definitely need a win against those arrogant Aussies!
Anti7/22/2010 12:08 PM
JJ you know how it is. The SA public are very demanding and unrealistic and we expect the Bokke to win every time they take the field. Even in 2003 when Strauli was coach we thought we'd win against England but sadly took a 50 point hiding! After a good Super14 campaign the public expect the Boks to be good. But what they don't realise is that the Tri-nations draw hasn't been favourable to us. We are playing at 3 away grounds that the Boks haven't won at in 73 years. So the media should help guide our overenthusiastic fans' expectations by pointing out that even though we won the Super14 neither the Bulls nor the Stormers won in Auckland or Brisbane, and the Boks record there over the past century has been dismal. That way the fans will be more knowledgeble and less hopeful, and accept that this away leg of this tour is a hard ask - even for the most capped Springbok team of all time.
OMG JJ!7/22/2010 12:07 PM
So you didn’t take your medication this morning? Mate you are the last person who can afford to open your mouth. You can write what you want and we (not the BB supporters) have to listen/read it. When you open your mouth about CT based players its fine but now we have to show respect? Respect should be earned and the Boks did not earn any respect what so ever during the last 2 games. Stop going on about a WCup that was won in 2007.This is 2010 and the Boks are k@k! We are the paying public not you. If it wasn’t for us, the idiotic supporters, you wouldn’t have a job. Why are you the only reporter that puts your photo with your reports? Gee mate do you really love yourself that much? Surely you don’t want to criticize because you’re BB “superstar” Showpony Spies does not even deserve to be in the group never mind the team. Steyn proofed AGAIN that he is useless without du Preez. Well even with du Preez he is useless away from home (check S14) Kirchner is another BB passenger and Bakkies cost us the 1st test while Rossouw received a card in the 2nd test. Olivier is below average and Chilliboy is in Januarie’s league! So Mr Rooiwangetjies Harmse you cannot afford to criticize because 80% of the idiots come from the BBull camp. If the Boks cannot win against a “papslang” Aussie team Saturday it will be a joke. The Boks should stop looking for excuses by looking out of the window....they should rather start looking in the mirror!
Frans7/22/2010 12:07 PM
Respect is not for free it must be earned. Listening to all their ludicrous excuses how on earth can their be any respect left for them
Dazz7/22/2010 12:05 PM
Will people please stop refering to the Springboks as the Proteas!!! The Proteas are the national cricket team!!!
WHAT..?7/22/2010 11:46 AM
RESPECT..?? ...WITH A QUOTA COACH AND QUOTA PLAYERS IN THE PROTEA TEAM..? .....bring "merit-only" back..!!
Johan7/22/2010 11:38 AM
lol, How much are they paying you to stand up for them now! If the media even have to start supporting the Boks I am getting a little worried! Or has this come from the TOP lol. We all know what has happend up to this piont. Div has been riding JW team into the ground! HE has done NO rebuilding, He is picking the wrong players and it is now clear how little he knows about coaching at this level! Playing Matfield against the French and italians was a clear indication that he knows nothing. Matfiedl just played the all the matches in the Super 14, he needed a rest, BUT oh no, I will play him! What a joke! Div is a Joke! And rugby in this country is becoming a JOKE! JJ, you are also abit of JOKE!
Hein - Centurion7/22/2010 11:27 AM
Hi JJ, I am so glad that you put this together - but if the village idiots blogging here will take it to heart is another question. I think they are all a bunch of sexually frustrated people that's got nothing better to do that stealing their employers broadband and time to get rid of their frustrations. The level of rugby knowledge also leaves a lot to be desired. Winning, after all, is lekka but but NO team in the world can carry on winning, you win some, you loose some. The idiots are to stupid to accept that fact and carry on like spoiled brats (which most probably they are). On top of that they are so childish that I sometimes feel like pulling a Luke on them. Their Rugby knowledge is also limited,but yet they make out to be these gurus, knowing everything but spewing out the biggest lot of hogwash that I've ever had the "privilege" to read. So, now I got rid of my frustrations and can only hope that the quality of the comments will improve.
Koos Kaap7/22/2010 11:26 AM
JJ, hoe kan jy respek hê vir spelers wat has beens is (sien Smit), maar steeds vasklou aan hul paycheque? Hoe kan jy respek hê vir spelers wat nie goed genoeg is vir hul eie provinsie se beginspan nie (sien Januarie ), maar gekies word vir die Springbokke. Hoke kan jy respek hê vir 'n afrigter wat EE bo meriete stel (sien Chiliboy wat bo Garry Botha verkies word). Nee my broer, respek moet verdien word - dit is nie 'n gegewe nie. Spelers soos Januarie, Chiliboy en Smit sal my respek hê wanneer hulle sê: "Ek onttrek my uit die span want daar is beter spelers as ek wat die kans gegun moet word
@JJ7/22/2010 11:26 AM
my employer will also not make me chattered accounted when i am only qualified to be a book keeper. my boss will also not make me ceo of his company just because i went to a prestigous university but failed evrything at i studied there would he.my boss would not me captain of companys rugby team if i cannot run 2 mitres with out falling down because i am no where near fit.And that is a fact. if Pdiv picks the fittest and best possible team available to him then no one will call for is head. best 15 to play the aussies this weekend. 15. f steyn 14. aplon 13. j fourie 12. j de jong 11. f hougard 10. m steyn 9. r pienaar 8. r kanowski 7. d potgieter 6. s burger 5. v matfield 4. danie russouw 3. bj botha 2. g botha 1. beast. this is not the strongest team that we can ever field due to the fact the jean is suspended, bekker is injured, jp is injured, j smith is given time off for his loss, brussouw injured, but they will beat the aussies and the all blacks.
Dee7/22/2010 11:23 AM
Good Article, I fully agree!!!!
Go JJ..!!7/22/2010 11:18 AM
Yes, ..i agree with JJ... ...Our coach is a clown, ..our captain is to fat, ..Ricky is to fat, ..Bakkies was provoked and then stupid, ...Danie was provoked then stupid, ..the ref was blatant biased and blind, ...and JJ is great journalist..!! ...Go JJ..!!!
Yacoob7/22/2010 11:16 AM
Austarlia by 7 with your whine JJ
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Columns by this Writer
Boks to deliver at Loftus
Loftus Versfeld will host the most important Test match of the year when the Wallabies take on the winless Springboks, writes JJ Harmse.
All aboard the RWC train
JJ Harmse urges all Springbok fans to travel to NZ for the 2011 RWC and offers guidance as to how to schedule your trip.
Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.